We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only Place I Will Stay in Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Only Place I Will Stay in Key West”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a belated review from spring break, but wanted to share because this hotel was so great. We booked the hotel across the street and they upgraded us to the beach side. This hotel is the best in Key West. It has it all: several bars, a gorgeous, huge pool, an ocean view, hammocs, beach chairs and fun places to lounge throughout the property. There's also a really nice fitness center. The rooms are so beautiful and we had a nice ocean view. It really is a piece of paradise. We were also able to get an early check in. The staff at the front desk was great. Also ,you can walk anywhere you want to go: Hemingway house, Mallory Square, Southernmost point, etc... I only booked this place because it was all that was available in Key West on a holiday weekend. It is expensive, but sooo worth it.

Room Tip: Try to book the beach side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocoabeachgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort – better late than never! I am happy to read that you had such a great time with us during spring break. Key West can certainly be a little boisterous during that time but it sounds like you were able to enjoy the serenity of our property and the fun of downtown. We hope you will have a chance to visit us again! Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,796
    1,049
    324
    123
    69
See reviews for
1,041
3,207
76
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,155)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel was great. The moment we pulled up we knew we would love it. The size of the room was great and loved having a balcony to go out to. Staff was helpful with suggestions and engage in conversation. Never had a problem getting a chair at the pool (even though it was crowded) or on the sundeck pier. Good Happy Hour specials and casual food fare. Short walk to town and all the restaurants that we wanted to go to uptown.Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are so happy that you had a wonderful vacation with us and enjoyed our helpful staff, lovely room, pools and pier. We are very lucky to be close to the central hub of downtown Key West but far enough away to provide our guests with a peaceful retreat. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated and we hope this means we will see you again. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Southernmost on the Beach hotel. Their services were excellent and the location of the hotel is perfect for walking around Key West. The rooms were large and well equipped, the pools were great and it was a nice add on to have the private beach at the hotel. Would recommend it for all my family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandrathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am very pleased that you and your family had such a nice timer with us. Thank you for your words of recommendation, this means a lot to us and we certainly hope you will visit us again in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very comfortable bed and breakfast style rooms on hotel grounds that make you feel special. Close to pool and beach and Duval street. excellent food and a very pleasant staff. The only issue was the air conditioner in the room was on the noisy side but nothing that a few Rum Runners before bed time could not fix.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikerj0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Level Contributor
194 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Cant really understand the many positive evaluations about this Hotel (which looks more to a Motel, instead). This is a quite big construction built around and on the top of a parking place. They pretend to offer you an ocean view while the view is surely on the parking. The rooms are ok, but the (small) terraces are one agains the other at a few centimeter distance. Forget the two beaches: the big one is very dirty (in the morning it was a truck removing the seaweeds) with a brown water; the second one is not a beach, while a beton terrace covered by sand. Furthermore the ac is extremely noisy and the reception at the arrival was ice cold. This place doesnt' merit at all the (big) money they charge you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FabioDaGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort you experienced during your stay. Our property does offer our guests several different types of ocean views and I am sorry you did not enjoy the view from your balcony. The public beach can suffer from windy conditions and when the ocean becomes churned up debris can wash up on it. We try to combat these elements by cleaning the beach twice a day and it is unfortunate the weather was not more ideal while you were visiting. Your feedback holds value for us and we want to assure you that we are following up with all relevant departments so as to improve our services for all future stays. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed from Friday-Monday for our nine year wedding anniversary. When we first arrived in our room, we were greeted with a bottle of champagne on ice. I had purchased a anniversary gift for my wife that I wanted delivered to the room with some fresh strawberries. I went to the front desk to make the arrangement. The gentleman at the desk advised that I needed to give 48 hours notice in order to get fresh strawberries. I found to be a little disturbing, however Miss Julie Rodriguez was standing close and overheard my conversation with the desk clerk. She she immediately came over and offered her assistance. Within 15 minutes Miss Rodrigues had made arrangements to have strawberries delivered for me from an outside store. She further arrange for a Bellman to deliver the strawberries and the gift that I had purchased to the room. This is exactly the type of service that is expected and she should be commended for her commitment to customer service.

On our second day we spent a couple hours pool side. We ordered nachos and chicken quesadillas. The nachos were soggy when they arrived. We also had dinner that evening in the café. The food was okay at best. And the service was lacking. Our waitress made the excuse that they were shorthanded for the evening. We did not go back.

As for our room, I think the room was perfect. On our last night the air-conditioner had broken in our room. upon calling the front desk maintenance arrived within 10 minutes and immediately replace the unit with a new one, total time was under 30 minutes.

The only real negative to the property location is that it is a moderate distance from all the action on the Duval st. If you are looking for a quiet place I would definitely recommend southernmost on the beach. I am giving it four stars and not five because of our experience with the food. To the office staff, maintenance staff and concierge (miss Rodriguez) you guys do a great job.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I'm pleased to read that our staff members surprised you with champagnen to help you and your wife celebrate your 9th anniversary! Your lovely compliments for our concierge Julie are greatly apprciated and I will be shure she knows of them; she does a fantastic job helping our guests with thier special requests. Thank you for sharing you expereince at our Southernmost Beach Cafe. I am sorry you expereince there was anything less than fantastic and I will be sure your comments are shared with thier management team. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed four nights. By friday night it was very expensive. But our room was pristine and new, beautifully groomed grounds and property right on the water. Nice little sandy private beach area. I felt the restaurant (serves breakfast, lunch and dinner) was really good. The prices were comparable to better restaurants in key west and the food didn't disappoint us. Private pier to sun on and steps right into the water to snorkel and swim.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m very pleased that you and your family had such a nice time lounging on our tanning pier and snorkeling in the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. We are very lucky to be situated at the Southernmost Point of the United States and surrounded by beautiful blue waters. We hope you will visit us again if your travels should ever bring you back to Key West. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
1,612 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing