We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellect. Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southernmost Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellect. Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

It was our second stay at the hotel. We loved it the first time. It was even better the second! As mentioned in previous reviews, the staff are outstanding. We especially enjoyed all the different options we had for enjoying the day. There's the pool, the beach (you have to pay for chairs & unbrella - we never had to during our last stay), there is also a hidden spot on the west lawn where you can go. It's quieter & cooler. It is a bit of a hike to all the action on Duval but we didn't mind. We will definitely return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KKCanada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,461
    948
    272
    105
    58
See reviews for
912
2,904
62
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,088)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
red oak, ia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was probably the highlight of our visit to Key West!!! The rooms were amazing. Our room on the second floor opened onto a balcony. We could watch Duval Street or the Ocean. We ate breakfast by the infinity pool and the ocean.. So relaxing!!! The inn keeper was fabulous!!!

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad one!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsummer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We just returned home from our second trip to Southernmost on the Beach and it was exceptional (so was the first visit) The accommodations are extraordinary - spotless room, perfect pool, beach, lounge, bar areas - we couldn't ask for anything more for a vacation. We can't wait to return!! It feels like a "home away from home" for us - only VERY relaxing - we'd never stay anywhere else

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

So glad we rented a room at the beach. From our balcony, we could see the ocean and watch people at the outdoor restaurant and even see a yoga class. The restaurant served delicious food and drinks and was reasonable. Fans were on so wasn't hot in the restaurant. The SMARTEST thing we did was to rent a golf to get around. It is too far to walk to Mallory Square and back. We rode all over the island and loved having this mode of transportation . You do not want to have to fool with parking a car in town.
We enjoyed all the normal sightseeing adventures such as the cat, acts in Mallory Square. Watching the sunset but PARASAILING over the water made me feel like Peter Pan or should I Tinker Bell."We used Fury and they were organized. On time and emkoyed gheir jobs, with this old ninny!
Another worthwhile adventure is to take the seaplane to Dry Tortugas to snorkel . Fabulous !! Bring a picnic if u want to eat- they provide soft drinks. If you decide to take the Seaplane- call ahead - they fill fast !! Another "romantic" and free activity is to go to the "Crowne Plaza LaConcha" and see The Sunset at the Top" delicious drinks and the view is spectacular . No children .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rheatad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Splashed out a little as it was our honeymoon, room and hotel grounds were immaculate and very well looked after. Location was fantastic, so many nice restaurants and shops within walking distance.

Was a little surprised / disappointed that our ocean front room didn't have a balcony as such, but instead had a seating area outside our front door on the communal walk way. Didn't have any private outside space. However this wasn't a huge problem.

Hotel staff were great, and there were lots of free activities for guests, such as 'beer school' with free beer tasting! We paid extra for the sea of love package, which included champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in the room on arrival, a sunset cruise, and an adventure boat trip which included jet skiing, snorkling, parasailing.. All were amazing!

On the whole, we were really happy with our choice. Thanks Southernmost on the beach, we'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
212 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our second trip to Southernmost on the Beach and it was every bit as perfect as the first. The rooms are clean and spacious. The beds are luxuriously comfortable. The grounds are kept impeccably clean. I especially like that free ice water is offered at several locations on the property meaning not buying and throwing away bottle after bottle. The staff gives well over 100%.

Boomer, the Activities Director, is the best! You can see that he (and all the others) truly love their jobs! Boomer offers many "classes" throughout the week where you can learn about beer, wine, hula-hooping or try your hand at the Newlywed Game or Key West Trivia and win great prizes!!

The Shores Bar staff was incredible. The smiling gal in the pink sunglasses (I'm so sorry I never got her name) was the best! She always made sure our drinks were filled! The Pool Manager catered to everyone's needs. The entertainment is great! Be sure to check out the spa for a long-lasting pedicure or other pampering! Julie, the ever-smiling concierge, can book any island activities for you and/or direct you to great places to site-see or eat.

The view is excellent! You can just laze about and watch the sailboats or sometimes a cruise ship right from your balcony. I can't imagine staying anywhere else but Southernmost for our Key West get-away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voice1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here just one night and that is too bad because this is a fantastic hotel. We stayed in the oceanfront room. What a treat. View was amazing. The room itself is just superb. bed was very comfy, nice size bathroom. It was walking distance to Southermost Point, a little further to "downtown" Key West but it is a nice walk. Lots of bars, stores etc on the way.There is a nice size pool with a bar. I'd say this THE hotel to stay in Key West. It is expensive but worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ertes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing