We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,043)
Filter reviews
2,043 results
Traveler rating
1,841
152
31
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,841
152
31
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine bar eyebrow cottage wine room sunday jazz duval street the main house courtyard room glass of champagne master suite carriage house pool bar lush gardens hardwood floors the cottages each morning yogurt the location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 2,043 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful small boutique hotel . Close to everything but on a very quiet street . Very good breakfast included . Clean pool and grounds . Room was on the small side but very cozy and clean . Will definitely stay again .

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank pensoh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you and I am glad to read you liked our complimentary breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second visit to The Gardens and once again it does not disappoint. The grounds were a former horticultural society of Key West, and as such, absolutely wonderful. The entire place has an old world, hip feel. There is a beautiful heated swimming pool within the grounds, a Yoga instrustor who comes 3 times weekly, and a luscious full breakfast served each morning on their expansive patio. The rooms, whether you are upstairs or downstairs are all beautiful, with four poster mahogany beds and furniture adorning the room, full sized baths, pretty accessories everywhere, sort of a Hemingway touch with the ceiling fans and friendly cats, rooming outside. There is a bar by the pool for happy hour, and a cheese or hummus snack to tide you over at 2 pm. There is also jazz on the weekends, and singers in the main lounge during the week. What more can u ask for? Within walking distance to the main hub, yet worlds away from the crowds on Duval. Come here and you will see why I say “perfect”. Hits all the right notes.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank A1citygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We love Perfect in a review, thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the cottages this year, which is separated from the main hotel by a locked gate. The cottages have their own pool and a shared back deck so it is very private. You have to walk out to the street to enter the hotel and to access the wine bar. The breakfast is wonderful with a hot entree and breads, sweets, fruit and juices. One thing that you must do if you can is to catch the piano entertainment from 5-7 on Wednesday through Sunday. Although we have stayed at other hotels in Key West we keep returning to The Gardens Hotel because it is so pleasant and relaxing, plus so close to activities and restaurants.

Room tip: All the rooms are quiet but we really prefer the Garden room for their privacy and porches.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedleymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much! Our 5-7 pm piano is a great start for your evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Gardens has an attribute almost nobody appreciates -- pure convenience of location. We didn't even find it necessary to rent a BIKE, which we usually do in Key West. We walked less than a mile everywhere we wanted to go.

The property itself is secure, interesting, and has "stuff" to do. Well heated pool. Yoga and exercise classes. A family of tortoises (big) and birds in the garden. Sculpture. Music many evenings. Surprisingly quiet, given that it is a short walk from Duval Street.

The VERY sufficient breakfast is included. Some niggling details might be upgraded (orange juice not fresh squeezed) but the basic is very good, with very nice pastries. If you are a wine fancier, you'll like the wine bar downstairs.

We like it. We'd stay there again. It isn't "close" to the beach, or to the running venues, or to the harbor, but it is "pretty close" to virtually everything, and has parking.

Room tip: The cabins are more private, more expensive. Courtyard rooms are quieter.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments! Actually with a fifteen minute walk, North, South or West you will get to a beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were more than surprised and overjoyed with our accommodations The owners and staff were very friendly and attentive The room was amazing It had all the amenities you could ask for The continental breakfast every day was well prepared and delicious The grounds were welcoming You felt like you were in your own world We were a very short distance from Duval Street I would absolutely recommend this hotel to everyone

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the nod to our breakfast, the best complimentary on the island! We are so happy you spent your two special occasions with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews