We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay at the Gardens and still fabulous!”
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Gardens last June and have been looking forwward to our return for awhile. We love Key West and love that we have found such a cozy place to call home when we are in Key West! We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and our room was ready early! Tippy showed us to our room and and we enjoyed our sparkling champagne. D'Vine wine has been added since our last visit. Everything was just perfect and we enjoyed the new wine area, the pool, bar and the wonderful breakfasts! We look forwaard to our next trip to the Gardens next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNewbolds2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you for spending your special occasion with us! We look forward to your next stay. I will pass your comments on to Tippi as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2011

The relationships you create on the journey is what makes this place magical. This was our first trip to Key West, and this hotel will be the only place we stay from here out. The staff make you feel right at home from the start. Thanks to Kay, Jerry and of course Billy for making this one of our best trips.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrisT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This place is a gem. The beautiful gardens make your stay here really relaxing. Breakfast is delicious and you can eat in the gardens by the pool. The evening happy hour is great. They have many wines by the glass that you can try because they have a key system wine kiosk. The rooms are spacious and our stay here was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiamiFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time for a review. We truly love to hear about our guests experiences. Our breakfast is something we are proud of with a variety of daily hot and cold specials. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Gardens Hotel was a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy with the people you love. The staff was very friendly and helpful with our needs. The pool area was great to hang out and have a couple of drinks while talking with other guests. I will be coming back to this hotel again in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8tter59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

From start to finish.....awesome. The room. the grounds, the breakfast, the cute bar and lovely bartenders , everything was perfect. It was HOT when we were there but so nice to come back to our nice cool room. A dip in the pool and a frosty beer at the bar and we were ready to take on the night. We will stay there again and again. Check it out. We had the cottage and it was secluded and quiet, but only a short walk to the pool and breakfast. Oh,
did I mention the awesome wine bar?? You get a card at check in to help yourself to 3 different sizes of pour. Lots of selection. Very unique. Don't want wine? head to the cozy bar for anything else. Great location, we rode our rented bikes {they arranged them} everywhere.
You won't regret your stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meanrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We return to The Gardens every year because it simply has it all. Fantastic facility, great customer service, and a wonderful location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraveltoDive01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This hideaway hotel is a tropical oasis in the heart of Key West. Everything about this hotel was great, service, staff, location, mangement, even the owner was at the pool bar one night telling her guests how this great place started. Everyone that stayed at the hotel is coming back as many times as possible in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pearsonrj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
212 reviews
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $219 - $751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 20 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Live Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Live piano in our Cabaret, Wednesday through Saturday, 5-7pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing