We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place To Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Speakeasy Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Speakeasy Inn
Ranked #19 of 86 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Place To Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I've stayed at many B&B's and hotels in Key West and The Speakeasy is now my absolute favorite! The location is perfectly situated right on Duval, yet it's on a quieter end. Our room couldn't be any better located on the side of property with it's own outside table and chairs. The room was very comfortable for two and provided a frig, microwave, coffee maker and sink. There were even utensils provided, as well as coffee and bottled water. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom had plenty of space. The breakfast was excellent and had something for any type of morning eater from cereal, fresh fruit, fresh bread, ham, coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice. We were given complimentary drink tickets upon our arrival for their infamous Pain Killer. OMG, Bahama Bob knows how to make an excellent drink! We sat on the front porch and people watched while sipping on pain killer's. Frieda and the rest of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful! As long as there is vacancy I will not stay at another place when I visit Key West!!

Room Tip: For couples ask for the room on the lower level on the left side of property. Easy access to street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SATown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    41
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
223
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, ME
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent a week here in mid-March, 2013. Our room was big, comfortable and clean, lots of towels. It's down at the quieter end of Duval, a couple blocks from the beach, which we found to be better than advertised. In fact, the restaurant that's right on the beach at that end of Duval ended up being one of the best we tried all week. There are several over-priced places that just don't deliver, so look carefully at menus. Anyway, the people at Speakeasy were terrific,someone was always in the office, they always helped us with directions, recommendations, a taxi, fresh beach towels every day. The Rum Bar is cool, too, with a great rum selection. It's mot too big, and not a noisy gathering spot for college kids, tends to attract an older crowd. We' go back!

Room Tip: We liked 3B, bottom floor back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thinman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We've been to KW a few times and we finally found our "home". The accommodations of the Speakeasy Inn were perfect from the wonderful bedding to the nice decor and towels. The breakfast had some wonderful homemade breads as well as a nice variety of fresh fruits, hard boiled eggs and good cereals. OH and the coffee was superb. Every single one of the staff made us feel welcome and warm. We had room 1A and it was nice to just sit on the front porch overlooking the happenings of Duval Street. The inn is located at the quieter end of town with the beach just a small walk away. The nice thing was that we didn't hear any of the bar noise from down below which had me a bit nervous about going to the Speakeasy but my fears were put to rest the first night. We miss our buddy, Matilda, the semi-resident cat who would stop by and visit us time to time. This is a must stay for all of my friends that come to KW as well as ourselves from now on.

Room Tip: Rooms are perfect and located on the quieter end of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjc1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Staff was the best what more can i say. Me and my partner where staying at La te da (which we love as well!) and decided to stay an extra night and they where full so they recommended The Speakeasy and I am so glad they did. We had a wonderful stay the place is fantastic and the staff are so very nice and helpful. We spend a lot of time in Key West and will be staying with at The Speakeasy again. By the beds where like haven the best we have ever sleep in except for our own at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuaneJ536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying here for over 6 years, and each time it's better and better. Rooms are clean, quaint and very Key West! Somewhat loud, but it's right on Duval Street, so that's to be expected. Continental breakfast is perfect! Staff is friendly and will go out of their way for guests! Barbara even cooked us extra cookies and put them in our room because we told her they were so good! What a nice touch!

Rum Bar is great! Bahamas Bob and bar staff top-notch, and don't forget to try the Pain Killer! It's delicious! Sitting on the patio, sipping a cold drink and people watching is the best!

Thanks to Barbara and staff for, once again, a quality experience. Will come back again and again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank airgirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our room was big and bathroom even bigger! A rarity in Key West. The staff went over and above in making sure we had what we needed from parking to water in the room. And the Rum Bar right up front was a great start/stop place on the days itinerary. It was great to have a fridge/freezer in the room as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaTPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed upstairs in a back room - like others have said it's a bit less street noise. The Speakeasy has an excellent location between the busy part of Duval and half way to the beach sides. The room was clean, the bed was comfy, we had a small kichenette with fridge and microwave and chocolates on the bed. Both the owner and Barbara the manager were friendly and informative - I'm sure they've been asked the same questions many times and you could tell they were proud and pleased to talk about all the experiences in Key West. Breakfast is served in the Rum Bar before it opens and we enjoyed meeting fellow guests and comparing stories of our days. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor have a balcony too so you can sit out 'over' the masses rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cleverstar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages
0.0 mi away
Douglas House
Douglas House
#37 of 86 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Old Town Manor
Old Town Manor
#9 of 86 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 86 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.6 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#8 of 86 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speakeasy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speakeasy Inn

Property: Speakeasy Inn
Address: 1117 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Speakeasy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have suite one with three separate bedrooms and suite three with two separate bedrooms. Rooms two and four are single bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Speakeasy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speakeasy Inn And Rum Bar Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing