We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this resort! Everything was amazing! Beautiful rooms, friendly staff, and short walking distance to most attractions and restaurants. We will definitely recommend to our family and friends. Beds were very comfortable, resort was super clean, and quite quiet. Close enough to Duval and Mallory but far enough that the resort is pleasantly quiet! Had a relaxing time in Key West!

Room Tip: Third floor with partial view of ocean was beautiful and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJTCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m happy to read that you had an amazing time while at our resort and would recommend us to your friends and family. Our location at the quite end of town means our guests can conveniently enjoy the sights and sounds of Duval Street then retire to our serene and peaceful property when done. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again if you ever return to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,047
    1,117
    353
    136
    77
See reviews for
1,143
3,419
89
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,215)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently enjoyed 6 nights at this hotel and it was absolutely fantastic. We were there for a wedding which was held on the beach at the resort, it was a great location, great food and exceptional service. The wedding was perfect! The rooms are beautiful, however being in Key West you don't spend much time in it. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne1doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. I’m glad that you had a fantastic time while with us. Weddings on the beach are so picturesque and you certainly traveled a long way to attend this one; I’m happy it was perfect. Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property and we look forward to seeing you again if your travels should ever bring you back to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Since we had never been to Key West it was a bit of a gamble as to where to stay...close to the action or removed from the hustle and bustle....this hotel was PERFECT. Located on the southern end of Duval St, this beautiful hotel on the beach is a perfect choice for couples or families. Our family of 4 enjoyed not only the amenities of the hotel (3 pools, 2 beaches, a tanning deck perched in the ocean, hammocks, fun beach side games etc!) but we were a short walk to Duval and all the restaurants and touristy attractions. The hotel rooms looked like a Nautica home furnishing ad....beautifully and tastefully decorated, great balconies and lots of space! The concierge Bryan was a great help with our last minute choices and we made the most of our few days there! I would return to this hotel in a heart beat!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetmg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. I’m so happy that your “gamble” on us turned out to be perfect. There are so many fine lodging choices to choose from in Key West and we are honored that you chose us and would return to us in a heartbeat. We strive to provide exceptional customer service to every guest, every day and it is very rewarding when we hear we’ve succeeded. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you back to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Airy MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to Key West. A friend had recommended the Southernmost on the Beach and the resort exceeded our expectations! We had outstanding service from the moment we arrived at the hotel. Anthony welcomed us with a smile and quickly made sure that we were comfortable and well taken care of throughout our visit. Our room was not ready (we arrived at noon), but we were shown to the changing facilities, our luggage was securely stored, and off we went to begin our vacation!
Pools: The pools were beautiful and clean. There are 3 choices of "atmosphere", including a Tranquility Pool that is quiet and all adult. We preferred the pools with LIVE music and a more lively atmosphere. There are pool bars that are shaded and cool, serving gorgeous tropical drinks. The Shores Pool also has a server to serve you drinks and food at your pool chair (thank you Heather!). The pier that extends into the ocean is simply divine! From the end, you can descend down a staircase right into waist-deep turquoise water. If you are thinking heavenly, you have it!
Activities: We participated in the complimentary Beer School and Wine School! Beer & wine school are quite fun and I actually learned something! Plus, you get to try some beers and wines that you may not order otherwise. There is snorkeling school - yes, complimentary! I participated in water aerobics and had a wonderful workout! Boomer, Mark, and Key West Mike create a fun and festive atmosphere. You may choose to participate in the various activities or simply relax!
Southernmost Cafe: I cannot say enough about the quality of the food and service at the Southernmost Cafe. Beginning with an outstanding view of the beach from every table, the delicious food, personal and attentive service, we thoroughly enjoyed this gem. We ate breakfast at the Cafe on 3 occasions and dinner one evening. We were celebrating our anniversary and the staff treated us like royalty. You have to taste the Lobster mac and cheese to believe it! Our server Patrick was wonderful! He was attentive to our needs, but made us feel we had all the time in the world to enjoy the view, the wine, and the delicious food. He made a wonderful wine recommendation and treated us to a lusious complimentary dessert. Patrick made our evening one that we will never forget!
Overall: The hotel's location is perfect! The quiet of the ocean and beach is just outside your window, but you are a short walk/cab ride from the nightlife of Duval Street. We hope that we will someday return to the Key West paradise where the relaxed atmosphere and "One Human Family" theory are impossible to shake off once you return to "reality". Our room was beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. When we return, the only resort we will ever choose is the Southernmost on the Beach. Where paradise meets outstanding service, friendly people, gorgeous accommodations, and excellent food. Ahhhhh, saving my leave for our next visit :)

Room Tip: We chose the Southernmost on the Beach, with a ocean view on the West Lawn. We did not have a balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am thrilled to read that we were able to exceed your expectations. Our commitment to exceptional customer service means that we strive to make sure every guest has the time of their life and this includes beautifully appointed rooms, friendly accommodating staff and a host of complimentary amenities. Our goal is to make sure our guests want for nothing and I’m happy to see we succeeded for you. . Key West is such a special place and I’m glad you were able to become fully entrenched in its open and accepting spirit. Thank you again for taking the time to write your very nice review and we look forward to making your next stay with us even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week on our honeymoon. We enjoyed the activities at the hotel (hula hoop contests, beer school, wine school, bingo, etc.) It is a little pricey, but great to splurge on for important trips such as ours. Boomer and Mark are great event planners and we enjoyed Carrie at the bar. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. Congratulations on your marriage and I am so happy that you had a wonderful honeymoon at the Southernmost on the Beach. Boomer and Mark of the activities team are super and really try to make sure our guests are having the time of their lives with all of the complimentary games and activities they plan. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and hopefully we will be able to celebrate your 1st anniversary with you too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Staying at Southernmost on the Beach made our first trip to Key West incredible. The staff there are so nice and friendly. They make you feel like part of their family. A special thank you to concierge Bryan!! He was so awesome. We booked several day excursions through him, rented bikes for the week and he even assisted us with out airline early check-in since we were spending the day at Dry Tortoga. Although the hotel is pricey compared to other places, the atmosphere and staff make it worth it. The location is beautiful, right on the beach and right around the corner to Duval. So you can go enjoy the excitement on Duval and know that when you come back to relax, that it will be quiet. Big thank you to everyone for making our 30th Anniversary memorable!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am so happy that your 30th anniversary was such a memorable experience. We love to celebrate our guests’ special occasions and it’s rewarding to read that we helped make it awesome. Having an on-site concierge is so convenient and certainly helps our guests plan the perfect holiday. The Dry Tortugas is amazing and I’m glad you had a chance to experience it. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to making your 31st anniversary even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel can meet the needs of any type of traveler. It has an accommodating staff and from the front desk to the concierge, your checkin begins a first class experience. The property is one of the cleanest we have ever visited. The spa was a comforting event, so much so that we booked again a day later! Probably the greatest influence on our daily experience was the pool staff. Greg C., Boomer, Ryan and Bob made the day happen! They were professional, yet gave the energy and excitement needed to make you want to stay and be a part of the day. We had not planned on spending as much time at the pool, but it was so much fun we cancelled other plans so we could experience the fun of Shores pool! The beach restaurant is a must see! Great food and great atmosphere !!! What a pleasant surprise?!! We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwishyoulove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am so happy to read that you had such a great time while with us. The resort is certainly designed to accommodate any need or request our guests may have. The pool attendants that work throughout the property are wonderful and they certainly help make a great vacation unforgettable. Our award winning Southernmost Beach Café offers a beautiful setting to watch the ocean while having breakfast, lunch or dinner. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to making your next visit even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing