We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for surcharges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Beach House
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Watch out for surcharges”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We booked a lovely two bedroom condo, balcony overlooking beach and pool, two huge bedrooms and fantastic bathroom in master bedroom. I was disappointed that considering the price there was a $17 surcharge per night to cover 'free internet' ,towels, instant coffee etc. this should be inclusive. This hotel is 3 miles from the old town and with the crazy road works will cost you $18 one way taxi. Shuttle bus infrequent. Rooms are EXTREMELY unsound proofed, so you can hear people talking and banging about in room above you. No restaurant either and bar didn't seem to be open. Be warned, the naval air station has fast jet fighter planes and these are loud! Lovely rooms, well designed hotel. Poor location, annoying surcharges.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    185
    72
    23
    14
See reviews for
248
137
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

First the good: When we booked through an on-line travel site I don't think we really realized what we were getting. Essentailly it's a 2 bedroom condo. We had 2 totally separate bedrooms on either side of the unit, one with a large master bath. Common area and small kitchen were very nice. We even had a stacked washer and drier. Our room was also in very good condition - well maintained. It's a great layout for two couples or 2 people taking a guy or girl trip. Oh - and a screned porch too which was great to enjoy morning coffee.
Other plusses include very close proximity to the airport (7 minutes) and Hurricane Hole where you can rent charter fishing boats (highly recommended and worth the $$ if you can swing it). Duval street was close enough too at 3-4 miles. The pool area, loungers, mini beach were all nice as well as the dock.
For all of the above I give the property a Very Good.
However, here was our issue. At registration they explained that there is a $15 per day resort fee. We weren't expecting that but it wasn't a deal breaker. We asked what we got for our $15 and were told access to the pool, loungers, and a few other items that I consider normal amenities. We were also told that it was for access to the health club which we thought made it worth while. But when I asked for the front desk person to point me to the health club she explained it was at their other property downtown - about 3.5 miles away. I figured I could take the hotel shuttle but here was the real issue: The shuttle runs limited hours (3:45-11) and costs $5 per person for each trip. It's cheaper than a cab, but seriously? The front desk clerk said the residents voted on the charge. My guess is these are residents who really don't care, in fact, might prefer not to have nightly guests. I'd sooner pay $20 a day and have full, free access to the shuttle. And while we did have a rental car, between the challenges of parking in Key West, and the fact that we wanted to enjoy the night life responsibly, we needed the shuttle. The benefits of this proprty still out weigh this short sighted poilcy, but Hyatt (which usually has better sense than this) needs to consider intervening on this one.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank donothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We found the property lovely, the condos are spacious and the screened in porches a lovely addition(esp in the rain which was our experience for three of the days) The downside to this condo hotel is that the shuttle to town is infrequent and you pay for it and the taxi service is bleak too. We waited over one half an hour for a taxi(we called three) to take us to the airport which was 10 min. away.. anxiety producing moments that you don't need on vacation. The Marriott next day(regular hotel) has a free shuttle if you can stay in a room with less space. There is a tiki bar which serves great mojitos and offers food but it doesn't open in the rain(sad to say we had a quite a bit of rain) I found the staff at the front reception area unhelpful with restaurant recommendations(one said I've only been here five months) and in all that rain they SOLD umbrellas at 10. a piece rather than let guests borrow them. Umbrellas cost 6.00 in town. A little more customer service orientation would have been welcome. Hyatt could even charge a deposit for umbrellas to make sure they get them back.. a little gesture would prove sensitive to having so much rain on a vacation. I think if the weather is nice, the place would be great, it's very attractive and offers a relaxing ambience. I'm a fairly frequent traveler so I feel it only far to say rent a car to get the most of this place. Learn from our disappointment and Do not rely on taxis and the shuttle.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool could be noisy if there are many families using the pool.. for quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCalumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Didn't sleep the whole night due to people partying till 5am. The room has a strong odor of mold and cat urine, but when you open the window there's a loud echo of people partying from across the pool 10pm-5am in the morning. The receptionist said that rooms away from the pool are unavailable because this is "timeshare and they don't have the same flexibility." I'm now trying to find another hotel and cancel our 5 night stay, this is not a relaxing vacation, and rooms are not up to Hyatt level, these are the most dated rooms I've ever seen in a Hyatt property.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank ergonomics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had booked the Hyatt Beach House with my wife and two kids for three days but when we saw the place we immediately decided to extend our stay. The hotel is located 15 minutes from Duvall street and provides an excellent setup for relaxation. We had a two bedroom villa with full kitchen and two bathrooms including jacuzzi. The staff (especially Jackson) were really friendly and gave us tons of helpful tips during our stay. The hotel has a beautiful and lush garden with very nice swimming pool and a jacuzzi. The hotel also has it's own small beach so you can also swim in the ocean. The pool is suitable for even the smallest of the children and safe also for older kids because the maximum depth is 4ft. For adults the pool could have been a bit deeper though.

Jet skis pass by the hotel beach on very high speed. It would make the beach safer for the swimmers if there were buoys separating the swimming area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikkoj74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a property that is just on the outskirts of the tourist area of key west. We had a 2 BR unit which had a large master bedroom and a smaller bedroom with living room and kitchen. What made the hotel great was that it had a nice porch where we could congregate, play cards, and relax. The resort had a nice pool area with lots of palm trees, shade and sun depending on what you wanted. The hammock and the swing made it a 4 star for us. In terms of quality of the furnishings - its not high end that would expect from Hyatt - i.e. no granite counters or marble/nice tiles - but the other features made it a nice property for us.

Room Tip: Corner unit so that you have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Champs1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We have been coming to this time share every February for the last 10 years. It is a great location on the north east corner of Key West on the channel that separates Key West from the next Key. The rooms are spacious, clean, and up to date. The property is very clean. It is only a half mile to a Publix. Everything is very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
0.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
3.0 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
893 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Windward Pointe
Hyatt Windward Pointe
#27 of 51 in Key West
710 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Beach House

Property: Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Beach House
Address: 5051 US Highway 1, Key West, FL 33040-4320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condominium Resort, residential in nature, set on the east side of the island overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Please note, resort will be a smoke free facility starting January 1, 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Beach House Hotel Key West
Hyatt Beach Hotel
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Beach Resort
Hyatt Beach House Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing