We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Wicker Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wicker Guesthouse
Ranked #55 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

It is located in the middle of everything. The rooms are spacious enough for three people. Jennifer was so accommodating, it made our stay that much better. It was comfortable. It was walking distance to shops, restaurants, and many other attractions.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank V T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    211
    93
    75
    60
See reviews for
141
303
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights in the smallest room. It was tiny, but had a fridge and a tv. Great location and the pool area felt secluded and private from busy Duval. Didn't see any bugs in the room while we were there and the whole place seemed very clean and well
kept. We never made it to breakfast, so I can't comment on the quality of that. I would stay there again for this price, it was completely worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewM2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed the week after July 4th 2013 starting on 7/8/13 to 7/12/13. All I can comment on is room 12 which was a VERY cozy room with old school flavor.
BATHROOM: CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN! We just loved the raised bathtub/shower and the ceiling fan in the bathroom. Sounds silly I know but the ceiling fan was a nice touch for drying off after bathing. The towels were awesome, ultra clean, in abundance, and folded quite nicely on the racks. The only complaint I have on the bathroom, which is very minor, is the toilet is so close to the wall that you are glad the wall next to it is clean.
ROOM: The room was CLEAN. The bed was made up nice. Although we are used to sleeping on a really nice mattress, this one seemed to be somewhat stiff in comparison but this isn't home, right? I'm not complaining because it is what it is and it was nice and clean. There was a sink, dishes, microwave and small fridge. Be prepared because the fridge is weak and doesn't cool very well. Our entire stay, we had to keep filling up the pan in the bottom of the fridge with drinks and ice to keep them cool. Which by the way, they have a nice large ice machine in the lobby that never ran out. Again not really complaining, it is what it is. The TV in the room was a small, cheap, low resolution flat panel=crappy. But it had plenty of channels and we only watched it to fall asleep. The room also had a ceiling fan and window unit air conditioner that was built into the wall. In July with the ceiling fan and the A/C running it was sufficient enough to want to turn it off at night because it worked that well!!
FACILITIES: The entire grounds was nice and clean with LOTS of tropical plants and trees!! We really liked that the pool was open 24/7 and it was exceptionally clean and the temperature was just right. We spent a few relaxing nights around the pool with nobody around it seemed. There was also a grill for you to cook out on and several tables and chairs around the pool and grounds to just relax. We were suprised to see a little playhouse for the kids that we left home to play in. Lol.
BREAKFAST: Much better than we expected actually. No there's no hot bacon or sausage or eggs but SO WHAT! There's a Dennys one block down if you're that picky! They did serve coffee(with various flavored creamers), orange juice, and milk. Along with various varieties of cereal and different flavors of instant oatmeal. There was plenty of fruit and yogurt and muffins. Also there was a toaster set out with a large container of toaster waffles, french toast, and bread for toast. As well as all the condiments you could ask for, like individual serving packets of various jellies, peanut butter, and syrup. I was so happy to get my peanut butter covered waffles drenched in syrup!!
And another notable thing about breakfast was that there was staff continually monitoring it so when ANY item ran low, they brought more out so there was plenty for everyone!! I was impressed that they cared enough to do this.
PARKING: Sucks!!! But this is no fault of Wicker House, this is Key West!! If you happen to get a parking space at the facilities then there you go. If not, then you'll have to search for parking. Hint: We parked on Truman just north of the hotel in front of the St Mary Star of The Sea church on the east side of the street facing north. The parking out front of this church is free 24/7 with no limit. We even left to explore the upper keys on a couple different days and still found parking in front of the church.
Overall this was an excellent place to stay and the price was very reasonable if you aren't looking for a 5 star luxury hotel and want an old school place to relax. We loved it!!!
As far as people complaining about the crowds and noise and roosters, we never heard NONE OF IT! It was sooooooo relaxing we just didn't want to leave.
Hopefully you enjoy your stay, WE DID!!

Room Tip: Room 12 was awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tourasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed a Wicker House over 4th of July weekend and I was fantastic. Randy at the front desk was great, he was friendly and made sure we had a parking space! the hotel is so charming and "Key West". The location is on Duval St in the middle of the action half way between Mallory Sq and the Southernmost point. The other great thing about WH is that as centrally located as it is.... when you go back to your room or the pool you cant hear all the noise from the street. Very relaxing by the pool. The best of both worlds. Another bonus... The air conditioning was COLD- so important for a Key West Hotel in the summer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APAX152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Wicker House has a ridiculously small place to park and because it was so small and hard to get back into, we had to walk so we wouldn't have to try take the risk of hitting another car when driving out. The area it is in is okay, but in needs better rooms. The rooms have a small refrigerator that doesn't work very well and the beds had ants under the pillow. Also, on the last day of staying in our room, there was a huge cockroach on the floor. Luckily, it was flipped over and couldn't move. We asked for a refund, but we would not get our money back. An okay place for somebody to visit if they don't care about any bugs or quality of the place, but if you want to stay at a nice place stay somewhere else.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirby I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key West hotels

Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

definitely recommend the place, will go back without doubt. the place is right in the middle of all activities within walking distance of the shops and restaurants. the front porch is awesome, you get to watch people and enjoy the shade if the sun and heat are strong. Suggest to get the bike to ride around, it was the most fun. you get some exercise and enjoy the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here June 24 - 27. We were fortunate to have a room on the second story overlooking Duval Street with a front porch, two rocking chairs and other chairs. If we were not visiting Duval Street and area or by the pool we were on the front porch chilling in the rocking chairs and people watching. The room is small but we did not spend a lot of time there. We found the large bed to be very comfortable. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room. The breakfast includes cereal, oatmeal, Danish's, bagels, English muffins, French toast, waffles, wheat bread and yogurt as well as hot tea and coffee. I found the entire property to be very clean and well maintained and the front desk very accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 1 or 2 as they are the second story overlooking Duval Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachvlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#60 of 77 in Key West
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#51 of 77 in Key West
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Duval House
The Duval House
#44 of 77 in Key West
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wicker Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicker Guesthouse

Property: Wicker Guesthouse
Address: 913 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7407
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wicker Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Hospitality Inns is a family of Key West accommodations. Family-owned and operated since 2006, our properties suit a wide range of guests and families.Our four properties are meticulously maintained and located in the heart of historic Old Town Key West. Ideally located, our accommodations are within walking distance of countless restaurants, shops, art galleries, beaches, Mallory Square and mile-long Duval Street.Within our family of accommodations, we have four unique and distinct properties. Whether you are seeking a quiet, romantic, secluded stay, or vacation rentals for a family retreat, we have you covered. Our properties include a tropical bed and breakfast on Duval Street, a cozy inn near the beach and Southernmost Point, a historic “Conch” house, and quaint vacation cottages and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Wicker Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wicker Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing