We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort - feels like boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Beach House
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Burnsville, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Resort - feels like boutique hotel”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my family (wife, 2 children and parents) for a week. It is a great hotel. The rooms are perfect - loved eating in our enclosed patio overlooking the pool and ocean. The pool and beach facilities are well kept and very nice. It is a small and quaint resort. Only downside is distance from downtown (construction made trip a little longer) and smaller resort means less activities. Otherwise we loved this place and would definitely come back again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    186
    72
    23
    14
See reviews for
251
137
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
682 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a great place to stay if you go in with your eyes WIDE open! Fortunately, we researched the property well and were not disappointed. This is a quality Hyatt timeshare property...two king bedded rooms, a queen pull out sofa, screened deck overlooking the pool or water, full kitchen, 3 TVs, and perfectly ideal for two couples or a family. The front desk is friendly and helpful, calling cabs, getting extra coffee and creamer for the room, extra towels, and most anything they were able to provide, but their ability to provide is very limited. The hotel shuttle has limited hours and costs $5 pp one way so we used a cab for the five of us and had no problems getting around.

There are drawbacks, however.

The Trolley no longer makes stops on this end of the island, so without a car, you must use cabs. The hotel has a shuttle ($5 pp one way), but the cabs are much more reliable, more available, and less expensive.

IF you want to be in the middle of the action, this hotel is located in New Town, where all the locals live. You are four miles from Olde Town. The GOOD news: taxis charge $4.50 pp (if you have 4 or more people) to go from one end of the island to the other (I.e. Mallory Square) and are abundantly available.

IF you want to be within walking distance of stores, shopping, and dining venues, this hotel has no restaurant, shops, or shopping. (There is a little beach bar--see review for Tiki Bar). The Marriott next door has a bar, restaurant, and gift shop, but, compared to the amazing dining available in KW, the restaurant is just OK. That's about it for walking distance.

There is a GREAT restaurant on Stock Island, less than a mile away, (Hogfish--see review) but you will need a cab for that, too, as it is a bit of a ways to get there. There is another fish place, Hurricane Hole, that is popular and w/in a 1/2 mile walk over the bridge on Stock Island.

All in all, the property is fine. Just go prepared..take your food, milk, beer, etc. with you if you want to eat in. Plan on taxis if you don't have a car. It's a great place to retreat to get away from the madness of Duvall St.!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are quieter. Building F is closer to the water. All the rooms overlook the pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

With Taxes and Fees the cost of the Hotel came close to $600 a night. For that kind of money I expected the room to be immaculate. 2 of the 3 TVs in the room did not work. The Maintenance Man came and got them working. Neither I nor the Maintenance Man could figure out how to get the Microwave to work. Upon our arrival we were greeted to a big clump of hair on the Master B.R. floor. The rug were stained, furniture was old and dated, the windows were dirty. There were "Ghost Ants" all over the Kitchen Counter. The seal on the bottom of the shower door was hanging off and a good deal of water from the shower would leak on to the B.R. Floor creating a hazardous condition. I had to fix the bathroom toilet every time you flushed or it would keep running. The Maid Service consisted of changing the towels and making the bed. No type of cleaning or vacuuming took place. This is not what you expect when you stay at a Hyatt.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank chiarfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here for the first time, and thought the rooms were excellent. Bathrooms, kitchen, and bedrooms were well furnished and clean. Screened patio did not have a great view but was nice nonetheless. Pool was impeccably clean, as were the cooking facilities. Staff was helpful in setting up excursions (thanks Joe) and providing tips for activities in the area, and did not push too hard for the time-sale pitch. Also offered free parking, a plus. Great location if you are okay with driving/biking to downtown but do not want to be around all the noise and dirt of downtown.

Speaking of noise, we noticed the first night several periodic noises which sounded like thunder, starting around 4-5AM. Looking outside, it was a clear, cloudless night, so it wasn't thunder. It sounded as if someone was dragging furniture across the floor right above us. This would happen every 5 minutes all day and most of the night long (tapering off in the wee hours of the morning). I called twice to report the noise, at first thinking it was someone in the room above us, but I suspect the noise must be A/C or hot water related, as there's no way someone was dragging furniture all day and night. Front desk offered to send someone over to check on the sound but both times no one showed up. Thankfully most of our days were spent out and about the town and on excursions, but the nights' sleep was much disturbed.

Had we gotten a room away from whatever noise was being generated, this stay would have been absolutely perfect. Being woken up at 5 in the morning does detract from the overall experience, though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLMullen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I visited for the first time to Key West and stayed here. The room was very pleasant, huge for two people, loved the master bathroom. The lanai is really great off of the living room. So enjoyed spending time in the morning and evening out there. Very nice pool, concierge was very helpful. They had an orientation meeting on Monday morning where various companies in Key West could come in and promote their activities, i.e, jet skiing, fishing, sunset cruises, bike rentals, dolphin watching, snorkeling, you name it.
Hopefully we get to return to Key West and if so, we are staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here for a second time and just updating some information from my last review. The hotel grounds and rooms are still very impressive and worth a consideration. The staff was helpful and friendly the whole time there.

The tiki bar has seen some improvements and now has a nice menu and better drink selections to go with it at reasonable prices.

For anyone thinking about a trip to the keys that doesn't mind not being in the center of everything this place should be on your list. Don't let people complaining about resort fees sway your opinion as this unfortunately is the norm for Key West. Most places even charge for parking which thankfully the Hyatt doesn't.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aray213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The resort is very nice. The units are nicely decorated and clean. We really enjoyed the screened in porch with views of the pool area and the bay. It's a great location. Away from the noise of downtown but close enough for frequent back and forth. The pool area was a favorite hangout. Keep in mind that the Tiki Bar has very limited hours. Was only open from noon-6 which was disappointing and there was only one person working, including doing the cooking, so when she was back in the kitchen you couldn't get a drink. Would visit again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillysmomJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.0 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#42 of 51 in Key West
1,186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Windward Pointe
Hyatt Windward Pointe
#29 of 51 in Key West
716 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Beach House

Property: Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Beach House
Address: 5051 US Highway 1, Key West, FL 33040-4320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condominium Resort, residential in nature, set on the east side of the island overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Please note, resort will be a smoke free facility starting January 1, 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Beach House Hotel Key West
Hyatt Beach Hotel
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Beach Resort
Hyatt Beach House Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing