We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Key West

“Favorite place to watch live local music and great food”

Smokin' Tuna Saloon
Ranked #47 of 461 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Bustling, open-air hangout featuring 2 bars, local seafood & live music on the courtyard stage.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

Every time my husband and I visit Key West, we always go to the Tuna for the music to see Caffeine Carl play. It is always great to watch him play with Zack Seemiller and also George Chapman. They also have other acts on earlier in the late afternoon which are always fun to catch. Their menu has a nice selection of appetizers if you would like something to eat while you catch one of the performances. You can't beat this place if you want to see live music.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NJSusan-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfit22017, Owner at Smokin' Tuna Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Thank you NJ Susan! Team Tuna, Caffeine Carl, Zack, George and the rest all appreciate your feedback. One With The Tuna! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 78 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2019 via mobile

Wanted to try the Tuna which has the reputation as some of the best on the island so we did and they werent lying. We ordered the Smokin Tuna Melt and the grilled Mahi sandwich. The tuna really is amazing and the Mahi was wonderful. Loved the fact the seating is tucked in behind the buildings so things were quiet and a respite from the busy Duval St. traffic. Definitely a place to visit.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank C1447MGchrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfit22017, Owner at Smokin' Tuna Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Team Tuna thanks you for taking the time top review! Chef Bill Hunt always amazes everyone with his food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019

Smokin' Tuna has to be one of our favorite places to hang out at night in Key West. This trip we went several times and enjoyed every visit as they were all different depending on music and crowd.
We went for an early dinner and Robert was an excellent server and took great care of us. Drinks were served fast and so was the food, and it was very good. One night was an after concert party, and a different crowd and music.
I was even able to watch the Stanley Cup Finals one night sitting at the bar chatting with Erin...the best bartender there in my opinion.
If you get the chance, go see Caffine Carl & the Buzz..awesome music. We will be back again.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grumpyh2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfit22017, Owner at Smokin' Tuna Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2019

Thank you so much! Team Tuna will love this!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019

If you go to Key West this place should be on the top of your to do list. You need to make sure Erin is your server! She is the most hard working and kindest lady you will ever meet. A true Louisiana lady. Then there is her husband....Caffeine Carl. He is such a talented guitarist. The best we have ever seen and we have seen a lot. Do yourself a favor and make sure you go to Smokin Tuna Saloon when in Key West.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokinTuna, Owner at Smokin' Tuna Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

Thank you Tom. You are spot on with all of this! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019

Alan at the Smokin tuna was phenomenal!! He was slammed and the only person by his self and took such good care of our table even ent back and gave us fresh jalapeños! The drinks, Alan, and the food was amazing! Alan should most definitely get a promotion!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokinTuna, Owner at Smokin' Tuna Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

Thank you Angela. Yes, Alan is a true rock star!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' Tuna Saloon also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Stock Island, Florida Keys
 

Been to Smokin' Tuna Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing