We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and pleasent stay.”
Review of Wicker Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wicker Guesthouse
Ranked #55 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Mount Carmel, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful and pleasent stay.”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed one night. Very nice. Beautiful. A little age on it but still great. Loved our room, pool,etc. Front desk gentleman was sweetheart. Continental breakfast could had a little more, maybe some protein. Lounge area with ice machine, fridge,mini kitchen was definately a plus. Would have loved to stay more than 1 night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    209
    92
    74
    60
See reviews for
136
301
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Found this place on line and it did not disappoint me on arrival. The room was more than adequate although I had a room on the side of a building that has a restaurant next door-can be a bit noisy late. Breakfast outdoors was a nice change of pace. All of the staff were most accommodating in all apsects. The location is great for easily getting to everywhere in Key West. Overall, it was a good deal for the price. I have already recommnded it to others

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKBRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Took my elderly mother to Key West and chose Wicker Guesthouse for it's location. It is within walking distance to many things and a short walk to the Trolly. We had a wonderful stay. The Wicker Guesthouse is an older, Key West style hotel. We found it quaint and relaxing. Our room was clean, and the bathroom had been updated and was very nice. We had a nice kitchenette in our room. Only complaint was water pressure. Sometimes the shower would run cold or hot on you. But not a big issue. The Continental breakfast was fabulous. They served it on grounds near the pool. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Somewhat pricey, but we found anything in Duval St. vicinity to be so. We had a wonderful stay and would go back again.

Room Tip: We liked our room on the 2nd floor in the back, called the Treehouse. You could see the pool from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lensmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you like to stay in a filthy place, then this is the right place for you!!! Our room had plenty of cockroaches, red ants, and bed bugs! We itched all night. A totally disgusting experience and place to stay. Also, there is no parking. So, if you are planning to have a nice vacation, don't waste your money on this place!!!! They will ruin your vacation. :(

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 8Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicker G, Manager at Wicker Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
This family stayed with us for 4 days!!! If guests are ever unhappy with our guesthouse we offer them a refund the remainder of their stay so they can stay somewhere else if they so wish. They also received a FREE night through our Summer Special. We receive so many great reviews because we strive to make our guests happy and enjoy their stay. Two weeks prior to their arrival the room was redone. It received 2 new mattresses, a new AC unit installed, new bed comforters, new balcony furniture and a new door. We offered to show the guest these receipts when they complained. To address some of the things in the review:
- We do NOT have bed bugs! Vengeful people tend to throw around bed bugs this day in age because it's a scare tactic and just plain mean for a property that strives itself on bed bug prevention. All of our rooms have protective coverings/encasements around the mattresses and box springs. So, it's not even a possibility to have bed bugs since we protected every one of our mattresses and box springs.
- We actually parked their car for them 3 or 4 times. So, I'm not sure how parking was a problem for them. The wife said she wasn't comfortable doing it and the husband has vision problems so we offered to park their vehicle in the back for them (close to their room).
- They complained about ants. Within 45 minutes we had our exterminator here to check the room. When we checked the room with the exterminator they had soda spilt on the counter and an open bag of chips.
The guests told our front desk employee that he wanted to talk to our General Manager so he could, "straighten her out." After talking with our GM he said he would call every BBB, Trip Advisor, Yelp, Chamber, etc. until he got a full refund. After our GM said it wasn't a possibility he said he'd settle for a partial refund.
This guest just wanted a cheap (even free if possible) vacation and is using untruths to try and achieve it. It's sad when people hurt family run/local businesses like this for their own gain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key West hotels

Longwood, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The courtyard area with the pool, Magnolia Tree and Jasmine had an intoxicating fragrance whenever we would come back to our room (#22) which was in the back and had an awesome jacuzzi tub and a very nicely updated bathroom and a little kitchen. All-in-all a nice place to stay right on Duval street near The Hemingway House but further away from the crazy loudness by Sloppy Joes.

My biggest complaint is that they did not clean our room at all one day.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back will be best because they are away from the noise of Duvall Street. Also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ban Chang, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed in a standard room in a quiet area of this hotel, room 22, which cost $135 a night - quite expensive by our usual budget! Most of the accommodation in Key West was around this price or more.
If you booked a cheaper room, or one near the pool or breakfast area it would not be so pleasant! - make sure you ask to be away from these areas as the pool is open 24 hours a day.
Our room was lovely - roomy, comfortable and very clean. The staff were pleasant and cheerful.
The location is ideal - central and easy walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

If you are going to key west, stay away from the Wicker Guesthouse. Absolutely abominable in every aspect. Terrible customer service, terrible communication. Heed my advice, pass on the Wicker Guesthouse. Don't even take a the chance in staying here, there are plenty of places on Duval and plenty of places in Key West that are better spots than Wicker Guesthouse!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaxJax13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Wicker Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
This guests never even stayed with us. If you read his review you will notice that he does not mention one thing about the actual property...because he was never here.
He made a reservation online and then 2 days before his arrival he decided to cancel by saying he never even made the reservation. We have asked him 3 times to provide us with his credit card statement or any documentation. He never gave the information to us and has not called us back to settle the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#60 of 77 in Key West
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#52 of 77 in Key West
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Duval House
The Duval House
#45 of 77 in Key West
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#16 of 77 in Key West
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wicker Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicker Guesthouse

Property: Wicker Guesthouse
Address: 913 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7407
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wicker Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Hospitality Inns is a family of Key West accommodations. Family-owned and operated since 2006, our properties suit a wide range of guests and families.Our four properties are meticulously maintained and located in the heart of historic Old Town Key West. Ideally located, our accommodations are within walking distance of countless restaurants, shops, art galleries, beaches, Mallory Square and mile-long Duval Street.Within our family of accommodations, we have four unique and distinct properties. Whether you are seeking a quiet, romantic, secluded stay, or vacation rentals for a family retreat, we have you covered. Our properties include a tropical bed and breakfast on Duval Street, a cozy inn near the beach and Southernmost Point, a historic “Conch” house, and quaint vacation cottages and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wicker Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wicker Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing