We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cup Winners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Cakes

Key West Cakes
Ranked #5 of 6 Bakeries in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Delivery, Seating
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cup Winners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Found this place here on TripAdvisor. Their cupcakes were phenomenal! We probably could have shared one, they're massive. But the taste: was like diving into a milk chocolate pool, and then sunbathing on a chocolate sponge lilo! Best cupcake I've ever had in the States. Bar none. We went back for seconds, but they close on Sundays so we couldn't get another one. Something which my cardiologist says wasn't such a bad thing after all. If you like cupcakes and don't mind having to loosen your belt a notch, then go!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hotell_the_truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    16
    4
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Incredible Customer Service and AMAZING FLAVORS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We did tastings at a couple different bakeries in Key West, but we were completely "wowed" by Key West Cakes. From the moment we walked into the store and were engulfed by the aroma, to our onsite tasting (they provided all of the different flavor combinations for us to try, and even suggested that we try a cupcake when we asked for a different flavor), to the customer service after we booked - everything literally could not have been better. I prefer email communications, and Ava has been the kindest help to me! One of our guests is severely allergic to strawberries, and she helped me with alternate suggestions. Ava's efficiency, sense of humor and overall customer service skills are really impressive. I work in customer service myself, so I tend to be a harsh critic of other customer service employees - I would hire her in a minute!

Our wedding is next month, and I can't wait for our guests to fall in love with Key West Cakes! I would recommend them to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All 6 were great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Both my wife and I are "dessert people" with cake being our weakness. Key West Cakes did not disappoint. We stopped in and got 6 different cupcakes for us and our grandkids. They were all fantastic! Definetly will be back on our next trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delish!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had previously ordered cupcakes for my wedding in 2010 from Key West Cakes and every tropical flavor we had was yummy. My guest really enjoyed them as well. So my husband and I decided to stop in the shop during our latest visit. I picked the cannoli cupcake and the peach cupcake. They were massive and so delish!!! Can't wait to go back for more next visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dinx4563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Birthday cupcake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We found Key West Cakes on our last visit. I love the huge cupcakes with the frosting in the center. We had to get a birthday cupcake for my sister to take to the beach. Everyone is so friendly at the store. They even gave us a candle to put on top. It was hard to choose because they have so many flavors. If I lived in Key West, I would be there once or twice a week. Yum!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wannabeconch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Cakes also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Key West Cakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing