We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay & Wedding Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here the last week in February and also had our wedding reception on the beach. We had visited the property the first time down to KW but it was booked so we couldn't stay. Well everyone in our party loved the hotel, staff and food. Melissa and Jenna Rose put on a great show for us. Rooms are brand new. The majority of our guests stayed in the Ocean Front King rooms, which are a good size, full of windows with a great private balcony. We couldn;t have asked for anything more.

Customer Service was excellent the entire time. From the bartenders to housekeeping, everyone was always friendly. There are fun poolside games and a great overall atmosphere. On the day we left for our honeymoon, we left our kindle in our room (or so we thought, it was jammed in our luggage). We frantically called the front desk from the airport at 7am looking for help and not expecting much as the roosters are barely up at 7am in Key West. Well the staff ran to our room asap and scoured the whole thing looking for it. Now we know that we found the kindle in our carry on before we left Key West, but the fact that they rushed around for us really left a good feeling about the hotel. When we make it back to Key West, we know where to book a room!

Thank you SMOTB!

Room Tip: Stayed in Ocean Front King - They are the most expensive, but if you want the killer balcony view di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,695 - 3,701 of 5,809 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Recently stayed here for our 2nd time in 2 years and loved it just as much if not more!!!! The staff is spectacular, always there to help out and so very welcoming. As usual, rooms were spotless and the grounds manicured. Breakfast is soooo good at the cafe and we had dinner 2x there also....yummy!!!

We had a balcony King ocean view....so worth the the extra money! Huge balcony with chaise loungers, chairs and a table to relax and get some sun or zzzz's. This time around we made sure to use our balconies more since we stayed longer.

Looking to go back again next year!!

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean front view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We made our reservation about 8 months in advance and requested a quiet room. We were given room 413 in Dewey House. This room was not quiet. The traffic in the morning was very loud. Even with the AC fan on high it did not block the noise. The noise also made it impossible to sit on our side veranda and read. They did offer to let us change rooms on the 2nd day but this would have meant packing and unpacking again. Since we stayed for 7 nights, this really was an inconvenience. That said, I would stay at Dewey House again but not in this room. The place is spotless and the beds are very comfortable. The staff from the time you check in until the time you leave are wonderful. Breakfast is great with many choices. The fresh fruit is wonderful. However, most of the time the espresso cand cappucino machine does not work. And I agree that it is inconvenient to have to wait until 8:30 for coffee. Your room does have a coffee maker but if you want to get coffee without waking your spouse, it's wait until 8:30. The beach is OK. The water is not very clean but there are pools and many areas to sunbathe. The grounds are very nice. A big drawback with the pool is that they allow babies with diapers in the pool. For me, this was a definite turn off. There is an adults only pool but it is across the street and not very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funtrips82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We just got back from our yearly girls trip to Keywest...and as usual we stay at the Southernmost. And although the properties location and grounds are spectacular...we always go back to see the staff. Boomer, Heather, Jessica and Mark...make us feel so welcomed. Boomer goes out of his way to accomodate us on every level. The activities that are planned are designed for the guests to interact with one another..which therefore ends up allowing everyone to make new friends. We will be back next year...Thanks again Boomer, Heather, Jessica and Mark! Love Nancy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great Location, it on the "quite" side of Duval Street. Beautiful resort, the pictures do this place NO justice! It is much nicer and bigger than I anticipated based off the photos. Cafe has great food, has a couple sandy beaches, which you do not see much of in Key West. All the staff was over the top accommodating and nice! We will return to SMONB!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesseeprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel was beautiful-the grounds, the rooms, the view, etc. I couldn't have asked for a better stay. They were very accommodating. The view from our balcony was gorgeous. It really made our trip to Key West that much better. It is also walking distance to all of the local attractions without having to deal with loud Duval St. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melprice43501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A friend recommended the Southernmost on the Beach and I'm so glad she did! Our oceanfront 'penthouse' was huge, clean and simply beautiful. The staff was ultra-courteous from check-in to check-out and the super-knowledgeable concierge was helpful in assisting us to plan and book a number of day trips.
Key West is one of the most fun places my husband and I have vacationed. We've already booked our stay at the Southernmost for next year. We have only positive things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
701 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $326 - $809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing