We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duval Street Gem”
Review of Wicker Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wicker Guesthouse
Ranked #54 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nice little B&B place with some rooms facing Duval street. We had two rooms in the back. Beds could be newer but otherwise room was comfortable. Heated pool and adorable cats in the center where you also got a healthy breakfast. Plenty of parking and you never need to use the car during your stay, or at least we didn't. Head down the street to watch the sunset from the roof top of the hotel where Starbucks is located.Spectacular.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing Duval Street to get a good nights rest.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CzSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
There are newer reviews for Wicker Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 663 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the wicker guesthouse with our little girl and it was very easy to walk everywhere. When we arrived we were greeted by Kellyan the lady at the desk who is well rounded i must say, even though the phones were ringing off the hook she acknowledge us. She also gave us extra amenities for our room while housekeeping was gone. The pool area is nice to relax, nice breakfast and adorable cat.
We will be coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karnela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicker G, Manager at Wicker Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for visiting us on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your comments and will share your appreciation with kellyon! We are delighted to hear that you are planning on coming back to visit us and don’t forget that repeat guests get 10% off their future stays!

Sincerely,
Wicker Guesthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We only stayed in Key West for one night on this trip, and wish we had stayed longer. :( The stay at The Wicker Guesthouse was nice, but would have needed another GOOD night of sleep to give it a 4 star review.

Positives:
1. & 2. Location! It is right on Duval Street. No need to take transportation anywhere within town. Everything was within walking distance.
3. Cozy feel/cute rooms--a "house" kitty, cute hand painted signs and wall by the pool, and just a welcoming feel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and because we got there before check-in, they held our bags in the office so we did not have to leave them in the car.

Negatives:
1. The breakfast is set up in an odd way and left us feeling like we were bumping into others. Also it was outside which was not ideal for the morning we stayed there as it was pouring rain.
2. No night security. There is a locked gate that prevents randoms from getting into the property, however on the night we stayed an obviously wasted couple (screaming obscenities at the top of their lungs and verbally threatening each other) were outside our room. We did not contact the police as we didn't want to get involved, and they would have heard us as the walls are thin and our windows were open.
3. The bathroom was very small, no exhaust fan, and the shower took a long time to get warm.

Overall we would stay here again, just hope that other guests are more respectful in the future...

Room Tip: Room 7 was snug. Not really a good place to put luggage, you almost have to unpack. The bathroom i...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingBrianandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicker G, Manager at Wicker Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor! We were delighted to read that you had a “Great Stay on Duval!” We appreciate your comments regarding our staff members and we will ensure that we share your gratitude with them.
We wish that you could have stayed longer and had another good night of sleep. We apologize for the other guest’s behavior. That is not typical behavior at our property nor do we permit it. Our property always has a staff member available overnight so guests can contact them if needed.
The Wicker Guesthouse has various room types available. The “small queen room” is one of the smallest rooms available at our property with a small bathroom. You may want to think about upgrading to a standard room with a king bed or deluxe room during your next stay. That way you will have more space and a larger bathroom. Remember, repeat guests receive 10% off of their next stay!!

Sincerely,
Wicker Guesthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We made our second trip to Key West for a week over the Christmas holiday of 2012, spending a full week at Wicker Guesthouse. First off, you can't beat this place for location. It is right on Duval St but near the center of the island where it is relatively quiet at night. You don't need a car since the location is so central and you can walk to all of the places you'll want to visit and still be able to sleep at night.

Wicker Guesthouse is a solid guest house with comfortable and clean accommodations. We stayed in room 22 at the rear. It has 2 nice skylights, a large shower and a mini-fridge. There is also a deck/balcony with four chairs that we shared with Ernestine, the friendly resident cat. The pool area in the central courtyard is very private and the landscaping is quite lovely with palm trees and tropical plants surrounding the entire courtyard. There are tables with chairs and lounge chairs available in both sun and shade to enjoy the breakfast, swimming and socializing with the other guests. This place attracts a lot of foreign guests so take some time to chat. Breakfast is simple and adequate with coffee available til early afternoon.

Finally, the staff at Wicker House is great. From the front desk to the housekeeping staff, we found the people genuine and gracious. I would recommend the Wicker Guest House and we'll stay again when we return.

Room Tip: Roos around the pool would be my preference. If you want it even quiter, go for the second floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicker G, Manager at Wicker Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for visiting us on Trip Advisor! We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Wicker Guesthouse. We look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Wicker Guesthouse Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Wicker Guesthouse over the New Year's Holiday. We too, were kept awake by the music playing all night (see the guest's review below). The staff did get it fixed on the second night. They said they were "sorry," but didn't seem to understand how bad the situation was.

The location is great. Great people-watching for all from the chairs on the front porch!

The staff was nice, but we didn't get the family feel that you normally get from a B&B. They just check you in and check you out.

The property is an interesting and old collection of buildings. Our Key West King room was only slightly larger than the bed itself. There was very little storage and we spend most of our time living out of our suitcases. The entire place was clean, but clearly showing its age.

The worst problem was the bed itself. The matress was rather tired. However, the bed frame made a loud squeak every time you moved, rolled-over, or took a breath. That, coupled with the music problem (above) and thin walls that carried every sound, made us very happy to be back home!

The Breakfast was "OK" with Juice, Coffee, Begals, Rolls and Cereal.

We will look elsewhere for our next trip to Key West!

Room Tip: If you want to stay away from the all-night street noise, avoid a room at the front. If you want to...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_Mrs_Scooters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicker G, Manager at Wicker Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your response. We sincerely apologize if the music was an inconvenience to you. The volume was never increased throughout the day and was playing at its normal level. The staff had not received any complaints throughout the day regarding this so we were unaware that the music was an inconvenience to any of our guests. We wish that this would have been brought to our attention immediately so we could have turned the music down or off if needed. Our guests have always enjoyed the music by the pool so we did not realize that this was an inconvenience.
We appreciate your feedback regarding your bed. The mattresses are fairly new so we have contacted the manufacturer to inform them of the information that you have provided us. They have replaced the bed so that all of our guests may sleep comfortably.
We hope that you give The Wicker Guesthouse another opportunity when you come back to Key West!
Sincerely,
Wicker Guesthouse Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Wicker is not the worst place in the world. It's centrally located, and it's reasonably charming. The service, on the other hand, is awful. On our last night, someone at the hotel forgot to turn off the radio which was blasting at full volume through speakers by the pool, which happens to be right next to our room. There was no one around at the hotel to talk to and the radio itself is locked behind a door so there's nothing we could do about it. It continued to blast oldies all night long and deprived us of a single minute of sleep.

By 3 in the morning, after several attempts to fix it, I walked around desparately and found a phone and an emergency number to call. Someone picked up and had me call again from my international cell phone (which cost a fortune) so that they can walk me through the complicated process of getting the key to the door and finally turning off the radio.

Needless to say that our entire night was ruined and with it the entire next day which pretty much put a damper on our entire vacation.

Worst of all, when I complained the next morning at check-out they showed absolutely no remorse and the lady just shrugged her shoulder and said "eh, sorry, it happens". A halfway respectable place would have at least offered to refund us the compeltely ruined night that they caused. Unless you're a fan of ruining your vacation, I would highly recommend that you avoid this place and look elsewhere. There are plenty of other nice places in Key West.

Room Tip: Get a room at a different place!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ramy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicker G, Manager at Wicker Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

We have reviewed your response and we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences or miscommunications that you may have endured. The room that you stayed in is the most requested room at our property so we were surprised with your response and would like to clarify a few of your concerns. The music that plays around the pool area has never been played loudly or to its full capacity. It is normally turned off at night due to conservation efforts since we are recognized as a green lodging facility. We sincerely apologize if this was an inconvenience to you.
Our facility has a staff member available all night to assist guests if needed. We wish that you would have brought this to our attention immediately so that we could have resolved your concerns instantly so that you would not have been inconvenienced.
We understand that you mentioned the music being played overnight by the pool to the front desk agent at check-out and that she apologized for the inconvenience. We apologize if she did not realize that you were requesting compensation by mentioning this.
Our staff strives to provide all of our guests with excellent customer service and this is demonstrated and complimented in most of our reviews. We apologize if our staff did not meet or exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Wicker Guesthouse Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This bed and breakfast is located in The middle of the happenings in Key West "Duval Street". Great room, nice and clean, tropical decor, spacious and comfortable accomodations. The Breakfast by the pool was very nice, a great value. My only complaint is parking, we came late so we have to look for parking somewhere else, no a biggie since parking is limited in Key West! Overall a great experience! We will be back

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ollereen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#42 of 77 in Key West
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#53 of 77 in Key West
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#60 of 77 in Key West
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.1 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#13 of 77 in Key West
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#15 of 77 in Key West
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wicker Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicker Guesthouse

Address: 913 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7407
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $170 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wicker Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Hospitality Inns is a family of Key West accommodations. Family-owned and operated since 2006, our properties suit a wide range of guests and families.Our four properties are meticulously maintained and located in the heart of historic Old Town Key West. Ideally located, our accommodations are within walking distance of countless restaurants, shops, art galleries, beaches, Mallory Square and mile-long Duval Street.Within our family of accommodations, we have four unique and distinct properties. Whether you are seeking a quiet, romantic, secluded stay, or vacation rentals for a family retreat, we have you covered. Our properties include a tropical bed and breakfast on Duval Street, a cozy inn near the beach and Southernmost Point, a historic “Conch” house, and quaint vacation cottages and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wicker Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wicker Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing