We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West at it's best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Southernmost was convenient to all attractions, yet not in the middle of the noise. Rooms & views very beautiful. Pool area & entertainment by the pool was fun. Had breakfast everyday at their restaurant on their beach and was a great way to start the day!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krunch16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to read that you had such a wonderful time with us and enjoyed your room, our location and our award winning Southernmost Beach Cafe. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,114 - 3,120 of 5,836 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

I don't normally write reviews, but this place is so wonderful, that it provoked me to write one. The biggest reason why I think it deserves 5 stars is because it is in the perfect location, and the rooms, and Dewey House are just enchanting. I could leave my room and walk right onto a pretty beach, watch the sunset, or watch the water washing over the sand under the moon; and you have access to the Dewey house night and day, whether you need internet access or want to relax, drink tea, have breakfast, it even open ups to the beach.

Amenities, services and features you might expect in every other stay were also exceptional:
- The staff is lovely, friendly, helpful, polite, when we arrived, someone even showed us around the property, gave us maps, a cab number and snacks
- The room was spacious, with the most comfortable bed, lovely wooden furniture
- Robes, beach towels, water are included, they even leave chocolate on the pillows after housekeeping
- You won't have to worry about cleanliness, I have never seen a cleaner room or bathroom
- Parking is included in the price

If I return to Key West, I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have loved the Southernmost on the Beach hotel. We have stayed 3 years in a row and have been exceedingly happy all of those years. However, they have been bought by a big corporation and the prices have gone sky high. We still paid last years prices this year because we booked before we left the hotel last year. When we checked in last week we were told that the room that we paid $377 for goes for over $900 now. Well, that is a little higher than the actual price, I think, but it has doubled! We can't justify that price!

Room Tip: West lawn King rooms are fabulous if you can spend $800+.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JackiJ422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. It is regrettable to read that you feel you will not be able to return to us in the future. Our resort has undergone many improvements over the past several years to offer our guests the most luxurious experience possible. It is not our intention to disappoint our guests but rather it is our commitment to exceptional customer service that drives us to ensure that every guest has the time of their life while with us. I hope there may be other travel date options you can chose from to visit us again in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was our second visit to The Southernmost on the Beach Resort. We brought our kids this time and had an excellent family vacation. The grounds are beautiful, right on the ocean. The pools are relaxing, often with live music. The service staff at the pool are excellent and the resort activities staff make it feel more comfortable, like you're at family camp. We had an excellent week long vacation and will return next year. Excellent service, great accommodations and convenience to Duval Street made this a great destination.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am so glad to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to returning to us next year! We strive to provide exceptional customer service for every guest every day and we are very pleased to know we could do this for you. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is one of the most memorable places that I have ever stayed and I must say I have been to 47 of 50 states throughout my lifetime. The staff makes your stay feel as though you're the only ones that they have to take care of during your visit. The Hotel itself is set on the most breath taking properties in the keys,as for the shopping and dinning it's beyond words.Sunsets and Beaches along with the Southernmost Hospitality makes this a trip your family will want to make every year. Thank you for your beautiful accommodations Southernmost employees and staff, Sincerely Mrs.Janetta L Boarman (Williams) 316 Hale Ave. # 28-F Owensboro, KY 42301

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janetta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Mrs. Boarman, Thank you so much for writing your lovely review of our property. We are so pleased to know that your travels brought you to us and that we were able to provide you with such wonderful memories. Your glowing comments regarding our staff and their desire to make sure you visit was exceptional are truly appreciated and I will make sure to share them with all staff members. We hope we will have the pleasure of hosting more of your yearly family vacations and help create more lasting memories. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I got to spend a few days here in March, and my only regret is that we didn't stay longer. It's at the quiet end of Duval Street, yet convenient to all the touristy areas and restaurants. We used the pedicabs to get around since my husband has mobility issues; however, the able-bodied can easily walk to points of interest. (Next time, we'll rent bicycles and save a little money.) The room was nicely decorated and comfortable (although my husband found the bed too hard). My only complaint was the air conditioning unit was the type that you find in old motels - there's no thermostat, so it's either constantly blowing or completely off. The constant noise from the unit was a little irritating. The food was good, the atmosphere welcoming and relaxing. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We are very happy to read that you and your husband had such a nice time with us. Your comments regarding the A/C unit in your room are greatly appreciated and I hope you will contact me with the particulars so we can have the unit assessed. We look forward to having you both with us again in the future, hopefully when you’ll be able to stay longer! Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Everything about this hotel could not be faulted (though someone would probably find something to moan about). We had a room over looking the ocean and the extra cost was well worth it, the rom was very comfortable we'll furnished, but the main selling point is the location, stunning sunsets, lovely beach clear blue water, heaven

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank steve3861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are happy to read that you had such a wonderful time and found a little piece of heaven here with us. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again and thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $289 - $758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing