We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our first visit to Key West and we are so happy we selected The Garden Hotel. The location is perfect, the service was outstanding and the property is gorgeous. A five star hotel with a five star breakfast. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,491
    125
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
73
1,166
41
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Every trip to Key West is special because of the Gardens Hotel. I usually try and visit 3 to 4 times a year and always stay at the Gardens. Whenever I arrive I am always greeted with welcome home and that is how it feels. Everyone Nancy, Tippi, Alisha, Jim, Billy, Barb, Erika, Robert, Rick and yes even Sandra (Sunday night Jazz bartender) always make it feel like home. I didn't mean to leave you out Kate cause you are special to me also. I cannot express how great it is to visit and feel so welcome. If you ever get a chance to stay here you will not be disappointed. You can sit and talk to the bar staff for hours and enjoy the gardens and pool anytime of the day or night. It is home to me and after one visit you will feel the same. I hope I didn't leave anyone out because I love them all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlabamaFancyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed for 1 night here which was just not long enough. The hotel is simply stunning, set over a beautiful garden with a few colonial Florida houses hosting the rooms. Great pool too. The perfect escape from the humidity of the keys. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and it was a true pleasure to stay here. Nice breakfast too. Stay here!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral, uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We haven't been to key west for a few years and it had a lot of fond memories to live up to. And so did a lot of research before making our decision. Selected Gardens thru trip reviews. Exactly what we read/ hoped for. Beautiful surroundings. Extremely friendly and hospitable people. Tonight there was a local charity fundraiser going on. So much fun good conversation and for a good cause. Sandi and billy made very good drinks and where so good company. But everyone at the gardens is so accommodating Jim, Robert, Kate the owner. We almost don't want to rate this too highly in case we can't get in again. But have to tell it as we see it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

A few weeks ago during a trip to Key West I wondered into the Gardens Hotel for a afternoon drink. THe hotel was very quiet and peaceful. There is a very nice pool bar with a terrific bartender named Billy. He made excellent drinks and was very welcoming.
I have not stayed at the Garden's but after this experience I will strongly consider it on my next trip down,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a wonderful place to visit, get married, and revisit over and over again. Each visit is as memorable as the last. What an amazing staff and setting, a true respite from the bustle of everyday life.

Room Tip: the Master Suite is the ultimate in luxury, comfort, and space. The Eyebrow Cottage is so private an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeneubanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 fabulous nights here. We are not Key West novices, but this was our first stay at The Gardens. It will definitely be the ONLY place we stay during future visits. Excellent location. Very relaxing atmosphere. Beautiful gardens. Kate has provided everything one could need or want in her property. The service was unmatched. Kate rolled out the red carpet for us during "Hurricane Isaac" night by providing her homemade lasagna and plenty of beverages to keep us happy. Tippi greeted us at check-in, and we instantly felt at home. Robert took excellent care of our room and was so friendly. And Billy is the best bartender ever! We highly recommend The Gardens Hotel. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room #10 has a great corner view of pool and courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Maria Suites
Santa Maria Suites
#5 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Property: The Gardens Hotel
Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 23 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Live Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Live piano in our Cabaret, Wednesday through Saturday, 5-7pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing