We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to like "charm"”
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel has a very big reputation so it has a high bar to reach, given high expectations. In most ways it is fine, with charming rooms, OK breakfast and gracious service. One "concierge", Robin, was exceptionally helpful with planning and on-the-spot advice. But there were significant lapses. For example, there was no dresser in any of the 5 rooms we booked with friends. You had to put your clothes in such places as a 3-inch-high drawer next to your bed, the narrow desk drawer, and a low sort of cabinet that had one narrow drawer and a small space to stack a few shirts, shorts or such. The four-poster bed, while charming, was very high and very soft. The gardens are typical tropical green, with lots of vines, palms, etc. Not as special as the title of the hotel or its past reputation suggests, but still nice to walk through. The wine bar and wine selections are pretty great, and make up for a lot of other sins. The location of the hotel could not be better, and the staff really tries hard.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Gardens Rooms" with their charm and shortcomings. Don't know about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Sometimes it truly is difficult to hit the bar for some guests and for this we apologize to this group of ten that stayed with us. We do take comments and positive constructive feedback seriously and prefer to address them in person rather than in a review after the fact. We have ordered 8 dressers for our Garden rooms as this was a concern for us as well. All other rooms have dressers. Our breakfast is quite extensive and complimentary. We offer a fresh made hot special each day from Belgian Waffles, Key Lime French Toast with Coconut Syrup to Various egg dishes, frittata's etc. Special orders affect our service to our guests. This is why we offer a variety of dishes each day. The original Peggy Mills Gardens were a variety of trees from all over the world. Peggy Mills was an avid collector of interesting and exotics as well as more common trees. The Gardens as they exist today are lush, tropical and full at the base of Peggy Mills wonderful trees. We just received Best In The World Top Hotels from Conde Nast Traveler in November 2013 so we hope your return visit will be more restful without the group effect that can somehow change a holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

What a wonderful stay we had. It was delightful in that the rooms were not the sterile atmosphere that we often find in hotel stays. The garden settings were beautiful and relaxing. The room had special touches that made us feel pampered. The staff was wonderful and the concierge extremely helpful when providing information about the area. It was easy to get to the surrounding attractions without having to use our vehicle, which was great as parking in the city was a nightmare. Especially liked the Conch Train, Mallory Square (sunrise and sunset) and Hemmingway's House. The roosters, hens, and chicks were a real treat.

Room Tip: We liked that we had an upper room away from the center of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathrynTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for your review! Yes the Chickens are all over the place! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I returned recently from our fifth stay at the Gardens. It remains one of our favorite places in the world to visit. It is truly an oasis where you can relax completely. The staff are all attentive and helpful. We tried several new restaurants at their suggestion and each was great. The rooms remain quiet, extremely comfortable and very clean. The beds are among the most comfortable I have found anywhere. Breakfast by the pool is the perfect way to start the day. I enjoy the fact they have options available so you can eat very light or have something a little more substantial. Billy and Scott whip up the most amazing drinks at the pool bar and are happy to create something special for you. It is always fun to visit with fellow guests before heading out to dinner. The gardens are extremely well maintained and beautiful to walk around in. The location is perfectly central to anything you might want to do. We will certainly be back for a 6th visit!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tink1Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your review! Scott and Billy are great people people and love to try new drinks! Tuesday's new drink is the Tranquil Turtle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Everything about our stay at The Gardens Hotel was close to perfection. It's a lovely, secluded oasis in the heart of Key West, midway between the Atlantic and Gulf coasts and a couple of blocks from the Hemingway home. Once inside the walls surrounding the hotel and its botanical garden, the outside world just melts away. The rooms are exquisitely appointed and wonderfully comfortable; the pool, patio and courtyard are surrounded by beautiful, dense tropical vegetation - a delightful place to enjoy the delicious breakfast each morning. The staff is exceedingly professional, attentive but discreet, and always made sure we had everything we needed. We spoke with Joseph about a room request before leaving home and he went out of his way to accommodate us. When we arrived Susan greeted us with a glass of Prosecco and excellent restaurant recommendations. The self-service wine tasting room adds another dimension to the luxurious ambiance of The Gardens. We're already talking about our next visit here .......

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We truly appreciate your comments and will let the crew know. We look forward to you return visit! Jim Marquardt, general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Going to Key West? Book this hotel. It is the greatest. We have stayed all over the world and this hotel is the best ever. The property is beautiful and immaculately maintained. The staff is very kind and helpful. If you are really lucky, Joseph, the front desk person, will be there when you check in. He is the BEST in the BEST hotel. Good match. Our room was wonderful, spacious with all we could ask for to include the best bed ever away from home. This is a must hotel!! Enjoy!! Kristina and Brad We are grateful to have found this hotel!!

Room Tip: We had a Garden Room. Plenty big for two. I know there are bigger rooms if you are three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinaClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for your review! Joseph is great we agree, as well as everyone on our crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

What a wonderful location to enjoy the Courtyard, palms and flowers, a glass of wine and live music. Even if staying at another guest house, we always spend time at "The Gardens Hotel"

We particularly enjoyed the pianist. Everything from Cole Porter to show-tunes, all beautifully delivered. And the jazz and R&B groups. Clearly the "Gardens" is the place to go.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DONALD R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

The Gardens Hotel is indeed entertaining, historic and unique! Conde Nast Traveler readers agree with you! Best In The World Top Hotels 2013! The piano is becoming a favorite in the early evening for a glass of wine in the Cabaret or in the Gardens, just as you say! We hope to see you soon! Jim Marquardt, general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stay here next time you visit Key West. There really isn't anything negative to say about it. The location is perfect, about midway on Duval St but a block away from the street noise. The rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished. The courtyards and adjacent small botanical garden are enhanced with interesting sculpture pieces. The service is high level, friendly, and flawless. The breakfast fare was delightful. The bar was actually rather lively and the unique self service wine selector was a hoot. While it is a bit on the pricey side, the overall package of location, service, and tranquility make this wonderful spot a real value. Stay here next time you visit Key West!

Room Tip: This is a boutique hotel comprised of 3-4 separate buildings each of which has roughly 6 rooms. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hodmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed all the extras that make The Gardens Hotel what it is! We all work hard to make your experience perfect. The d'vine Wine Gallery is indeed unique! Jim Marquardt, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
209 reviews
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $286 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 20 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Live Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Live piano in our Cabaret, Wednesday through Saturday, 5-7pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing