We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
McHenry
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary Trip”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Southernmost on the Beach for three nights and had a very nice experience. The staff is friendly, the rooms were beautiful and very nice, and the location is excellent. We stayed in a room described as having a "distant ocean view". When we first got to the front door we were confused as the ocean was not on sight, but upon stepping in the room and looking out the window there was the beautiful ocean. We ate at the Southernmost Beach Cafe twice and were very pleased both with the more formal dinner menu and the casual lunch options. We would definitely consider staying here again! :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clings323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am pleased to read you had such a nice time during your anniversary trip. Your kind words for our staff members and our award winning Southernmost Beach Café are most appreciated and I will be sure to share them. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,001
    1,107
    347
    136
    73
See reviews for
1,110
3,389
88
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,197)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had a fantastic time staying at this hotel for 4 days. The room was very comfortable and the price of food and drink in the bars and cafe very good for this standard of Hotel. The location at the quieter end of Duval Street was perfect for us and gave us a great walk in the evening up to the great night life at the other end of Duval St.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am very happy to read that you had a fantastic time with us during your 4 day visit to Key West. Our goal is to provide exceptional customer service for all of our guests and I am pleased we were able to do this for you. I hope you will return to us if your travels should bring you back to Key West. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We just returned from a fabulous experience at Southernmost on the Beach. Our accommodation was more than expected, the food, service, and cleanliness beyond reproach. The concierge was helpful and gave us great recommendations on where to get good key lime pie--the hotel's on the beach restaurant being one of them. We were surprised to find a hand written birthday card for my husband's 70th as well as some goodies. They definitely went above and beyond to make my husband's special day, SUPER SPECIAL. Big thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am so pleased to read that our staff was able to make your husband’s 70th birthday “super special”. I love to read when our staff members go above and beyond to make our guests’ stay exceptional. I hope you and your husband will visit us again soon and again, thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was our first trip to Key West and we were not disappointed. We are so happy we chose to stay at the La Mer Hotel and Dewey House. After initially choosing a garden view room in the Dewey House we then upgraded to an ocean front room (404) in La Mer. The view was terrific! The room is right on the beach and so we were a bit concerned about noise and privacy. However, those fears dissipated right away. The room was lovely and quiet, and we enjoyed the proximity to the beach, and to the breakfast and tea area. We loved the ease of breakfast each morning (the waffles were excellent!), and took advantage of afternoon tea as well. Sam and Randall were friendly and gracious hosts and made our stay very relaxing. We chose to stay here for the B&B feel but still having access to 3 pools and bars throughout the larger Southernmost properties. The location of the hotel is quiet, but within easy walking distance of bars and restaurants. All of the staff were friendly and accommodating and the resort property is well done with plenty of pool chairs, umbrellas, hammocks, and activities. We will return!

Room Tip: 404 is an ocean view room on the first floor right on the beach. If you want a little more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

For us, this hotel was an ideal location. Enough off the beaten track but only a block away from Duval Street. We stayed at the Dewey House which was quite nice. Went across the street to get Cuban coffee every morning which I now miss having. Access to the beach was ideal. Don't expect to see the sunrise because you are facing south.. Sunrise will be on your left! :-) Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Second floor at the Dewey House
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Once again, stayed at the La Mer and enjoyed every moment of it. We had the advantages and conveniences of the Southermost Hotel while enjoying the privacy and peacefulness of a B&B. Breakfast is fresh, delicious and plentiful. Staff is terrific. The Southernmost Cafe has a terrific server named Ron (Opppps - or was it Don?) And Sam Messier is so welcoming and makes us feel like family. She is a great asset to this property.

Room Tip: Second floor with a balcony is a very good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great place, great views, great accomidations and fabulous food. I agree with previous writers, close enough to walk to the action but secluded enough for quiet! Overall very nice hotel! Pricey but worth it.

Room Tip: Do the upgrade to a room on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed our convenient location to downtown Key West and our quite, secluded grounds. I am also pleased that you took the opportunity to enjoy our award winning Southernmost Beach Cafe located on South Beach. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing