We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,261)
Filter reviews
2,261 results
Traveler rating
2,049
159
33
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,049
159
33
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine bar eyebrow cottage wine room sunday jazz duval street courtyard room the main house glass of champagne master suite an oasis lush gardens carriage house pool bar the cottages each morning yogurt tropical paradise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
553 - 558 of 2,261 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2017

We stayed in Cottage #1, which was the perfect size for a couple. There was a nice "living room" type area, and the bedroom and bathroom were comfortable with nice touches of luxury. The front porch of the cottage was perfect for coffee in the morning, or nice shade in the afternoon. The quarters were private, but steps away from Duvall St. Everything was clean, and the proprieters were friendly. If we come back to Key West, we will stay here again.

Room tip: Cottage #1 was secluded and quiet
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyinkeywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2017

Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017

A great place to stay with separate apartments in a heritage building for a reasonable price. The inn is tastefully and carefully appointed almost with an European flare. The garden staff was most attentive speaking with passion about the plants and the turtles present. Breakfast was simple with scrambled eggs, choice of breads, jams, cheese. A self help wine-bar with various wines accessible with a plastic card was novel. The poolbar is open during the day till 8 PM.
The rooms were generous, but the bed matras not great. The venue as a whole was outstanding.

Room tip: Top floors have better water pressure for the showers
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinnyKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2017

Thank you for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017 via mobile

This is a quaint inn! Very much the Key West feeling of quiet calmness. I could have stayed in the chair on the porch all day.

The staff are very accommodating too.

We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to the Keys.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2017

Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

Situated on an acre of resplendent rain forest-like landscaping after a day of Duval, Southernmost, and other crowd-inducing locations the Gardens is just what the guru ordered. We stayed in the Carriage House, room 4A and it was the most enjoyable hotel room we've encountered in quite some time. Amenities abound starting with a very complete complimentary breakfast. There are bicycles, beach towels, umbrellas when needed or desired and a great little full bar at the pool. Just a block from Duval Street all attractions are within easy walking distance.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2017

Thank You! The Carriage House is my favorite as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2017 via mobile

We arrived approximately two-hours early to check-in (from the Key West Express-Ft. Myers), and the staff was wonderful and asked us if we wanted to drop-off our luggage (which we did). The staff then offered us a glass of champagne and recommended two restaurants (both on Duval St) to grab a great lunch while our room was being prepared: Mangoes (very close) and Black Fin (pretty close). We elected to try Mangoes where we enjoyed some appetizers and cocktails. We stayed in room #16 and we loved it, it was beautiful with a great porch to enjoy cocktails and the cool Key West air and breeze.

LOCATION: Central to Duvall St. and only one block away. Absolutely perfect location... quaint and quiet. Easy to get to either side of the island (south beach or the boat docks). There is a Fire Station located across the street so on a few occasions we did hear an emergency vehicle responding but they quickly departed. There are numerous grocery, liquor, and cigar stores to get your vacation essentials and ring them back to the room.

STAFF: Super friendly, helpful, and professional. They assisted us with reserving a couple's massage (awesome!) as well as lunch reservations at Latitudes Restaurant (very very good). They are great! The reception staff is so nice and friendly, they will take great care of you. Adam, the bartender, is really down to earth and very knowledgeable about the area... see him for a great drink and local recommendations, he will take great care of you!

BREAKFAST: There's mention of a continental breakfast... it's the best continental breakfast you've ever had (scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, juices, water, yogurt, granola, baguette, bread, bagels, coffee, espresso, and tea)! Every day was a little something different but equally, if not more, delicious. It was nice to dine outside near the pool every morning and talking about our day's excursions.

WINE BAR: When you check-in, you will receive a wine-card (plastic credit card type). From red to white to zinfandel, there are a lot of great wine options available which are billed to the wine-card and you pay for during check-out. The pour sizes are approximately 1oz, 4oz, and a 6oz.

JAZZ SUNDAY: 5pm Sunday is Jazz night. We enjoyed a glass of wine on our porch and listened to the smooth sounds.

OVERALL: This was a great find with great staff, food, and atmosphere. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Edandwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

Thank you for your detailed and informative review! We are so happy you shared your special occasion with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews