We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loud noise from second floor”
Review of Almond Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Almond Tree Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“loud noise from second floor”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The staff and layout of the king suite was quite nice. However, the very loud noise from the walking around in the unit above for each of the 3 nights we were there (even with different guests) was most disturbing such that you cannot sleep as it sounds as if a herd of elephants were walking around above. I would not stay there again unless I were upstairs.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a downstairs room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,377
    206
    36
    10
    5
See reviews for
275
960
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, CT
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were so happy to have found the Almond Tree Inn---a delicious respite in an otherwise crazy town. It was a little slice of heaven: so relaxing and well-kept with an amazingly friendly staff. How often can one say that about their hotel? We felt like the staff really cared about their guests. The extras of afternoon hors d'ouvres and drinks plus the attractively arranged breakfast was a feast for the eyes and the palate. We would definitely return and recommend this place to our friends.
The only improvement we would suggest is for a bit more lighting in the room (101) over the dresser so that you could see the make coffee better in the morning.
A side note---recommend the Square One restaurant for dinner right around the corner --an easy walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Wow. Simply wow. We stayed three nights and regret not spending our ENTIRE vacation here. A small inn, the grounds are lovely, the rooms modern and immaculate and the staff are wonderful. Special thanks to Sean for all the good suggestions on restaurants and outings. The breakfast and happy hour were great bonuses. Do not hesitate to stay. Worth every penny. Maybe more..... :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

After staying here for a week any other hotel from now on is going to seem...blah. Could write all day about this gem. They did a total gutting of the place last Oct. and completely went through the rooms and grounds and it shows! Impeccable! My son was married at the Hemmingway house last Thursday so about twenty of the wedding party stayed here. The staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was first rate. Many thanks to Shaun who made fast friends with our party. I would like to keep this place a secret but you have to give credit where credit is due and these folks ensured a return visit from me

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod-Lorie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed here with friends and family for my wedding and we absolutely loved the place. Rooms are super clean, the grounds are amazing, the location is wonderful and I cant say enough about the staff! I would give this place more than 5 stars if I could. Cant wait to come back for our anniversary!! =)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindsayValente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Deceptively nice little hotel with a terrific location close to all the action in Key West. It appears to be an old-style motor motel, but it has definately been upstyled. All the staff we encountered were friendly and obviously sincere about their work. We had a second floor king "suite", which is more like an extended room with a small seating area beyond the bed. The room was extremely clean and all furnishings were in good shape. It was also cool, quiet, and intelligently laid out, and the bathroom was top notch. Beds and bedding were good. The breakfast was simple, but well done and met expectations for the price and the Key West locale. The property has an attractive but small pool that is easly accessible by all rooms, and the small parking lot works fine (small hotel). Knocks are minimal. The TV is difficult to see from the "suite" seating area. The shower door design creates puddles on the floor. The elevator is a tricky kind of portable thing (but rather fun to use if one needs a lift). The front desk isn't staffed 24/7. All in all though, this hotel is very well managed and an exceptional value for the money.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewStart78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My family and I spent an entire week at The Almond in mid-December. The rooms were beautiful and the grounds were paradise. The pool and hot tub were one of my kids' favorite places to visit at the end of the day. The kind staff even let our kids feed the coi one afternoon. We had a queen suite for the four of us, and we had plenty of room ... the sofa even pulls out into a bed! They offer a nice breakfast of pastries, fruit, and yogurt. Happy hour is a lovely touch ... they have snacks and you can have drinks. The Almond is one block off of Duval, so the location is perfect for walking to restaurants and shopping. The shining gem of The Almond is the exemplary staff. They truly made our stay in Key West one to remember.

Room Tip: The lower level rooms have great access to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Tree Inn

Property: Almond Tree Inn
Address: 512 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-3141
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almond Tree Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Almond Tree Inn came to life in 2013 when we pulled together beautiful, green minded, and Made in the USA products from the top manufactures and designers in the industry. The guest rooms feature custom made furnishings, amazing showers, the latest in technology, stunning wood floors, luxurious linens, and beautiful artwork by local artist.With the ambiance of a secluded resort you would never imagine Duval Street is just 50 steps outside our gates... "Ranked #1 Hotels & Resorts in Key West by TripAdvisor with over 700 five star ratings" Winner "Certificate of Excellence 2011,12,13,14,15". Travelers Choice Award #10 Small Hotel in the USA 2015. Give us a call to book your stay and join us in Celebrating a New Almond Tree Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Almond Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Tree Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing