We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Speakeasy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Speakeasy Inn
Ranked #7 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Will be back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

As soon as we arrived they made us feel at home. The room was better than any resort hotel. The bed was beyond comfortable. Have the rum bar downstairs and sitting outside people watching was great! After being there a half hour we were thinking of ways to stay here for good!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnPaul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    47
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
272
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My Husband and I have stayed there three times and absolutely love it. The staff is so friendly and accommodating.

It's on the quiet end of Duval and we found ourselves coming back to the hotel early at night so we could enjoy their delicious drinks on the porch. Best Mojito and Bloody Mary on the Island. The rooms are spotless and every morning they offer a great breakfast with fresh squeezed OJ, fruit, rolls, etc.

The only thing is, if you're looking for a pool they do not have one. However, the beach is within walking distance and the Southernmost Mansion has a pool you can lounge for $10 for the whole day and that comes with a towel and a ticket for a drink.

All in all you will not be disappointed! The manager Barb , Jill, Bob, Scott and the rest of the crew are just fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We didnt stay here but went it for drinks when walking duval st. All 4 in our group lived our cocktail ( mine a hurricane) and thought the atmosphere and staff were great!! We also liked sitting out front with our drinks! Relaxing!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GriswoldsNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Great establishment. Rooms are incredibly nice, clean and the beds are amazing. The location is perfect, on Rival, but not loud. And the Rum Bar is a destination bar for anyone who enjoys booze. From someone in the industry, this place is obviously run top to bottom by people who care and know what they are doing. Rare to find.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaddyBlake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Speakeasy. The rooms were clean and service was great. We loved the breakfast. There was a nice variety of foods. Everything was fresh. The only caveat was the uncomfortable sofa bed in room 1 C.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the speakeasy inn this past weekend and had a fantastic time! Our room was fantastic.. very open, bright and clean. Service was great and they even provided us with water in the refridgerator! Having the Rum Bar downstairs was very nice as well, all the bartenders we delt with were great and they made great drinks! Would love to come back some day, thanks so much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay but the daytime bartender Bob is rude!! Talking to a couple about great drinks in Key West when he got upset! Didn't want us talking about other places while drinking there! Got really upset and pointed at us saying don't sell other places drinks while in my bar!! If his drinks were good enough they would sell themselves! Don't drink the Mojitos there! Not too good! But the rest of the staff is amazing!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyin2hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speakeasy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speakeasy Inn

Property: Speakeasy Inn
Address: 1117 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3156
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Speakeasy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speakeasy Inn is a landmark building located in the Boutique and Gallery District of Duval Street where you can shop or walk two blocks to the beach or a short stroll to world-famous Sunset Celebrations in Mallory Square! This landmark's recent renovation has preserved the original 19th century spirit of Old Town Key West. The decor in these spacious and airy suites is tropical and features hand-crafted queen beds and tables made from original 1876 pine recovered from our recent renovation. It has been restored to perfection, just for your pleasure. Each one, two, or three bedroom unit has a feeling of true Key West ambiance. You'll find collectibles taken from treasure hunts on our tropical island paradise and Havana, Cuba. Guests who require special consideration will find "accessible" units available. Amenities include kitchenettes equipped with a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker, toaster, private bathrooms, a large screen HD T.V., free WiFi and outdoor seating areas. We also offer a complimentary continental breakfast, free samples of our famous Painkiller cocktail and discounts on drinks at The Rum Bar! The Speakeasy Inn was the home of Raul Vaquez, who was a cigar selector at the Gato cigar factory. Raul's true passion was rum-running between Key West and Cuba. It's in that spirit that our lobby features the Rum Bar open daily from 11am to 12pm (or later). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Speakeasy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speakeasy Inn And Rum Bar Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing