We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach boy on South Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southernmost Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beach boy on South Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Flecther, the beach boy on South Beach at the Southermost Resort was tremendous during our resent stay there. He was helpful, friendly, and courteous to all. His energy was impressive and he was one of the many bright spots of our visit to Key West.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clint1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,701
    1,026
    310
    122
    68
See reviews for
1,003
3,136
71
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minooka, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I booked a four night stay at Southernmost and we absolutely loved it. It was our first time in Key West and we wanted to be in Old Town, but not too close to the Duval Street bars. A two-day pass on the Old Town Trolley let us explore all we wanted.

Back to the resort. Our room was impeccably clean and comfortable. The resort is top-notch with pristine grounds and excellent staff. We enjoyed the tanning pier where you can get a steady breeze off the ocean and take the steps down to the water to cool off or snorkel. Unfortunately, we were to busy to take advantage of all the resort has to offer so we will have to leave that for another time.

Room Tip: We were in Building A at Southernmost on the beach and it was near the beach and fantastic. The firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JKP_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I travel to Key West often we usually rent a house for the month but this was a quick trip with friends and we had little time to plan. Being familiar with the island I always stay in old town and hotels book quickly.
We decided on this hotel because we had never stayed on the beach side and we felt our friends would enjoy a more "island" feel.
This hotel did not disappoint us. The rooms were nice, clean and included a small refrigerator for store bought drinks etc..
I will admit when we first arrived and opened our doors the familiar beach hotel smell was there I call it the damp smell and if you have ever stayed on the beach you know what I am talking about. We left our door open for a bit and all was well.
The grounds are very tidy and there are hammocks everywhere, the pier has chaise lounges and umbrellas, the beach chairs on the actual beach are complimentary for hotel guests.
You can snorkel and paddle board right there off the beach the water is typically clear and calm. The pool overlooks the ocean as well. Towels are available at the pool.
You also have access to the sister property next door that has a Tranquility Pool, meaning no live music and you must be 21 to be at the pool. This pool had nice lounges (with cushions) and towels and is quiet and relaxing, the Pineapple bar serves this pool while the Sand Bar serves the main pool.
Our rooms were called partial ocean view but we had a clear and direct view of the ocean and the beach. Right outside our door was a lawn with brightly painted chairs and hammocks.
The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and the "spa" even though they have only one treatment room is well managed.
The food was great we had a lunch and a breakfast at the Southernmost on the beach and we were very happy with service and food.
We rented a boat for the day through the concierge and it was lovely, bikes can be rented as well as golf carts.
Being familiar with the area I feel this hotel is appropriately priced and a great value.
Be advised: Some very popular Key West restaurants and some retail and shopping close after labor day and do not open again until October.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChloeWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is pricey but actually worth it . It has multiple pools including a quiet pool for adults only. The small restaurant on the beach is very good and the bars at the pools are outstanding also. The beach is quite small and has to be cleared periodically of seaweed. This did not detract from our visit as the pools were so nice. The location is near the "southernmost point of the US" marker which can be good or bad depending on who you are. Even though it is fairly close to the southern end of the infamous Duval Street we found that we were constantly taking cabs (we had no car) to the restaurants and many attractions on the northern end of Duval street where the evening festival is held. Just be aware of that especially if you don`t want to walk long distances in the heat. On the positive side, this is a more civil, quiet, peaceful area which is especially appreciated on the weekends when most of Duval street goes absolutely wild. The cabs are per person (I think 3 dollars or so) per ride downtown and they have many minivans so a family of 5 would pay 15 dollars. Not too bad. The staff are top notch. I would definately go there again if I were visiting Key West.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stillwatercove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Love Key West wish I could have stayed longer. Next time I go and I will it will be for a week ..oh the neat shops. The service was great. The shop workers are fun. Even down load a pic of granddaughters and me an out on a shirt. I wanted to see so much more . The sponge man was cool. I just can't wait till I can go back and stay longer . So many more thing I want to see and do there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimical65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I vacation in KW a lot, and this is the first time I traveled to the other end of the island. I thought I was going to be disappointed, but it was a great time! The distance was no problem, because we rented bike. I can't remember the the concierge's name, that gave us that idea, I want to say Michael. Everyone was so nice, and really made us feel like princesses! It's a fun hotel, but also quiet if you need it to be. From the moment we walked in, Tanner made sure our room was in a spot where we wanted it. Carrie was the best server ever, she made sure our glasses were always full, and really made us feel welcome... She was by far, the best! Eric's job was maintenance, I think, and he was still helping us get what we needed. The pool attendants made sure our rafts were blown up, and at check out Larry stored our food for us till we were ready to leave. Even the cleaning staff was friendly and helpful with information! And I wrote Jose, the bellman's name down... Really, it may have been bc he was just adorable, and a great face to greet you in and out of the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deven715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at SMOTB. It was nearly perfect - clean, modern, good value, nice layout (resort and the room), fast check-in, friendliness and responsiveness of all staff, activities (cornhole, ladders games, ping pong, 3 bars - 2 poolside, 1 oceanside) and 3 pools. Not everything is at SMOTB - some are located across the street at the Southernmost Hotel, which is not far. We absolutely loved the Tranquility pool, for adults only, which was a wecome reprieve from the wild pool basketball games where relaxation was a challenge. There were always plenty of beach towels, and loved the nice variety of outdoor furniture (lots of roomy hammocks, adirondack chairs, chaises, table n chairs, adjustable umbrellas) scattered throughout the resort. We tried the spa for a couples massage, which we enjoyed very much.

We also rented bicycles through the resort, which was so simple and inexpensive. They were in great shape and came with baskets and locks. We've not had that same experience at other resorts. We recommend bikes for KW, just be careful of traffic and car doors that open without warning.

What was missing was a hot tub anywhere on the resort. Even though it was hotter than Hades during the day it would have been nice to relax our weary walking bones in the evening in a nice hot tub. Also would have liked to be able to take our own beverages into pool areas. Lastly, this is advertised as "on the beach", but there are no rooms directly on the beach. There is a small portion of beach NEXT TO the resort, which is accessed via gate off parking lot next to one of the pools. This is also where the cafe is located. There were 2 weddings on that beach during our stay, which made for somewhat limited access. This was ok for us since we prefer the pool anyway, but for others that may be significant.

This property transferred ownership the last day we were there. It would be hard to improve on service and we sure hope the facility doesn't slip in quality and value.

One other consideration: SMOTB is at the opposite end of Sunset Pier, Mallory Square and the busier nightlife end of Duval Street. This is great if you are looking for the quieter side, and it is true that Duval is walkable in less than a half hour so it's not bad. Next time we will try staying on the other end.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view may have just a sliver of a view. There are a few rooms that look diectly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LGGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing