We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Weekend”
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Weekend”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My husband and I celebrated out 28th wedding anniversary there on Nov 16th. We were greeted by Robin...who was wonderful, all the staff was during our stay. Our room was great, the bed was very comfortable, had a great location on the grounds. It was very relaxing, enjoyed going to the pool bar and listening to the guy playing the piano. The property was very beautiful, peaceful. We are planning already for next year and to stay even longer!!

Room Tip: Our room was #9 was at the back of the property, quiet and lots of trees and plants, it was on the 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meredtihbelding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
We are so happy you choice us to share your Anniversary! We all feel very honored!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,578
    132
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
80
1,246
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

All I can say is wow! If you are looking for an Old Towne B&B then this is definitely the place for you. We reviewed many hotels and B&B's on TripAdvisor and chose this one. What a great decision this was. I can't say enough good things about this place. We pulled in and Nancy at the front desk was so accommodating and offered us champagne while she went over the amenities of the hotel. The owners of the hotel have their personal home phone number written on the booklet you receive so if you cannot get ahold of anyone after hours, you can call them personally. Nancy showed us to our courtyard room which was unbelievable. It was so clean and very well decorated with a Key West feel (including remote controlled A/C!). Our room had a balcony that we shared with another couple that looked over the fountain in the courtyard. Breakfast and coffee was served from 8:30-10:30 and included the hot special of the day...for us this was Key Lime French Toast that was to die for. Other amenities include complimentary pool and beach towels available including a beach bag. The hotel is one block off Duval which made it easy for us to bike/walk to everything.
Overall we did not want to leave this hotel, however, we were only able to stay here for one night due to availability. We switched hotels to another highly rated tripadvisor hotel and were greatly disappointed. We didn't want to leave the Gardens Hotel at all and were so happy to have been able to stay here for the night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed The Gardens Hotel! Sorry about the other place though. We will share your comments with our entire crew and we look forward to seeing you soon! Jim Marquardt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our second stay at The Gardens. It's so beautiful and there is a great staff! Robin was so helpful and gave us great recommendations for restaurants and activities. We enjoyed some time at the bar getting acquainted with other guests and laughing with Billy and Scott. The grounds, birds and especially the turtles were delightful. Every aspect of The Gardens is elegant, comfortable and pristine. We hope we will visit again in 2014!

Room Tip: We stayed in Tree Top. Very comfortable and we enjoyed our outdoor sitting area.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Gardens has a strong commitment to the environment.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We hope you will soon as well! Thank you for the review! Jim Marquardt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Gardens Hotel is teh most beautiful facility I have stayed at in my numerous stays in the FL Keys. Very unique, comfortable, Victorian style rooms - friendly staff - great intimate bar, wine serving area. I would highly recommend to couples - not a good location for children. Very close to the happenings of Duval Street.

Room Tip: Rooms over the courtyard are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon! Jim Marquardt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in the master suite for our anniversary. It was perfect with a huge bedroom, living room, balcony and two spacious bathrooms! Even better was the oh so comfortable bed and great air conditioning. We loved everything about this place, the location, the common areas, the pool, the wine bar and the friendly staff. We really enjoyed talking with the both bartenders who went above and beyond to delight us with their special drinks of the day. The happy hour and music in the afternoons allowed us to meet others staying at the hotel as well as many locals who stopped by to see the charming and informative owner. Such fun! After a long day at all the stops along Duval St., we found ourselves locked out of the building upon our return at around 2:00 a.m. There was something wrong with the locks and poor, gracious Jim got out bed to let us in without a complaint (at least to us!). Thanks for a perfect time, we love Key West but love The Gardens even more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binkybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
I am glad you had a fabulous time with us! I will let the crew know! 2am isn't that bad really! Smiles! Jim Marquardt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Gardens Hotel in Key West, FL is absolutely one of our most favorite destinations. We come with our two best friends every year and stay in the same two rooms. We enjoy relaxing on the common porch these two rooms share after a fun day roaming the streets of Key West. Very centrally located and one block from Duval, The Gardens provides the perfect setting with exceptional personnel. From the moment we check in until the time we check out, we feel truly spoiled! The rooms are top shelf and the grounds beautifully maintained. It is a must do for us every year. And year in and year out our expectations are exceeded.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are so happy you and your friends all had a great time! We look forward to seeing you soon! Jim Marquardt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was lush with the gardens , beautifully kept, staff & service amazing & location prime. If your looking for a short getaway or longer in Key West this is where you must stay...at least once in your life. Go enjoy & see for yourself...you
WON'T regret it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina-inmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review! Did you know we are in the book 1001 things to do before you die? Please try to come visit again! Jim Marquardt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,679 reviews
0.4 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
150 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Property: The Gardens Hotel
Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 20 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Live Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Live piano in our Cabaret, Wednesday through Saturday, 5-7pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing