We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“My new favorite hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Southernmost Beach Resort to your Saves list
Southernmost Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct and Save 20%
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“My new favorite hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We loved this hotel! From the time we checked in, Michael was extremely helpful as our flight got in very late. The room was so nice & a great view. Loved the balcony even though we didn't get much time out there. The shower especially, was so rich looking we couldn't stop talking about it.

The pool was my favorite part, we sat out for the whole day, played some BINGO and got some sun. Our bartender Megan was awesome & made us feel right at home! She even found other Boston people & introduced us to them. There was also a spot with a filtered water machine so we could refill our water bottles anytime. This ended up being a huge plus for us!

The next day we got to the pool a little bit later and it was packed. We didn't get a spot and were annoyed that so many people were "holding" lounge chairs but they were nowhere to be found. We ended up sitting out on the private beach in the back which was nice and quiet. There was a woman there with her top off, which we thought was weird because there were children around, but hey I guess you can do what you want on your vacation!

There were tons of places to eat right across the street which was perfect. This was our 2nd trip to Key West so we knew all the bars were down the other end of Duval. It was definitely a walk especially late at night, but I'd choose hotel over any others regardless of location. Great, friendly staff, nice rooms and just an overall awesome experience. I've never felt so at home at a hotel so we are already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeaMotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,183
    830
    234
    96
    52
See reviews for
791
2,655
57
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,009)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I happen to live in south FL and decided to take my aunt from Argentina to visit Key West for her 70th Birthday. What a wonderful experience we had at this hotel! The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The room was spacious, had a great view, and was impeccable. The hotel staff was very friendly and informative. The beach Cafe next door is a great place to grab lunch before venturing out to Duval street. Loved the fact that I didn't have to pay for beach chairs nor parking throughout my stay. The staff made my aunt feel extra special by giving her a Birthday card with some free drink vouchers inside. I have traveled the world and have stayed at all sorts of hotels and I can honestly say that this one is a keeper:) The sunrise ores from this hotel worth waking up early.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbay ,Roatan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The accommodations are perfect and the rooms are beautiful. There are several different types of properties in this hotel as it is comprised of many B nd B's and smaller hotels that were bought up and renovated as one large property. The service was splendid. I have been going to this property for many years.

Room Tip: Ont he 3rd floor are the suites. We always stayed there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovergirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Can't say enough about SMOB....top notch in location, cleanliness and courteous staff! Worked with Carolyn to make a reservation for 6 nights for our 35th wedding anniversary stay (which was also our first time in Key West so we splurged on an oceanfront king - highly recommend it!). Room was immaculate and just as pictured on the website. We had a corner wrapping private balcony, 3rd floor....very quiet and relaxing in the evenings. Can't say enough about the beautiful sunrise views from our bed every morning! (I miss them so much!) We also were surprised with a bottle of bubbly and anniversary card waiting for us - extra special touch for our celebration week and much appreciated : ) The hotel's Shores Cafe was convenient and we had several delicious breakfasts, lunches, snacks there....the Key Lime Pie is fantastic! The pool is large, a popular place anytime of day and very laid-back. You feel like you're hanging out with family : ) Didn't use the spa services, so cannot comment. If you're looking for a place away from the evening party atmosphere of the louder areas of Duval Street, yet within walking/shuttle distance to them and many other attractions.....this is the place for you! Looking forward to a return visit to Key West and SMOB!

Room Tip: We had 3rd floor corner room in Bldg. A (sees sunrises in October/November). Room 640 had it all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We decided to Honeymoon in Key West and at this resort based on its reviews and the fact we had always stayed on the north eastern part of the island. Choosing this hotel was the best decision we made by far! From check-in through check-out the service was impeccable! The employees go out of their way to ensure the experience is world class. The hotel itself is the closest thing to a resort like atmosphere. You can literally spend all day long poolside and will be able to eat/drink like a king and participate in various activities that the resort offers all day long. Who knew that Bingo (poolside) could be made fun! On that note, Mike the activities coordinator truly adds something that I believe makes this resort top notch. Very few hotels in the area offer this accommodation.
The only concern we had was its location. Most places are within walking distance, but getting to sunsets (Mallory Square) and the northern area of Duval street (where all the action is) requires about 20 min walking and is not ideal for everyone. The staff is great about getting taxis to you quickly and it does not cost much to get your up north. ($8-9). Keep in mind that this resort does not charge the resort fee like many hotels on this island. It saved us $20/day.
We will always look at this hotel first when we decide to come back to Key West.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aprec32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Southernmost represents Key West at its best. The decor, location, super friendly staff, poolside luxuries and excellent accommodations are just some of the most enjoyable factors. We stayed with a group of party people and we all looked forward to relaxing at Southernmost after hitting Duval street. We won't forget Rhonda, Mark, Ryan, Omar, Tim and several other Southernmost employees that made the stay special, entertaining and simply perfect. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RABIDWEASEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I got married this past weekend at Southernmost on the Beach Hotel and it was by far the absolute BEST choice for a venue and hotel possible. All of our 40 guests raved about the wedding, the hotel grounds, the food, and the service. Most of our guests stayed at either Southernmost on the Beach or Southernmost Hotel and were so impressed with everything. The grounds are gorgeous and immaculately kept-- there are so many beautiful places to relax on the property, from Adirondack chairs to hammocks to the three pools and beach. All staff with whom we interacted (wedding event, concierge, housekeeping, service) were friendly, professional, and responsive. We ate multiple times at the Southernmost Cafe (as well as held our rehearsal dinner there!) and were impressed with the quality and selection of food and drinks. The overall best thing about this place is how relaxing it is.... I couldn't imagine anything nicer, actually. HIGHLY recommended!!

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean view room at Southernmost on the Beach- great views and we loved the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psu109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#12 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing