We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't match all the hype”
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Doesn't match all the hype”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and have visited KW a few times a year for several years and have traveled extensively in the Caribbean. We have stayed at the Marquesa, La Mer and others here. Our room here was great which we expected from a resort of this caliber. However, we found some of the staff less than friendly, not ever responding to a good morning from my husband. Never once asked how we were enjoying our stay(5 nights)until we checked out. I found the breakfast lacking, with stale bagels and having to actually see that someone else got something before we found out it was available, even after calling on the phone provided. This may seem silly, but one of my main complaints was the level of the products in the bath, the toilet paper to be exact. It was cheap and fell apart(part of the green program??)The grounds and pool are great and clean, and the staff certainly tried to be helpful when asked to. Just didn't go that extra mile we have learned to expect from resorts of this price here and elsewhere. Somewhat disappointed in this property, and I usually love wherever we stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciliaF991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I am sorry to hear your stay was less than perfect. We strive to do our best every day and it seems you feel we dropped the ball and for that I apologize. Our buffett items are the made fresh daily from local bakeries and I have instructed my crew to ensure and double check for freshness and to be complete on the telephone when our specials are available. Our green program does not involve the quality of our toilet paper just how it is made and from sustainable resources. It is expensive and it looks like the quality of your roll fell short. I have instructed housekeeping too check all supplies for any inferior rolls that may have slipped in as we do not want or enjoy negative experiences wherever they may occur. We pride ourselves on our guest interactions and hope you will consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,542
    129
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
75
1,217
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Key West is one of our most favorite places to visit when we want to RELAX. Through the years we have stayed in numerous hotels and Inns but after we discovered The Gardens Hotel based upon the recommendation of a very picky friend, we were hooked. We love the beautiful setting in the midst of a private tropical garden with plenty of space to relax around the pool or in the gardens. The Gardens hotel's DeVine Wine Bar is great and we always enjoy "Jazz in the Gardens" if we happen to be there on a Sunday night. We usually go by the pool bar before we go out to dinner and Billy makes us a "Gardenia". You don't want to miss that!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! RELAX is a great way to describe our peaceful Gardens, just steps from Duval!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Gardens hotel on Thursday Feb 7th. We stayed in room 3- a room in the main house. The room was absolutely beautiful and charming. The furniture was beautiful and all was spotless clean. Our room was right on Angela St, and it was so quiet and peaceful. I'm soo glad we found this place, the courtyard in the back near the pool is like a hidden garden- we had a delicious complimentary breakfast there. I wish we had more time to try out the wine room! Definitely will be returning! The only reason I have average on here below is because I did not utilize the fitness center or room service so average to me here is N/A.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moozigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Gardens is a tranquil, beautiful inn situated in a large, lush garden just steps from noisy, crazy Duval Street. Our room was small but comfortable, tastefully decorated, with a lovely bathroom. Our very private veranda afforded us very comfortable wicker chairs for a quiet place to read. We had wine (from the fun wine bar) in the dreamlike gazebo next to the pool both nights of our stay. The complementary breakfast was served on the patio, and featured a "Special" each day; one, a yogurt "martini" served with tropical fruit, the next, banana French toast. The staff went out of its way to be helpful. We plan to return to the Gardens next year and will definitely ask for the same room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We both had a wonderful stay, we felt very relaxed and looked after from the moment we arrived, even when we looked a little scruffy from a long journey the staff were so friendly.
Actually all the staff we met were great and welcoming, we have already recommend this beautiful hotel to our family and friends. I must say that the hotell and quality of the room, especially the comfort of the king bed & pillows was outstanding & so clean. This hotel has been marked as one of the best we've stayed in. We loved the gardens and all the little touches the staff have made to make the place so magical. The location is perfect and set us up for a great night along Duval Street. The hotel exceeded all our expectations.

We would love to stay again if we are lucky enough to return to Florida Keys and congratulations to them on getting it right. We will remember our stay for a long time.

Room Tip: No 16 has a great balcony and the room is just lovely and very large. The room was quiet and nicley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We loved the gardens and location as well as most of the staff. The towels and linens were nice. We hated the small bedroom and bath and the noisy toilet, the difficult to access parking and worst of all the dirty floors and terrible mattress. The one employee on duty most of the time at the front desk acted as if we were always bothering her. For the price we wished we had stayed at a name brand chain. We cannot recommend this hotel even though we loved the garden and beautiful gazebo.

Room Tip: Terrible mattress and noisy toilet in room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
This review is one of those ‘I can’t believe it’ reviews. I personally checked these guests into their room and tried to accommodate the husbands health related issues. They checked in with several large suitcases and after unpacking informed us that the floor was dirty. This may have been due to the fact that they had drug several large suitcases into the room. No matter, No question, we quickly sent management to investigate and immediately moved them to another room that I personally inspected. At that time the toilet was quiet. I met with them each day of their stay offering advice on attractions and restaurants. Each and every day I would say hello and they had nothing but praise for how well they were accommodated, the wonderful room, the wonderful complimentary breakfast, the great choices for meals, how wonderful our entire staff was, and the gentleman even gave me a thumbs up. We never were aware of any toilet running issue until this review. We would have hoped that the guests, during one of our many conversations with them would have informed us that there was an issue with the toilet. If we know of an issue it will be corrected immediately.
Our mattresses are tempurpedic memory foam. We did extensive research on memory foam mattresses prior to our recent purchase. In reading hundreds of reviews of users on memory foam mattresses the few people who did not rave about them were very overweight. Obviously memory foam mattresses are not for everyone, but are considered by most of the population to be the ‘best’ and a heavenly sleeping experience.
We at The Gardens Hotel work very hard to make every guest have the best experience possible with us and with our Island. I am truly saddened and disappointed that this guest would write such a bad review when in fact they were given and received a five star visit.
Jim Marquardt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our second visit to the The Gardens was even better than the first. From check in with Nancy, cocktails with Billy at the Tiki Bar and check out with Jim, we were treated with courtesy, consideration and warmth. They were very solicitious of our needs and made certain that we wanted for nothing. We have stayed in Key West many times over the last twenty years and have found nothing that measures up to our experience at the Gardens. We are booked already for our anniversary in November. We can't wait.

Room Tip: The eyebrow cottage is sunny and bright and very private. Great romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,015 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Property: The Gardens Hotel
Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 20 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Live Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Live piano in our Cabaret, Wednesday through Saturday, 5-7pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing