We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,104)
Filter reviews
2,104 results
Traveler rating
1,900
154
31
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,900
154
31
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine bar eyebrow cottage wine room sunday jazz duval street courtyard room the main house glass of champagne master suite carriage house pool bar lush gardens the cottages each morning yogurt the location is perfect tropical paradise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 2,104 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2017

We spent 3 nights in the master suite earlier this month. Whilst the suite is spacious it is not luxurious and a little tired . Other than a few hours one evening we had no tv despite constant requests this was not fixed. The suite is in the main building so around 6 when breakfast was being put out I was woken up every morning, on one occasion I had to go down as a staff member and a woman were having a loud conversation. Breakfast was disappointing , one granola and no other cereals , no hot food options only a scrambled egg , no bacon , sausage , fried eggs etc plus no bread for toasting only bagels . We were even expected to clear up after ourselves ! We paid over $500 dollars a night , all in all a disappointing experience.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoughUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2017

I am sorry you did not find our hotel, as well as Key West, to your liking. As you said, you are used to the Palm Springs experience. Select Registry shopped our hotel prior to us being invited to participate with this group and they would not have approved our hotel if it was a 2 star experience as your review shows. I might revisit my relationship with this organization.
Our Master Suite includes two rooms, two bathrooms, a jacuzzi tub for two, a dry sauna, his and hers vanities and closets; a very private deck overlooking the pool and grounds. Custom draperies and the finest bed linens and towels. A large writing partners desk, plenty of custom made chairs and sofa, and in the four-posted king bed, a gel top tempurpedic bed. Not to forget, the huge horizontal paddle fan.
We have Direct TV in all of our rooms and as we are in the keys, service calls can take some time, they say within 24 hours. I apologize for Direct TV, that one of your nights you did not have this service. We responded that minute when reported. And I am glad you only missed one day with out TV.
Our breakfast is the absolute best complimentary breakfast in town. Something for everyone. We serve fresh bagels and croissants, bear claw and almond cinnamon danish, all made fresh and delivered each morning. Our granola is a custom blend that we do ourselves which includes vanilla, almonds, etc. We also serve our custom blend of Chobani yogurts, fresh fruit, tropical fruits, cookies and health bars, sometimes ding dongs for flair; hard boiled eggs not from a bag, but fresh boiled each morning; Boars Head meats and cheeses which change each day, and crusty baguettes. Our fresh made egg dish is indeed the hot dish, however we have a different variety of mix ins such as feta cheese, tomatoes, roasted onions, spinach, bell peppers and various cheeses. Fresh juices each day but these change each day from orange juice with pulp, tomato, grapefruit, apple, cranberry to name a few. Biscoff cookies, macadamia nut chocolate cookies; we also serve our mix of casserole which includes meats and cheese with eggs. Just today I put a variety of dipped cake pops which are a hit when I spoke to our guests. We also have fresh made tropical mango salsa.
This breakfast is in response to guest requests for a wide variety of options including gluten free and vegan.
Our breakfast is served from 8:30 – 10:30 and our chef arrives at 7am to prepare. I apologize to you that their voices were heard, I will action immediately.
No one is expected to clear tables. Our staff handles this. The bus tray is for him to work more efficiently.
With so many issues I can only apologize that your stay was less than perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

It was the fist time we have stayed here and it was a wonderful experience. Every one of the staff was delightful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless and very comfortable with every amenity although the bathroom was a little tired. I did feel however that the pool should be heated a little in the colder months.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank SandieP688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2017

Thank you for your comments. I apologize to you for a less than perfect visit. We do heat the pool from November to mid May. A pleasant 82 degrees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile

As we walked into the cool of the main Conch house where reception is located we were treated by a fellow guest who smiled brightly and boomed 'welcome to paradise' .. Then set upon her way. These words stayed with us throughout our stay in this idyllic boutique hotel.
We stayed in cottage 1 which just like in the pics! It was spotless and the decor more thought out than traditional hotels to make it feel truly 'home from home'. The daily maid service was unobtrusive and impeccable accommodating your wish entirely (we had one long lay in but she waited for us to 'surface' before getting on with her tasks to include changing the big soft pool towels each morning.
The grounds of the hotel are renowned locally for their beauty, something which as affected by the recent hurricane, but the team are busy reestablishing the area.
Take time to wonder the gardens which is home to both local and 'far flung' trees and plants, worth a little look and do take in the tortoises which are both large and friendly!
As we were leaving a new guest as arriving and as our eyes met, guess what just came out of my lips.... Yes welcome to paradise!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank NigelBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Thank you so so much for this review. It is very important that the word gets out welcome to your Key West Home and family.

I along with Kate and our team, again, thank you for visiting with us and your wonderful comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile

Went to key West for 2 days. And har æ booking at another hotel, but when we got there they had closed and told us they had no room for us. That was a blessing in discouise! We ended at this hotel and they had one room left and it was the eyebrow cottage. And our eyebrows did rise when we saw how beautiful it was! We got the best service too!❤ they also har baby turteles that was only 5 days old. And i got to cuddle them *dream come true * i will absolutely come back one day! Much love from Norway!! Xoxo

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank 846anettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Glad you found us as well! Our 7 hatchlings hatched on the eve of Hurricane Irma!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

This place is so beautiful, from the first moment we were greeted by friendly staff and shown to our spacious courtyard room which smelt devine. Prosecco on check in, nice touch. The room was luxurious and had everything you need, comfy bed and lots of pillows to choose from. There were a few steps up to the room but this was ok for us and we really appreciated the lovely balcony to sit out on and listen to great music, bird song and sound of the water fountain. So tranquil, we felt transported back in time by this charming place. Breakfast fresh and tasty and plenty of choice. We loved the hotel and would highly recommend a stay here.

Room tip: Our courtyard room 17 was quiet with a great balcony
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank martinewatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews