We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
STL, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I am a guest of an owner and I find the location to be perfect for anything you want to do. We have rented bikes for the week and either ride or walk to all our activities. The resort itself has a great pool, hot tub, and the rooms are nicely furnished.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STLColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    83
    26
    13
    13
See reviews for
75
149
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Close to the action of Duval Street and Mallory Square, but very secluded from the hustle and bustle
if you need some "quiet time"
Very clean and updated
Pool area is great
Close to restaurants
Office staff very helpful and courteous

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise4946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

First and foremost, this property its a timeshare. I have been staying at this property for the last 12 years. And usually for 4 to 6 weeks per year. Location its the key. The staff is great and very friendly, all to make your vacation stay wonderful.
Never a complaint with the property. Always looking forward to stay here, year after year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aresbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hyatt Sunset Harbor is a timeshare ownership property we own through Hyatt residence club. We bought in 2005 and have cherished this week stay every year since. Not only is the property very well kept the location is ideal. Sitting next to the Westin Hotel right on Mallory Dock. We park our vehicle in the Westin Hotel car deck and usually walk to different attractions once there. We have a two bedroom villa with a beautiful balcony overlooking the pool area....the tropical foliage makes you feel like you are somewhere in Hawaii or the Caribbean. The staff are very kind and attentive . Always willing to help. In the last few years the unit has been updated from carpeting , beds, flatscreen televisions ect... We have a full kitchen so we can usually do breakfast and lunch in and then happy hour with hor'derves or a later meal after sunset celebration out. Our new manager (Derek) just called me to check in and to make sure that our stay has been enjoyable . Like I said really great customer service.
One thing I need to advise on if you are expecting a 5 star Hyatt experience with robes and spa I do not believe you will find it here. You are able though to use the healthclub, pool, restaurant and bar at the Hyatt Hotel.....Just check with the conciere on this. ...Key West is more of an adult town similar to New Orleans. Believe it or not the beaches are not so good due to the island being surrounded by coral. BRING WATER SHOES. Snorkeling and Sunset cruises are the best though!!! And a beach day at Ft Zachary Taylor is well worth the trip

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angeline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hyatt Sunset Harbor is in a great location just blocks from famous Duval St. Key West is one of my all time favorite places, so of course I purchased a time share here many years ago. We have a 2 bdrm., 3 bath unit which is oceanfront. The oceanfront location is great if you like looking at the side of a cruise ship every day. Again, love the location. My only concern is with the condition of the unit. Over the years we have watched it become outdated and shabby. After years of having a ripped headboard in the master suite, they have finally purchased new furniture. We've been hearing year after year how they are doing upgrades, but they seem to be very slow in coming. I look forward to the extremely stained rug and torn couch in the living area being replaced. That being said, the unit is clean and the beds are always comfortable. If you are over 50 (which we are) you will love this place and fit right in. The pool area is great with lots of chairs and tables.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeTravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, sc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Left South Carolina on Friday the 24th of August (my Birthday). Made a few stops along the way ending up in Boca Raton on Saturday night. Watching and waiting to see what Hurricane Isaac had in store for us before leaving for the keys. We made a logical decision at 6:00am with a four hour window before the rain hit key west that we would push on and drive to Key West. We were the only car going south from Miami. Saw a few cars in Marathon. Nobody on the seven mile bridge. Stopped at the last key for a few provisions and arrived at Sunset Harbor at 10:30am. The staff was great. We were able to unload and check in before the rain approached the keys. Two story/two bedroom over looking the pool and harbor. Awesome! Glow sticks, flashlights and water were delivered to our room at 11:30 in case we lost power. Weather channel was around the corner filming (Stephanie, Al and Maria and crew). We were on the weather channel around 4:00. Got a few calls from family saying they saw us and tagged us on facebook. Key West only got an inch of rain, Awesome sunset and beautiful windy day on Monday. Anyway! Basically had the resort to ourselves for a few days because all airports (Key West, Marathon, Miami and Ft. Lauderdale) cancelled all flights. I can't say enough about the staff (front desk, maintenance and housekeeping) were exceptional and went above and beyond any needs of guests. Two pool parties (Tuesday and Wednesday) Recommendations: Garbo's food truck across from the pepper store, Amigos (late night), Alonzos for Happy Hour (Drinks and food 1/2 price), Sunset pier for entertainment and happy hour, Sloppy Joes and Irish Kevins for bands, Lattitudes at Westin Sunset Key, (free boat ride) Westin hotel for Breakfast, Blue Heaven for breakfast, Wind and Wine Sunset sail. (Awesome crew and a great selection of wine and beer). Bahia Honda state park for a snorkeling and kayaking, Hogs Breath Saloon for some great Blues (great local hang out), Hogfish Bar and Grill on Stock Island (Awesome food). Island Dog for 2 for 1 (with coupon) and bands late night. Skip the Rum Barrel and Ricks (horrible service and bad attitudes) Brother Dave took us to the Yacht club and took his buddy's big twin engine fishing boat out. Felt like something from Miami Vice. We brought our bikes and kayak and try to do it all in a week. Met some great friends and had a great time with Brother-in-law and girlfriend. The best Birthday week at the Hyatt Sunset Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaSpartanburg_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

First off, I am a New Yorker, in my 50s and I travelled with my husband, brother and sister in law. I exchanged into the Hyatt Sunset Harbor via II. At check-in, we were greeted by Rosa at the front desk and she was very helpful, efficient and courteous. I got a 2 bedroom/2 bath villa, unit # 331. The balcony has a slip of a view of the ocean. The villa was clean as to be expected for a unit located steps away from Duval and Mallory Square. As mentioned in other reviews, you are at the harbor so location is key. To those who commented that this is not what they expect of a Hyatt, you are comparing oranges to apples - you are in the heart of where the action is while out in Phoenix or Sedona or whereever else you are comparing it to, you are in the middle of nowhere. So yes, this Hyatt is the bomb! Arrived late in the afternoon, just in time for a view of the gorgeous sunset which is a couple of steps from the front desk. Parking is located next door which is at the Westin. The Hyatt provides you with towels, toiletries (including toothpaste); dishwashing liquid, diswasher tabs. There is a washer and dryer on every floor and they provide you with cards which you can replenish ($1 wash, $1 dry) pick up detergent and softener from the front desk (free). The front desk personnel even took the time to look for cards that were already loaded so I didn't have to pay to wash/dry. Thanks, guys! Customer service at this resort is top notch - no complaints there! I will definitely be back and recommend the Sunset Harbor to friends/family!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cebus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
1.0 mi away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Galleon Resort And Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#50 of 77 in Key West
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Property: Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
Address: 200 Sunset Way, Key West, FL 33040-8312
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condominium Resort with Victorian styling; situated in the heart of Old Town, overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing