We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday week with Hurricane Isaac”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Spartanburg, sc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Birthday week with Hurricane Isaac”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Left South Carolina on Friday the 24th of August (my Birthday). Made a few stops along the way ending up in Boca Raton on Saturday night. Watching and waiting to see what Hurricane Isaac had in store for us before leaving for the keys. We made a logical decision at 6:00am with a four hour window before the rain hit key west that we would push on and drive to Key West. We were the only car going south from Miami. Saw a few cars in Marathon. Nobody on the seven mile bridge. Stopped at the last key for a few provisions and arrived at Sunset Harbor at 10:30am. The staff was great. We were able to unload and check in before the rain approached the keys. Two story/two bedroom over looking the pool and harbor. Awesome! Glow sticks, flashlights and water were delivered to our room at 11:30 in case we lost power. Weather channel was around the corner filming (Stephanie, Al and Maria and crew). We were on the weather channel around 4:00. Got a few calls from family saying they saw us and tagged us on facebook. Key West only got an inch of rain, Awesome sunset and beautiful windy day on Monday. Anyway! Basically had the resort to ourselves for a few days because all airports (Key West, Marathon, Miami and Ft. Lauderdale) cancelled all flights. I can't say enough about the staff (front desk, maintenance and housekeeping) were exceptional and went above and beyond any needs of guests. Two pool parties (Tuesday and Wednesday) Recommendations: Garbo's food truck across from the pepper store, Amigos (late night), Alonzos for Happy Hour (Drinks and food 1/2 price), Sunset pier for entertainment and happy hour, Sloppy Joes and Irish Kevins for bands, Lattitudes at Westin Sunset Key, (free boat ride) Westin hotel for Breakfast, Blue Heaven for breakfast, Wind and Wine Sunset sail. (Awesome crew and a great selection of wine and beer). Bahia Honda state park for a snorkeling and kayaking, Hogs Breath Saloon for some great Blues (great local hang out), Hogfish Bar and Grill on Stock Island (Awesome food). Island Dog for 2 for 1 (with coupon) and bands late night. Skip the Rum Barrel and Ricks (horrible service and bad attitudes) Brother Dave took us to the Yacht club and took his buddy's big twin engine fishing boat out. Felt like something from Miami Vice. We brought our bikes and kayak and try to do it all in a week. Met some great friends and had a great time with Brother-in-law and girlfriend. The best Birthday week at the Hyatt Sunset Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaSpartanburg_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    83
    26
    13
    13
See reviews for
75
149
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

First off, I am a New Yorker, in my 50s and I travelled with my husband, brother and sister in law. I exchanged into the Hyatt Sunset Harbor via II. At check-in, we were greeted by Rosa at the front desk and she was very helpful, efficient and courteous. I got a 2 bedroom/2 bath villa, unit # 331. The balcony has a slip of a view of the ocean. The villa was clean as to be expected for a unit located steps away from Duval and Mallory Square. As mentioned in other reviews, you are at the harbor so location is key. To those who commented that this is not what they expect of a Hyatt, you are comparing oranges to apples - you are in the heart of where the action is while out in Phoenix or Sedona or whereever else you are comparing it to, you are in the middle of nowhere. So yes, this Hyatt is the bomb! Arrived late in the afternoon, just in time for a view of the gorgeous sunset which is a couple of steps from the front desk. Parking is located next door which is at the Westin. The Hyatt provides you with towels, toiletries (including toothpaste); dishwashing liquid, diswasher tabs. There is a washer and dryer on every floor and they provide you with cards which you can replenish ($1 wash, $1 dry) pick up detergent and softener from the front desk (free). The front desk personnel even took the time to look for cards that were already loaded so I didn't have to pay to wash/dry. Thanks, guys! Customer service at this resort is top notch - no complaints there! I will definitely be back and recommend the Sunset Harbor to friends/family!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cebus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

After being delayed by Isaac my wife and I and 4 friends stayed in a two bedroom two level condo at the Sunset Harbor resort.
This was our second time trading for this resort.
The master bedroom was on the third level of the building and had a Jacuzzi tub and separate shower and toilet.
the other bedroom was on the second level of the building.Both levels had balconies to sit and watch the cruise ships come in (or smoke if necessary).
there was also a pull out sofa for the other couple
The pool area was always clean and it was open until midnight, which we took advantage of.
There were no maintenance problems with the unit and the staff was very friendly. The lobby had fresh coffee each morning and there were bagels and fruit available at no charge. There was also a computer (free) to use in the lobby.
Over all we were completely satisfied with our room and the location is within walking distance of everything.

Room Tip: Although we had the second and third floors, I would recommend the two bedroom units with both bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mersingary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compassrose89
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Cozy room, comfortable bed, tub and shower!Just steps away from Old Town and Duval Street! Had a great comfortable time! Very nice pool, location, location,location. Just wished they had some food to serve.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Compassrose89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

These is not a hotel but a timeshare condo where you can sometimes trade in or buy days that are open. Most condo are set up as a two bedroom owner lockout (which means there is a door that can be locked and effectively making a two bedroom condo into a 1) one bedroom studio with no view) and 2) a one bedroom with full living room/kitchen/balcony. We have gotten the two bedroom for a week to past two years. The location is great, on the north west end of the island in the middle of old town but, happily, two blocks away from the noise of Duval. While the people noise is minimal at night the delivery trucks for the next door westin are a pain at least 2 of 7 nights when they seem to come between midnight and 6 AM, idling and running the truck lift. The front desk staff are extremely attentive (an upgrade since last year) but the conciergie is a bit of a ditz, albeit a friendly one. The Westin Marina is right outside the gate and offers tons of pricey activities (you are in vacation right?). No restaurant on site but you can easly walk to many, many restaurantd to make even the most picky foodie happy. The pool is decent size for key west where some other hotels and guest houses offer none or a postage stamp pool. Bikes can be rented right at the Westin wharf. Its a bit of a walk but the Fort Zachary State park beach can be walked to in 15 minutes ($2.50 park entry). No oven there is a convection/microwave combo. I understand the major appl;icances are updated next year. TVs are flat screen but super small and in all bedrooms and the living room. Area rug in the living room could be replaced. Overall, a decent value for a family where location is more important than updated rooms and space. The other Hyatt time share proprties are spacious and new BUT you will have to take a shuttle to get to old town! The Hyatt has a hotel but we'v enever stayed there.

Room Tip: The NE units are the quietest. If a bedroom has windows opening onto sunset lane it could be briefl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I travel to Key West every year for Lobster fest and normally stay at a B&B. This year we decided to stay at the Hyatt and we were very disappointed. Our room was small and had a door connecting the adjacent room, one of the Hyatt employees opened our door while attempting to lock the adjacent rooms door one evening while we were in bed. At 4am garbage trucks arrive and spend about 15 minutes making all sorts of noise. In addition, we were on the 2nd floor and at approximately 7:30AM the housekeeping staff rolls their carts around on the wooden hall way floors adding to the already noisy morning. This occurred both nights we were there. There is a parking fee and a resort fee, adding to the already costly room charge. We will definitely not return, for less money one of the many historic and beautiful B&B’s provide a much more pleasant and peaceful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julez93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The staff treat you like royalty and before you know it they are calling you by name. The suites are always impeccably clean and have a full kitchen for those days you want to just stay in. There is also a bar-b-que area and you can grill by the pool.
You can't beat the location, right in Old Town and steps from Duval Street.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSH51150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
1.0 mi away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Galleon Resort And Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#50 of 77 in Key West
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Property: Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
Address: 200 Sunset Way, Key West, FL 33040-8312
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condominium Resort with Victorian styling; situated in the heart of Old Town, overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing