We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southernmost Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very nice hotel - staff were all very friendly - reception, concierge, Heather by the pool (friendly service and very pleasant). For me - yes the hotel must be safe and clean, BUT up there with those - the staff and service has to be friendly and welcoming. If that isn't the case it cancels all other positives about the property etc. Cafe staff were OK - a A- perhaps but not bad; food was pretty good but $3+ for a cup of coffee - not included with breakfast!!
Lovely location - the public beach was very nice and not overly crowded when we were there. The room was exactly as the pictures on line and really lovely.
Walking around KW is the way to go - great restaurants in the area - Abbodanza (great food AND very reasonable); Banana cafe - great food and service - little bit more pricey but worth it: Camilles - AWFUL - would not step in there - smells, old - we didn't stay so really can't complain about the food. Wasn't cheap though and we wouldn't have stayed even if it was!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Block D - with a good view of the ocean at an angle. We weren't bothered by any noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AYZA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,695
    1,023
    310
    122
    68
See reviews for
1,003
3,130
71
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was a great experience. This hotel is just at the edge of the Duval street (the main street at KW). It's just minutes from the southernmost point milestone. plus, the hotel is very big. The best part was in the night when we sat for some time at the beach..

Room Tip: make sure that you choose the beach view room..that's a bit expesive but that'll be worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaghavJaipur_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Decided at the last minute to join some friends for a long weekend Jan 11-14 and did indeed have some difficulty finding a room in Old Town at a price we girls felt doable. Have never stayed on the beach end of Duval but when I came across the Southernmost Hotel and found it had VERY reasonable rates and was recently renovated, we went for it. Got there around check-in time and learned we had been upgraded to the Southernmost on the Beach but our room was not yet ready. Adam, the bellman whisked away our bags, the front desk clerk gave us free drink coupons for the pool bars and we suddenly didn't mind the wait a bit! We noted how beautifully kept the grounds are, clean and well manicured, and the bartender at the pool bar became our go-to gal for recommendations for where to get the best raw oysters, breakfast, etc. ... she was NEVER wrong!!
We got into our room a short time later and it was GORGEOUS!! We especially loved the walk-in shower big enough for maybe eight of your newest friends and the soft blue night-light over the commode. The refrigerator is built into the cabinetry for a very custom look ... was very attractive! The Roman shades over the windows allowed us some privacy when we wanted it as the rooms in the building across the walkway do have pretty close visibility and although the balconies do all but adjoin, we never saw anyone out there on theirs while we were out sipping something on ours, enjoying the ocean view.
Our door stuck rather significantly when we entered, but one call to the front desk had a maintenance man there within maybe five minutes to correct the problem.
Every single employee of the hotel was utterly charming and always helpful and accomodating. You can forgive a lot of things when service staff treat you like a VIP but honestly, we enjoyed the treatment even though we had NOTHING to forgive!! Checking out, the desk clerk divided our bill for us so we could use separate credit cards and printed our boarding passes even though the computer station the hotel provides for that service was less than 8 feet away. There was never even a hint that we should do it ourselves.
We were more interested in activities at the harbor end of Duval than the beach so can't address the beach issue ... it was just beautiful to watch the ocean from our balcony.
The bottom line really is ... would I book with this hotel again given the same circumstances we encountered on this trip and the answer to that is .... MOST DEFINITELY!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and had a wonderful view of the ocean. Would think the ground floor wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BamaRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was a great pick for a first time stay on Key West. The staff was very friendly and made you feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The concierge was always available to help suggest day trips as well as the best restaurants. (And there was a huge number of restaurants to choose from!!!) The room was beautiful and very clean. We had a view of the courtyard, but if you sat on the balcony you could see the ocean. The hotel's restaurant, The Southernmost Cafe, was right on the beach and had a great menu from which to choose. The pool area was awesome and the view fantastic. The location was great because we could walk everywhere and yet it was at the quiet end of Duval St. I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to a return visit soon.

Room Tip: Rooms with a partial ocean view are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I had heard about Southernmost for years and expected it to be nice....I did not expect it to be outrageously fabulous! Beautiful grounds, great rooms and a staff that made me laugh and feel totally at home. This is my new favorite place in Key West!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillyfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our third stay at this wonderful property. Great attention to every detail. The staff does a wonderful job of keeping every guest happy. The Southernmost Cafe food is very good and reasonably priced. The spa is very good! The massage at the cabana was most relaxing. Will go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhonkson, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Loved everything about this property, and the service provided by the staff. The rooms are beautiful, and we enjoyed our partial ocean view balconies for morning coffee. Key West is not known for good beaches so we were not expecting anything spectacular. I did enjoy the fact that the hotel was waterfront, and you could sun bathe on the beach if you chose to. The pool was fabulous, and the pool bar and service added to a great experience. Parking is at a premium in Key West, so having free parking available to guests was another plus. All in all a very relaxing and above average vacation. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Had a 3rd floor partial ocean view room and was very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gay k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing