We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous accommodations, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Almond Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almond Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodations, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at the Almond Tree Inn for 2 nights and it was fabulous. The service at check in was excellent. Our room wasn't ready since we are there early, but they kept our bags and called my cell phone as soon as we could get into the room.

Room: We were in room 110, but I am assuming they're all beautiful. It was decorated tastefully and was impeccable. The bathroom is lovely and the shower is surprisingly spacious for a hotel room of this size. My husband is 6'4" and was thrilled to have a hotel shower that was comfortable for him to use. We found the bed to be very comfy and the linens were nice as well.

Amenities: There is an evening happy hour and a continental breakfast. The breakfast was a beautiful spread, not just your typical fruit tray and a bagel. The happy hour was great as well, with a nice assortment of light bites and drinks. There's a very nice seating area to enjoy breakfast or a drink.
We used the pool one afternoon and it's very nice, as is the hot tub. There are ample chairs in both the sun and shade, each with a towel provided.

Location: Can't beat the location. It's right on the corner of Truman and Duval, so you're not far from the action but it's very quiet.

We would definitely stay at the Almond Tree Inn next time we are in Key West.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    202
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
268
934
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed 4 nights at this small hotel. Rooms are as good as 5 star hotel. The position is great. A couple of minutes walk to Duval street. The breakfast was an added bonus with fresh pastries and lovely smiling faces from Bill and his wonderful team. If you want a high end small hotel in a great location. This is the place to go. Thank you for a wonderful stay in Key West.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dobbidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We've been coming to KW every January for several years now and the Almond Tree Inn was the first place we stayed. We loved it, but stayed other places in the subsequent years (Orchid Key and then several stays at the LaMer & Dewey House, which is part of the Southernmost Collection). While we loved the Southernmost property for its beachfront access, we have decided that we really do prefer the Almond Tree Inn. First, it's not as pricey. Secondly, the rooms are just as nice and slightly roomier. Beyond that, we really preferred being several blocks further north on Duval for better accessibility to restaurants and "the action". This hotel is small, quiet, very clean and VERY "Key West". The casual breakfast and happy hour was lovely and adds to the overall value. There is a great bicycle/scooter rental place directly across the street and the CVS next door was super convenient. Oh, splurge and get a suite. Much roomier and great little wet bar.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

we enjoyed the location, the green plants around the big pool and the attentive crew and we had a really great time there.
we did not like the smoking around the pool and the incredible noise of the air-conditioning outside of our room. (inside was ok).
we did not like the pieces of broken glass on the floor (probably hidden in the carpet). one was found in the foot of my wife. the other one next to our playing 6 month old! thats bad.
we also discovered that you can hear music thru the walls very well, so if you have duval street party people next to you, even earplugs wouldn't help.
but its interesting: if the overall feeling of a hotel is good, you easily tolerate those things and leave happy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fmfm1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The reviews are spot on. Meticulously kept grounds. Pleasant staff. Clean rooms. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Nice happy hour and breakfast offerings. Just steps from the quiet end of Duval Street. The pool was a little small but sufficient for a small resort. I have only one complaint. If you have a downstairs room, the upstairs noise is borderline unbearable. The people above us sounded like a herd of elephants. I was close to checking out and finding another hotel. It was that bad. I don't know what they can do to improve this but I'm not sure I would return if I had a ground floor room. But I have to say this is my only complaint. Otherwise, this place is great.

Room Tip: Do not get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canaligator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here 4 nights in a Queen Suite. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. This hotel is 1 block off of Duval a 15 minute walk to Mallory Square. From reception to housekeeping, the staff here was wonderful. New to Key West ? Not a problem. They were happy to make suggestions for dining or things to do, we got helpful hints and reccomendations at the wonderful continental breakfast that is served each day or the evening cocktail hour at the poolside "Olive Tree Bar". The staff even made a dinner reservation for us while we were out for the day even though there's no sign that says Concierge. Although not large by modern resort standards, the pool is clean and a great place to get some sun and read a book with tables by every chaise. As I said before, everythong is a quik walk down Duval. No restaurant but many of the great restaurants we tried were just 2 to 3 blocks away. On a previous visit, we stayed at a larger "full service" property down on front street. This place was much more friendly and a great place to relax !

Room Tip: First floor rooms had their own private patio area behind a fence/gate
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at the Almond Tree Inn. Terrific staff, the rooms were beautiful and immaculate. You could see the attention to details. Great breakfast hosted by the owner. The happy hour was a real plus. When you enter the gate you feel like you are in a little oasis even though you are steps away from the heart of Key West. We walked everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Shyne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Santa Maria Suites
Santa Maria Suites
#5 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Tree Inn

Property: Almond Tree Inn
Address: 512 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-3141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almond Tree Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Almond Tree Inn came to life in 2013 when we pulled together beautiful, green minded, and Made in the USA products from the top manufactures and designers in the industry. The guest rooms feature custom made furnishings, amazing showers, the latest in technology, stunning wood floors, luxurious linens, and beautiful artwork by local artist.With the ambiance of a secluded resort you would never imagine Duval Street is just 50 steps outside our gates... "Ranked #1 Hotels & Resorts in Key West by TripAdvisor with over 700 five star ratings" Winner "Certificate of Excellence 2011,12,13,14,15". Travelers Choice Award #10 Small Hotel in the USA 2015. Give us a call to book your stay and join us in Celebrating a New Almond Tree Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Almond Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Tree Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing