We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Lovely Property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southernmost Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
st louis
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Location, Lovely Property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We found this spot on the quiet end of Duvall to be perfect for us. The resort offers several options in pools, bars, and on-site activities. We ate breakfast at the resort restaurant twice and thought that it was a good value. We asked about an upgrade at check-in and traded our single King room with no view for 2 Queens with a distant ocean view. We were very pleased with that trade. The rooms are not large but comfortable for two people. For the price I was expecting a bit more luxury but lodging in Key West is expensive and we were very happy overall. I look forward to returning the Key West and another stay at Southernmost on the Beach.

Room Tip: "Deluxe rooms" look out at the parking lot. This site is way too pretty to settle for tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cardsfan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,695
    1,023
    310
    122
    68
See reviews for
1,003
3,130
71
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here 10 years ago and loved it then when it was a quaint little hotel with the only beach in Key West but now it has grown to a beautiful, comfortable resort. I had one teeny remark to the hotel about a food item at the bar but don't even want to add that blemish here because you really can't find a nicer staff, more comfortable room (and bed!), great poolside entertainment and wonderful ammenities and offerings. It's probably the best location on the island as well for access to restaurants, Duval Street and some tourist things too. Thank you, great stay, really wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Stay on the main pool/beach side, best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachTraveler Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here first time and loved it! Had stayed at Southernmost Hotel across street and that was excellent, too.
We are Tim and Erin--stayed in Building B with king ocean view room with balcony--room634. Gorgeous, comfortable, roomy, and partial view of ocean but wonderful. Everyone friendly, helpful. Clean throughout. Cafe right next door has great food and fun atmosphere.
Highly recommended and we will be back!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if has balcony if you want that. these are very nice accomodating people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poetzmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I've been going to Key West approx. 2x per year for the last 28 years. I have stayed at a lot of different resorts on the island. We were given a gift certificate for this resort and stayed there for the first time this weekend. I have to say, it was the absolute friendliest resort I've stayed at. Starting with Larry at the reception desk - he was so congenial, funny and accommodating. He totally went out of his way to help us with a glitch with the gift cert. Our room on the first floor on the ocean side was spacious, clean and charming with the window seating. The pool activities were fun as well as the live entertainment. James at the pool bar was very friendly and made us feel very welcome at his bar. We had a small problem with our TV service and Sean came to our rescue and even came back 30 mins. later to ensure that everything was still running fine. The restaurant on premises is fantastic, we had breakfast there both days. All in all a wonderful 2 days and I can honestly say that the Southernmost is definitely my favorite Key West resort now.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

After arriving in key west In a whim & checking out of few other places in town - we ended up booking in here. We stayed for three very relaxing nights - rooms are immaculate & facilities are excellent. My only gripe was that the walls are somewhat thin between rooms as we could hear our neighbours television. But otherwise I'd say the best place to stop in key west.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pongo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m glad to read that your whim lead you to our resort and that you had such a relaxing time. It is disappointing that your room did not live up to your expectations as you could hear your neighbor’s television; perhaps they had needs that required the volume to be turned up a little louder. Our lobbies are open 24 hours a day and we encourage every guest to contact us if there is something we can do to enhance their stay. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to sharing our commitment to exceptional customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the rooms and grounds. The only thing that stopped this from being a 5 rating was that one of the selling points of the hotel in their advertising is the extra savings that you get like free parking, free beach chairs, etc - this is definitely a great deal, but I have to say that it really was irritating to go to the beach, get our free beach chairs only to be told that if we want to sit in the shade under an umbrella that we had to pay $10 - seriously, this should be free too, as to charge for it when everything else is free is kind of pitiful. It is certainly nice to have the other freebies, but come on.

Other than that, the rooms were top rate, very nice and very clean. The pool area was very nice, with beach chairs and umbrellas (free at the pool). The bars were nice with music during the day on the weekends. The hotel is close to everything and they even rent bikes right on the property (totally worth the price!). If you are planning on exploring Key West, especially up and down Duval street, having a bike is the way to do it. The beach is very nice and it was cool to watch the pelicans fishing. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again, and if the hotel would get rid of the charge for beach umbrellas, well we would be 100% happy!

Room Tip: The west lawn rooms are very nice with excellent views - 2nd floor for the view, 1st floor if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MdntRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m happy to read that you enjoyed yourself while with us. Thank you for your thoughtful comments regarding South Beach, the public beach adjacent to our hotel property. I apologize for any misunderstanding or misinformation regarding our guests’ privileges there. As a public beach there is a charge for all lounge chairs and umbrellas to the public however, as a courtesy we are able to provide the lounge chairs complimentary to our guests when they show their room key to the attendant. I do hope this will not prevent you from staying with us in the future as it sounds like you had a very nice time. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Absolutely loved it here. The wife and I extended the trip 2 extra days and just loved it. Top notch knowledgable and friendly staff. Great location to stay. Far enough from the hot spots on Duval for tranquility but close enough to walk there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing