We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax RELAX”
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 10, 2014

magnificent setting
miles away from the hubbub of key west yet just around the corner
luxurious rooms and services
friendly attentive
would want to stay longer but vacation had to end
only negative was breakfast was not up to level of all other hotel features
would return without question

Room Tip: want garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amusee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Agree with everything written in these reviews. We had an incredible stay. The tranquil pool with nearby self serve wine bar is just one of the amenities that makes this place great. Just close enough to great restaurants but just far enough away too.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank robcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

We hope you can stay with us again soon! Jim Marquardt, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

You will enjoy your stay at this Inn, It is private and quiet and you can do as much or as little as you want in Key West. No need for a car - we rented bikes and went everywhere - epecially to Ft Zachary State Park.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan34009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time for your review! We hope to see you soon! Jim Marquardt, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed here only one night, only because the hotel was booked. Otherwise we would have stayed longer. This is a Little Oasis in the middle of Downtown Key West just a short walk north of the famous Duval Street. They treat you very special and you feel like family, they helped plan the most out of our stay. The owner is "Hands on" and a wonderful lady. If you want the best experience for a place to stay in Downtown Key West this is the place !

Room Tip: The garden room overlooking the private garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Kate loves to meet and speak with the guests! Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed at The Gardens for three nights. It was a very nice, quiet oasis in an otherwise funky tourist town. The gardens with a very nice pool served to create an elegant space, where jazz was performed and piano several nites afternoons a week. We did enjoy the wine tasting bar, which we could access most any time with a very wide selection of wines. In my experience this is a feature unique to the Gardens. Breakfasts were fine. And our room was terrific. If we return to Key West, it will be to the Gardens Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

We really appreciate your comments, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a four night stay. We've been to Key West many times, and stayed many different places. This was definitely the nicest. The property is beautiful and has everything you could want. The room we stayed in was very nice with a very comfortable bed. I loved sitting on the veranda and relaxing. The pool was nice. Service, especially from the bartender, was friendly and attentive. The location was perfect, and I was surprised how quiet it was at night for being so close to everything. This is not a place for wild partying, so if that is what you are looking for, you will be disappointed. But if you want quiet, relaxation, romance, and great service, this is it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kakiwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your review! I love the angle in your photograph across the pool showing the Main House. It is an angle we have not used before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is our 9th stay at The Gardens Hotel. To say we love it is definitely an understatement! The rooms are gorgeous and so very comfortable. The Gardens are amazing. The staff is friendly and helpful. (Our favorite is Carol, she works every morning and provides the perfect breakfast!). Don't tell anyone else there because they are wonderful too! The Gardens Hotel is close to everything, but tucked away in a private paradise!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksjmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for visiting us now 9 times! Carol was so happy you mentioned her!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,190 reviews
0.4 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
213 reviews
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $217 - $782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 20 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Live Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Live piano in our Cabaret, Wednesday through Saturday, 5-7pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing