We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Second stay at the Gardens and still fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second stay at the Gardens and still fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Gardens last June and have been looking forwward to our return for awhile. We love Key West and love that we have found such a cozy place to call home when we are in Key West! We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and our room was ready early! Tippy showed us to our room and and we enjoyed our sparkling champagne. D'Vine wine has been added since our last visit. Everything was just perfect and we enjoyed the new wine area, the pool, bar and the wonderful breakfasts! We look forwaard to our next trip to the Gardens next summer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNewbolds2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for spending your special occasion with us! We look forward to your next stay. I will pass your comments on to Tippi as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,375
    115
    20
    11
    6
See reviews for
55
1,075
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The relationships you create on the journey is what makes this place magical. This was our first trip to Key West, and this hotel will be the only place we stay from here out. The staff make you feel right at home from the start. Thanks to Kay, Jerry and of course Billy for making this one of our best trips.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrisT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This place is a gem. The beautiful gardens make your stay here really relaxing. Breakfast is delicious and you can eat in the gardens by the pool. The evening happy hour is great. They have many wines by the glass that you can try because they have a key system wine kiosk. The rooms are spacious and our stay here was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOTOKeyWest, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time for a review. We truly love to hear about our guests experiences. Our breakfast is something we are proud of with a variety of daily hot and cold specials. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loving san diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Gardens Hotel was a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy with the people you love. The staff was very friendly and helpful with our needs. The pool area was great to hang out and have a couple of drinks while talking with other guests. I will be coming back to this hotel again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8tter59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

From start to finish.....awesome. The room. the grounds, the breakfast, the cute bar and lovely bartenders , everything was perfect. It was HOT when we were there but so nice to come back to our nice cool room. A dip in the pool and a frosty beer at the bar and we were ready to take on the night. We will stay there again and again. Check it out. We had the cottage and it was secluded and quiet, but only a short walk to the pool and breakfast. Oh,
did I mention the awesome wine bar?? You get a card at check in to help yourself to 3 different sizes of pour. Lots of selection. Very unique. Don't want wine? head to the cozy bar for anything else. Great location, we rode our rented bikes {they arranged them} everywhere.
You won't regret your stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meanrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We return to The Gardens every year because it simply has it all. Fantastic facility, great customer service, and a wonderful location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveltoDive01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This hideaway hotel is a tropical oasis in the heart of Key West. Everything about this hotel was great, service, staff, location, mangement, even the owner was at the pool bar one night telling her guests how this great place started. Everyone that stayed at the hotel is coming back as many times as possible in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pearsonrj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#4 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#3 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 924 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.6 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Property: The Gardens Hotel
Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 23 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Live Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Live piano in our Cabaret, Wednesday through Saturday, 5-7pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing