We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for a honeymoon in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The perfect place for a honeymoon in paradise”
Reviewed June 21, 2009

My husband and I just got back from our honeymoon in Key West, where we spent 5 nights at the Southernmost on the Beach. Not only was it one of the most affordable resorts on the island for what you get, it was downright beautiful. Our room was immaculate, and looked EXACTLY what the pictures look like of the new rooms. The pool and green area were a great place to relax, and the dock even has steps down into the ocean where people snorkeled in about 4 feet of water. Though we didn't get to eat at the restaurant right there at the beach, we did enjoy several drinks at the bar, and did get to rent a surf board where we paddled out into the water for a good hour of relaxation.

The location is about a mile to a mile and a half from Mallory Square, but it was nice to come back to the quiet end of the street at the end of the night. The concierge was ready to give us tips and even book our sunset cruise for us which was a great help since neither one of us had vacationed there before.

I could go on and on about how much we enjoyed our vacation, but to sum it up, we will go to SMOTB every time we go back to Key West!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,001
    1,107
    347
    136
    73
See reviews for
1,110
3,389
88
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,197)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

I just got back from a week at the Southernmost on the Beach and cannot say enough about the hotel. We were greeted by wonderful hotel staff from the front desk (Hector) to the pool (Gizella). We stayed in the newer King oceanview rooms and have never felt so comfortable in a hotel room. They were clean, large, and I wish I had that shower and bed here at home. The pool was great and the Southernmost on the Beach Cafe was excellent. We ate there alot and everything was delicious. Kathy and Brian were great servers and we had alot of fun with them. Our flight out was cancelled and we were given a room across the street and the Southernmost Hotel and did not like that nearly as well. The staff was just as wonderful, but the hotel needs to be updated. I will definately stay at the Southernmost on the Beach again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmackDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We chose this hotel after extensive comparisons. Great previous reviews, free breakfast,on the beach! and free parking won us over. We were not disappointed. We stayed in room 416. Very nice! King bed,pvt patio which is enclosed with lattice type fencing. Nice for outdoor "recreational activities". I would go for any room on the second floor for privacy .They cost a bit more but worth it. Rm 420 is the furthest from the top of the stairs and was told it is the same. Forget the first floor (rooms 414 ,415) unless you don't mind breakfast and staff traffic.Good breakfast .Tasty Belgium waffles & quiche. Beautiful tropical grounds. Bldg staff great. Bar staff needs people skills. Beach is nice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racso12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

This is a great group of hotels! The veiw from our ocean front room was spectacular. The room it self was very nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. Unussualy large amount of storage space ,which was very nice since we were traveling with two small children and all the stuff that goes with them.
The hotel complex had three pooles between the two hotels, all of which were very well maintained. My only complaint in this area was the music. Im not a fan of modrn music and would realy have liked it if the pool next to the TIKI bar had played more "islandy" feelling music. That said the smaller pool (still very nice) had no music at all so you could always go there for a quite swim.
The staff at The Southern most was excelant! Very freindly and always ready to help!
Great range of room prices depending on veiws. All with in a few steps of beach or pools! Southern most on the beach is a little more expensive than the reg. southern most, because its on the beach. But the original Southern most is just across the street and im sure a good bet
Also the hotels are right around the corned from the reasurants, shops and bars.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kissesac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We just returned from a family vacation to southern Florida and the Keys. My wife and I met in Miami and visited the Keys many times. We decided to take our teenage kids back to show them where we met. We wanted to be near the activities of Duvall Street, but still have some privacy. The Southernmost on the Beach Hotel met our needs. I agree with the other reviews, that the hotel was clean, the pool was great and the location was within walking distance of everything. Our reason for posting the review was the misleading advertising of an ocean view room and the way we were treated when we questioned it. We booked an Ocean View room for $329 a night on the hotel website. When we arrived we were given room 524 which was at the farthest end of building B from the ocean. To see the ocean you had to go out on the balcony, look 90 degrees to the right and you could see a 10 yard wide view of the ocean about 300 yards away. We could not believe this was the ocean view so we went to the front desk and were told that was it and that only a few King bed rooms faced the ocean. The next day we went up on the balconies of building C to find that they all had a panoramic view of the ocean. We went on the web site and found that they advertise both an ocean view and a partial ocean view room. We went back to the desk with a different person to relate our findings and again were told that our partial view from the balcony was the ocean view. It is obvious when you see building C that our view was not ocean view and the fee we paid for this ridiculous view was also much higher than the fee listed for a partial ocean view. We gave up a room at our time share with the HIlton, to pay for this partial view. Our reason for posting this review is to caution everyone about the definition of ocean view. We would suggest that you specifically ask how much of a view you will have and from where if the view is important to you and you are paying for the view. Outside of this disappointment and the rude way we were handled, the hotel lives up to its billing.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We recently spent a relaxing weekend at Southernmost. We booked an ocean view room, not one of the newly remodeled rooms, but still beautiful! We were in room 605 overlooking the pool and the beach. It was very clean and the view was spectacular!

I can't say enough good things about the hotel staff. Everyone we had the pleasure of dealing with was friendly and helpful. We truly felt pampered. Brain who supplied us with beach chairs was great! He brought us towel-cicles, sprayed our feet with cool water and gave us a cup of frozen fruit to enjoy. All of it made a very HOT day more pleasant.

The location is wonderful also! It's nice to be on the quiet end of Duval St and the walk to Mallory Square is easy. The only suggestion I could possibly make would be for the hotel to offer room service. It was nice, however, to have a small fridge in the room.

Our time at Southernmost was not nearly long enough so we are already planning a return trip!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

I can not compliment this hotel enough. First, the location is perfect. The hotel is on the water with a beach and while being in Old Towne Key West but at the quiter end of Duval St. This is the best of both worlds; on the water and within walking distance to the Key West attractions. There is also a very nice pool. Second, the hotel rooms were clean and comfortable. We stayed in the older section of the hotel and it was very nice. Lastly, the staff were great and the Conceirge was very helpful. There are also, onsite bike and scooter rentals which we took advantage of.

Great trip...great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hartsja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing