We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food”
Review of The Stoned Crab

The Stoned Crab
Ranked #130 of 450 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Stoned Crab is the only restaurant in Key West that has three dedicated fishing boats providing the chefs daily with fresh caught lobster, stone crab and other local sustainable species like Grouper, Hogfish, Snapper, Yellowtail and Cobia.You will not get fresher seafood anywhere in The Florida Keys.The bar at The Stoned Crab is a favored local hangout so there is always a fun crowd that keeps the place lively. No reservations needed. Free parking.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was our last stop after a week in the keys and it the perfect choice. Our waiter Steve provided excellent service and was a real pleasure to meet. We had the seafood bisque and a steak sandwich. It was the best steak sandwich I've ever had. The agio garlic mayonaise spread was heavenly. The rum punches were reallly great too. Will return again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank STJ_Waterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at The Stoned Crab, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

You had a great steak sandwich at a seafood restaurant! We are obviously well known for our local seafood, but a lot of people come to The Stoned Crab regularly for their land-bound favorites. In fact, steaks, burgers and pasta make up 30% of our sales. Thanks for making a good point. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,237 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

Not a gourmet, elegant place but one we will return to again for sure! For well-cooked fresh local seafood in a place comfortable for both tourists and locals, this is it. We came for the stone crabs and returned two nights later for the stuffed Florida lobster. All was very good. Jared was our server both nights and we too thought he was great. We'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BPinMEFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at The Stoned Crab, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

You zeroed in on our concept: deliver boat-to-plate local seafood in a comfortable waterfront setting. Nice and simple. And you are right about our customers; locals and visitors who come here, come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Went here on our last day in Key West. Wanted my boyfriend to try stone crab since it was in season. What a great choice! The menu was varied and reasonable, the service from Austin, our waiter, was attentive without being intrusive. Excellent food (And I am a former chef so I am picky!) The atmosphere was fun, without over the top tunes or decor. The "mascot" heron was fun to watch, and we left with a really awesome last meal in the Keys. Thank you thank you thank you! We both HIGHLY recommend this place, and if you can, request Austin :) Don't know what folks expect from reading the other reviews - stone crab is seasonal and there are certainly a variety of offerings on the menu if you want something less pricy. The portions are generous, the key lime pie is the best I have ever eaten, and everything is obviously fresh. Go for it, you won't regret it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at The Stoned Crab, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

To get stone crab to taste as good as you say, we do everything ourselves. My partner and his sons run two fishing boats and have 1400 crab traps set in Key West waters. They also catch our lobster and our local fish. If you are lucky you get to see them bringing their catch into the dock. You are a Chef so you know that's every Chet's dream. Come back and see Austin and us again. Thanks for your very nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Jared, our waiter, was terrific!! Very professional. He made our dining experience enjoyable because of his professionalism, attentiveness and kind demeanor. The food was very good as well so if you go to this restaurant and want the best dining experience, along side a very good meal, be sure to ask for a table in Jared's section.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SuzSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at The Stoned Crab, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

"Still waters run deep" is my way of describing Jared. His guests always enjoy his calm confidence and his charm. I will make sure he sees your review. Thank you for choosing The Stoned Crab and taking the time to recommend Jared too. I hope we see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Overpriced with a nice view of a busy roadway. This is not a sit down restaurant. We stopped for a quick bite due to its convenience. The prices were plumb loco. This is a tourist trap.

Thank Ding77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at The Stoned Crab, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

It's dissapointing for us when even one guest doesn't enjoy our restaurant. Because so many guests love it. I do know Key West is expensive compared to Portland, Oregon. Frankly, if we were overpriced, the "coconut telegraph" would soon stop Key West locals from coming back. They are the backbone of our business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stoned Crab also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Stoned Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing