We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
Ranked #40 of 49 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Compassrose89
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Cozy room, comfortable bed, tub and shower!Just steps away from Old Town and Duval Street! Had a great comfortable time! Very nice pool, location, location,location. Just wished they had some food to serve.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Compassrose89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    79
    22
    12
    13
See reviews for
71
140
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

These is not a hotel but a timeshare condo where you can sometimes trade in or buy days that are open. Most condo are set up as a two bedroom owner lockout (which means there is a door that can be locked and effectively making a two bedroom condo into a 1) one bedroom studio with no view) and 2) a one bedroom with full living room/kitchen/balcony. We have gotten the two bedroom for a week to past two years. The location is great, on the north west end of the island in the middle of old town but, happily, two blocks away from the noise of Duval. While the people noise is minimal at night the delivery trucks for the next door westin are a pain at least 2 of 7 nights when they seem to come between midnight and 6 AM, idling and running the truck lift. The front desk staff are extremely attentive (an upgrade since last year) but the conciergie is a bit of a ditz, albeit a friendly one. The Westin Marina is right outside the gate and offers tons of pricey activities (you are in vacation right?). No restaurant on site but you can easly walk to many, many restaurantd to make even the most picky foodie happy. The pool is decent size for key west where some other hotels and guest houses offer none or a postage stamp pool. Bikes can be rented right at the Westin wharf. Its a bit of a walk but the Fort Zachary State park beach can be walked to in 15 minutes ($2.50 park entry). No oven there is a convection/microwave combo. I understand the major appl;icances are updated next year. TVs are flat screen but super small and in all bedrooms and the living room. Area rug in the living room could be replaced. Overall, a decent value for a family where location is more important than updated rooms and space. The other Hyatt time share proprties are spacious and new BUT you will have to take a shuttle to get to old town! The Hyatt has a hotel but we'v enever stayed there.

Room Tip: The NE units are the quietest. If a bedroom has windows opening onto sunset lane it could be briefl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I travel to Key West every year for Lobster fest and normally stay at a B&B. This year we decided to stay at the Hyatt and we were very disappointed. Our room was small and had a door connecting the adjacent room, one of the Hyatt employees opened our door while attempting to lock the adjacent rooms door one evening while we were in bed. At 4am garbage trucks arrive and spend about 15 minutes making all sorts of noise. In addition, we were on the 2nd floor and at approximately 7:30AM the housekeeping staff rolls their carts around on the wooden hall way floors adding to the already noisy morning. This occurred both nights we were there. There is a parking fee and a resort fee, adding to the already costly room charge. We will definitely not return, for less money one of the many historic and beautiful B&B’s provide a much more pleasant and peaceful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julez93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The staff treat you like royalty and before you know it they are calling you by name. The suites are always impeccably clean and have a full kitchen for those days you want to just stay in. There is also a bar-b-que area and you can grill by the pool.
You can't beat the location, right in Old Town and steps from Duval Street.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSH51150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bqk
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Rooms are due for an update somewhat, but it is clean-clean!! Staff is excellent and they love you as you are! Walk to damn near everything too!!!

Room Tip: No on site food or bar, but a lot of that is closely located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, IN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have been going to Key West for the last 7-8 years. Our last trip we thought we would try something different. We have always thought we would like Sunset Harbor, so we booked 4 days in June.

We were very pleasantly surprised, actually amazed at what a great property it is. Oh so convenient to most everything. Very clean, well maintained. Our accomodations were on the 3rd floor looking over the harbor. The sunset view was simply breathtaking.

The interior could use some updating, but seriously, do you go to Key West to sit in your room and look at the walls? There is no restaurant or bar on the property, but guest have access to Hyatt Vacation Club, which is just a few blocks away.

We are now considering actually buying there.

Room Tip: If at all possible ask for a harbor view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast, USA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I can't think of a better place to stay on Key West. Location: right at the end of famous Mallory Square. Close to shopping and all the action without renting a vehicle. Facility: Superior. Big comfortable beds, full kitchens, living rooms. Keep in mind that most of the rooms have stairs to get to the bedrooms. If you have trouble with stairs it will present a problem. The pool was very nice and the best part was the limited number of children. The ones that were there were very well behaved and added to the atmosphere.

The only drawback was really no big deal. The hotel is located at the pier where the cruise ships come in often; they block your view of the ocean. They do leave before sunset.

Making our reservation for next year very soon.

Room Tip: You can see the sunset from nearly every room balcony. Make sure you get a room with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greywolf8577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Saint Hotel Key West, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.4 mi away
The Galleon Resort And Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
0.1 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#46 of 79 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Property: Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
Address: 200 Sunset Way, Key West, FL 33040-8312
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condominium Resort with Victorian styling; situated in the heart of Old Town, overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing