We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, great location but OVER THE TOP price”
Review of Almond Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Almond Tree Inn
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, great location but OVER THE TOP price”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a King 'Suite,' wasn't really a suite, just a larger than average room with a pull out couch inconveniently located right in front of the door. We paid over $500 for this suite. I know it was Spring Break but please. This is hardly the Ritz. Loved the location, it was clean and comfortable and the people who worked there are lovely. Don't think we'll be back though, they allow kids (have them but don't want to be around them in KW) and it's overpriced.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 1KirstenV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,415
    212
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
291
983
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had another great vacation stay at the Almond Tree. The hotel is beautiful ! Every detail is perfect. There is constant personal service and extreme cleanliness on the property.

The rooms have recently been redone and updated. The location is perfect for walking around Duval street. No need for a car, but plenty of parking if you have one.

Would certainly stay again and again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaSachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Almond Tree Inn and had a very enjoyable time. The hotel is in a perfect location and appears to be an older style motel that the owners cleverly relandscaped and refurbished in order to turn it into an upscale inn. While I'm not sure if I can add anything that hasn't been said before, I'll pass along what made the biggest impressions on us:

Pro:
Very friendly, very attentive staff.
Wonderful location close to the fun of Duvall Street with none of the noise or associated crowds.
Well cared for pool and patio area.
Clean, beautifully decorated rooms.
Happy Hour with complimentary snacks and at least one drink.
Included continental breakfast with good selection of muffins, fruits and other breads.

Con:
Our room was on the small side, at least in relation to the king sized bed. I would have much preferred more room to maneuver and less unused bed space.
The limited room space meant only one of us could use a luggage rack - I was constantly taking out and putting away my suitcase.
The bathroom door was a heavy sliding semi-transparent panel - attractive but it let the bathroom light shine through to the bedroom. Not a problem during the day but at night it meant you pretty much were turning a bright light on in the bedroom.
The bathroom sink is located in the room, always a disappointment from a privacy perspective.
Due to the bright bathroom light and the sink situation anyone trying to get ready in the morning while others sleep is in a bind - my wife ended up using a flashlight one morning.
Parking is an additional 10 dollars - this seems unreasonable considering the price of the rooms and the apparently sufficient parking space the motel possesses.
The room 'refrigerator' appears to actually be a type of wine cooler - while very attractive it doesn't lend itself well to holding basic groceries.
Our room was on the end of a long first floor row - while 95% of the rooms looked out on the pool, our admittedly more private room looked out on a storage shed of some sort.
The free WiFi service worked well throughout the hotel grounds - except for our room, where the signal was too low to connect. Perhaps using some of the parking fees to get an extender should be considered.
The number of pool lounges is small in relation to the number of guests. While there are barstools and patio tables set up that can handle the overflow, if you really want to lie in the sun you can have an issue. While space constraints possibly prevent adding more, management should perhaps consider discouraging the use of reserving vacant lounges as some guests were doing with their reading materials and pool towels.

When all is said and done the importance of the Pros outweigh the more numerous annoyances of the Cons - we really enjoyed our stay, but some things could be improved.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaJoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Thank you to all the Trip Advisor contributors who rated this hotel! I chose it because of the great reviews and we were not a bit disappointed. Everything was perfect! The staff, the service, the spotlessly clean rooms, the location, the breakfast, the happy hour----what more can I say? The hotel is small enough that you are comfortable with the surroundings and the staff from the time of your arrival. We stayed five nights in March and if we return to Key West, we will definitely stay at the Almond Tree again. Thanks to Bill, Sean, and Jose----hope to see you again in a couple years!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe king room, ground level, right at the pool! #105....very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AandK07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Once again I was able to visit Key West my favorite place in the USA. Spent a week at the Almond Tree and it was again Awesome!!! The staff was so helpful and always went the extra mile. This hotel is in the heart of Key West and you feel like your in your own little world. The pool and hot tub are a very welcome treat, The beds are the best and I believe the pillow was made by an angle, some of the best sleep I have ever had. If your heading to Key West you really need to stop and stay awhile.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmayer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

It was the first trip for both couples. This hotel offered everything you could want. The rooms were wonderful and the staff could not have been more helpful. I know where are vacation plans are next year!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed in late February. Welcome relief from our Northern weather. Spot is located right in the middle of Olde Town with all of its activities, yet feels secluded with its own ambience of privacy and quiet. Staff is exceptional, always looking for some way to help. Complimentary breakfast is more than you could ask for. Service and surroundings are immaculate. Pool and hot tub were very relaxing. Elevator for second story was very convenient when getting baggage to room. Bedding is luxurious. Best ever. Even better than at home. Linens are plentiful as well as the amenities, soaps, shampoos, conditioners, lotions. Can't say enough about how well I was treated. Able to relax, read and enjoy my stay. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: I preferred the second floor. No ceiling noise, less traffic and elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,032 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Tree Inn

Property: Almond Tree Inn
Address: 512 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-3141
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almond Tree Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Almond Tree Inn came to life in 2013 when we pulled together beautiful, green minded, and Made in the USA products from the top manufactures and designers in the industry. The guest rooms feature custom made furnishings, amazing showers, the latest in technology, stunning wood floors, luxurious linens, and beautiful artwork by local artist.With the ambiance of a secluded resort you would never imagine Duval Street is just 50 steps outside our gates... "Ranked #1 Hotels & Resorts in Key West by TripAdvisor with over 700 five star ratings" Winner "Certificate of Excellence 2011,12,13,14,15". Travelers Choice Award #10 Small Hotel in the USA 2015. Give us a call to book your stay and join us in Celebrating a New Almond Tree Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Almond Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Tree Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing