We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Southernmost on the Beach for a destination wedding and it was fabulous. The rooms were excellent, well maintained, food was amazing and the pool was heated and dazzling at night with the colored lights!

The staff, whether it was guest service, concierge, bartenders, wait staff, housekeeping staff, was amazing, friendly and always smiling. A true sign of someone loving their job for sure!

Room Tip: We stayed in building C and it was nice because we overlooked the water and had a wonderful little b...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,799)
There are newer reviews for Southernmost Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,678 - 3,684 of 5,799 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

In my opinion, the perfect "home base" for a stay in Key West. At the end of duval away from all the craziness but by no means boring. The view from the hotel is spectacular, the people there were exceptional, everyone working there and the guests as well. The place just had a great vibe. Granted, it is a bit pricey, but you will not be disappointed. The beach is nothing great, but that's key west. You can still find a shady spot at the front of the hotel and take a walk down the tanning pier into the ocean (the water temp was 80 degrees when we were there). It was full of seaweed at the beach but not by the pier because it was already further out. Plenty of places to eat nearby and also easy easy walking to bars and restaurants. The room was exceptionally clean, had great bath products, flat screen, ipod dock, super comfy bed...

I would stay here again in a heartbeat...Also, we were there for a wedding so we had a blast :)

Room Tip: 2nd floor ocean view was spectacular, i would recommend something away from the pool as it does get...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GinaDMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is spectacular. We went here in February for my sister's wedding. The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms are beautiful and extremely clean, the staff are friendly and informative, I could go on and on! We ate breakfast every morning at the Beach Café - it was reasonable and delicious! There is also a little Cuban breakfast place across the street that makes great sandwiches if you don't feel like sitting down at a restaurant. Duvall Street and Mallory Square are a blast - lots of shopping, drinking and eating! Its all within walking distance of the hotel. My sister's wedding was truly incredibly. The food, the bar, the set up - all of it was perfect! We will absolutely be coming back here - it was so sad when we had to leave. I understand why so many people who live in Key West came there on vacation and then never left! The lifestyle, the atmosphere - its all amazing. Do yourself a favor and book your next vacation here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pck823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our return visit to the Dewey House was as special as the first. Top service, caring staff, clean, and lots of beauty and value to the property and location. We have already booked again for the next couple of years. Looking forward to many more visits in the future. Would recommend it to anyone, anywhere.

Room Tip: For real privacy, room #416 in the Dewey House was great.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I had a second wonderful stay at Southernmost on the Beach and already look forward to next year's visit. The whole facility is top notch. The hotel is very well maintained, and rooms are spacious and well appointed. Room rates include everything - parking, wifi, activities. No hidden charges or "Resort Fees" which I loath. We stayed in a West Lawn Oceanfront King room with a sitting area outside which overlooks the beach and ocean. The hotel is perfectly located at the "quiet end" of duval - a half hour walk to the spring break party crowd if that's you thing, or a peaceful vacation if it's not. Everything you will need is within easy walking distance. The beach cafe is great and has wonderful breakfasts, we ate there 5 times. There is daily live music either on the lawn or by the pool. The performers are really good. See Fletcher at the beach in the morning and he will set you up with a great spot for the day. He and the rest of the staff are very helpful and friendly. We loved the free activities the hotel offered including "beer school" and "the newlywed game" hosted by Boomer, the activities director. Check the activity schedule and make sure you find him! He is great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmmjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Dewey House on the recommendation of a friend who visits regularly. This was our first visit to Key West and now would not stay anywhere else. We booked an oceanview room and had a wonderful view of the beach and ocean from our balcony. We were first a bit taken aback at the perceived lack of privacy (we WERE right on the well-used beach, right next to the Beach Cafe) but very soon acclimated to the convenience. We were pleased that the sounds and music from the cafe was not audible from our room or balcony. The staff was wonderful - especially Sam whose warmth and enthusiasm made us feel right at home. The room was very comfortable, the service impeccable. Need recommendations for things to do or dining? The concierge was helpful with both recommendations and making reservations.

Although the breakfast options remained the same each day, the variety of offerings (fresh fruit, bread & rolls, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, orange juice, quiche, made-to-order waffles) was enough to satisfy without being boring. Afternoon tea brought sweets, fruit, cheese and crackers daily - a nice transition to a later dinner.

The grounds are well-maintained and we liked the amenities available through the Southernmost Collection (several pools, a fitness center, restaurants if you didn't want to leave the property.) It was a most excellent visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susieswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon in september and were a little worried because we waited to book pretty last minute. We picked a first floor room with no balcony because there weren't many left. We were pleasantly surprised to find that our room led right out to comfy hammocks and adirondack chairs overlooking the ocean. We ate at southernmost cafe almost every day and made it a habit to hit the pool for cocktails and a night swim each evening. The staff here were friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. Our couple's massage was fantastic. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
698 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $276 - $763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing