We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, better atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of smokin tuna saloon

smokin tuna saloon
Ranked #44 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Smokin Tuna Saloon "There's Something Fishy going On "The Best Kept Secret in Old Town Key West Beautiful Key West Eatery and Bar in Old Town Key WestGrilled Mahi Mahi, Shrimp Ceviche, Conch Fritters, Spicy Tuna DipKey West Style Compound Canopied with Banyon and Ficus Trees 2 Tropical Outside Bars. Outdoor and Cool In-Door SeatingWorld Famous Apparel Gift Shop Featuring Local Artists Live Entertainment Daily
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
206 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good food, better atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited because of reviews on Tripadvisor. It's tucked back a bit just off Duval and really quite beautiful when you get back there. We had drinks and dinner - my husband had the Tuna with Wasabi Sauce and I had the Mahi Mahi Fish and Chips. Good on both - not great... The music is fun and the whole place just screams party. Worth stopping for at least music and drink -

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    272
    114
    33
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The drinks are cold, the food is blah, the bartenders and wait staff are surly, however, the live music and open courtyard atmosphere makes up for it. If the owner/manager could hire friendlier staff, the place would rock.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelby1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first visit to this bar and we loved it. Would have never seen it if not for the Off Duval Pub Crawl, but we will be back many times. Might be right off the street, but worth the visit. Great outdoor patio and the best drinks we had all night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AZmijewski1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Phenomenal place in Key West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

this is honestly one of our favorite spots in key west. It's tucked a bit off Duval and therefore has a great vibe....a lot of locals...mixed with fun visitors...great entertainment...great food...excellent drinks (Bombora Vodka is my favorite) and very friendly staff. It's an oasis among the craziness of Duval.

One time when we were there...Lee Brice got up on stage and played. It's a wonderful spot. Highly recommend the White Bean Tuna Chili.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Msbombora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped in here 3 separate times, mostly because we like the atmosphere. It is basically a courtyard with tables and live music. We stopped in for drinks alone twice, and dinner once. Food, service, and music was good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresamichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed smokin tuna saloon also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to smokin tuna saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing