We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WESTWINDS ......... a Paradise within a Paradise!”
Review of Westwinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westwinds Inn
Ranked #44 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Forsyth, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WESTWINDS ......... a Paradise within a Paradise!”
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I booked accommodation at Westwinds through the internet and so I didn't know what to expect, except for the pictures on their website. The friendliness of Westwinds was first apparent in my email questions before my stay. Susie was extremely helpful with my queries and very patient with my uncertainties. When the taxi dropped me off at Westwinds in the dark I felt I was immediately in an oasis, and as I climbed the steps of the elegant Victorian porch I felt completely at ease. I found my key left exactly where Susie said it would be and I felt at once at home climbing the stylish staircase to the graceful landing .... and when I opened the door to room 103, I gasped in wonder. It was Perfect! Thence my week of complete satisfied bliss started. I settled into that light, airy and comfortable room with its attractive wicker furniture, bright bedspread, colourful pictures on the walls and quietly unobtrusive air conditoner, just like it was "home". My room was in the main house of the compound and I felt so elegant in such attractive and stately surroundings. Walking to breakfast each morning was pure heaven ... along paved walkways and through tropical plants to the succulent poolside buffet. Two areas of attractively adorned tables were set out for us to enjoy our meal of obviously very fresh fruit, toast, bagels and pastries accompanied by tea, coffee and fruit juices, with the added luxury of daily newspapers for our pleasure. Kind and friendly staff were on hand to help with any problems and there was always a gardener busy with the pool and foliage for our benefit. Nothing had been missed for our ease, from the laundry/ice maker room to the comfortable lounge and library areas. Poolside was clean, neat and quiet, except for the tropical noises of crickets and birds! Housekeeping services were prompt and efficient and kept me fully stocked with the necessities of soap/shampoo/cups/toilet paper, as well as keeping my room clean, neat and tidy. My bed was not only attractive with its wicker headboard and beautiful coverlet and shams, but extremely comfortable with good quality sheets and pillows. My bathroom was comfortable too, leading from the room through a sliding door and comprising a large shower with a built in seat, commode and a large sink with nicely appointed fixtures. The elegant room, quiet neighbourhood and peaceful house lent for very relaxing and restful nights at Westwinds. The no young children, no pets and no smoking rules made it extremely comfortable for me. And the location is perfect with just a few short blocks' walk to busy Duval Street, to the piers or to the beach. No other word for it but .....pure BLISS! The staff at Westwinds would go out of their way to be of help and it was no trouble, for instance, to provide me with an umbrella when it was raining. On more than one occasion I was assured by Management that the staff would do everything they could to make my stay comfortable and I was only to ask for anything I needed. Which wasn't much, because the Managemet and Staff at Westwinds have thought of everything! If you are looking for a pleasant, pleaceful place to stay in Key West in a quiet and elegant neighbourhood, then this is IT!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    176
    64
    25
    23
See reviews for
61
305
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2010

My stay at Westwinds was rather enjoyable. The dual A/C in every room was a pleasant escape from the humidity of Florida during the summer and the pools were quite relaxing. The scenery in the area was really nice as there were a multitude of trees surrounding the area to help shade you from the heat as well as add a sort of comforting feeling of being in a tropical area. The staff there was very friendly and helpful during my stay. There were very knowledgeable about the various activities around the area that a vacationer might enjoy. Overall it was an excellent experience and I would highly recommend Westwinds Inn to anyone looking for a lovely stay for a reasonable price in paradise!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jermad14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, fl.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

MY DAUGHTER AND I STAYED THERE 2 NIGHTS AFTER COMING IN ON THE KEY WEST EXPRESS from Ft. Meyers. It's close in to the docks and about 5 blocks to Duval St.. Our room was cute Key West style colors and very clean. The maid even washed the stain out of my daughters shorts. I loved the grounds with 2 pools. One was heated and the large L-shaped pool had a waterfall and in the center there were large, lush palm trees and foliage. It was immaculate. Because I over slept, they made me an extra large pot of coffee and brought it to my room. They even let us keep out luggage there until our boat left at 5:00PM. Very romantic spot! There is a beautiful area for breakfast with many shaded tables. Well priced for Key West and the location.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaidinvenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Go to the Westwinds Inn with low expectations you will not be disappointed.
We had the dubious pleasure of staying in Room 121
This "shabby chic" property with rooms furnished with the leftovers of estate sales and equipped with garage sale odds and ends was something to behold.
It was unfortunate that our stay preceded the annual room cleaning; it was interesting to view dirt and dead insect specimens in all the room corners and behind doors. the daily room "servicing" left a lot to be desired the room attendant did not subscribe to the practice of washing used glasses and plates or emptying the trash.
The bathroom was a clever half-step down (a fun jolt in the dark), the paint crusted door lock was temperamental refusing to work most of the time. The mis-matched fixtures and corroded faucets made for a pleasant bathroom experience.
Our suite (?) was cooled by two aging ,wheezing,clanking air conditioners.
The bed was uncomfortable and covered by thin, ill fitting linens
The giant 25 inch flat panel TV was wall mounted with a nice artistic display of the power and antenna cords dangling down.
The daily continental breakfast was challenging made all the more "continental" by the absence of plates.dishes, clean cups and one morning all of the above but with no sugar for the coffee. The staff just shrugged it off as an unfortunate circumstance.
The tables and chairs in the courtyard areas were dirty and stained and we were lucky enough to surrounded by smokers most mornings.

We stayed here on the recommendation of an now ex-friend.

All this for only $225.00 per night.

Never again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We took the ferry down from Ft Meyers Beach and had reserved rooms at Weswinds Inn sight unseen. We were pleasantly suprised. The grounds are done in garden style and there are two pools, one heated (the spa) and one not heated. Very peaceful and pleasing to the eye. The help was wonderful, the breakfast was around the pool and well done. The inn is really a series of smaller buildings with two or so rooms per building. The rooms were well maintained. It is also only three blocks from where the Ferry let us off-- very walkable. Overall, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBHCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

The Westwinds is Old Town at it's best. It's a lovely, lushly landscaped B&B, with two pools and a comlimentary continental breakfast daily. It's clean, quiet and so relaxing. I thought the rate was perfect, especially after I looked at other B&Bs and hotels on line. The location is excellent. There's a large, enclosed parking garage just two blocks away. The old seaport and the marina are about 3 blocks away, with boats for fishing trips and good, casual restaurants. It's an easy 5 block walk to the action on Duvall Street. I have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

I started my experience with the Westwinds Inn back in Jan/2010. Since January I have been using this hotel for all my groups programs in Key West. All my groups have been treated like royalty by the entire staff!. The hotel managers have gone out of their way
to ensure that all of our needs have been met. They have handeled our group needs and
has been on top of EVERY detail.The staff at Westwinds is for sure the best in Key West . Not only the service is exceptional the meals are superb, accommodations 5 star, and all around individual attention far above the norm. My group enjoyed the individual attention shown by the management.



With service , accommodation and location like this we would never go anywhere else! Thank you Westwinds for making all of our visits so GREAT!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WORLDEVENTSLLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#33 of 77 in Key West
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albury Court Hotel in Key West
0.1 mi away
Artist House on Fleming
Artist House on Fleming
#12 of 77 in Key West
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#51 of 77 in Key West
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#10 of 77 in Key West
926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds Inn

Property: Westwinds Inn
Address: 914 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Westwinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting, tranquil compound, charming architecture, lush gardens - Historic seaport district of Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Westwinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwinds Hotel Key West
Westwinds Key West Fl
Key West Westwinds Inn
Key West West Winds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing