We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Kerhonkson, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Loved everything about this property, and the service provided by the staff. The rooms are beautiful, and we enjoyed our partial ocean view balconies for morning coffee. Key West is not known for good beaches so we were not expecting anything spectacular. I did enjoy the fact that the hotel was waterfront, and you could sun bathe on the beach if you chose to. The pool was fabulous, and the pool bar and service added to a great experience. Parking is at a premium in Key West, so having free parking available to guests was another plus. All in all a very relaxing and above average vacation. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Had a 3rd floor partial ocean view room and was very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gay k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,001
    1,107
    347
    136
    73
See reviews for
1,110
3,389
88
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,197)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just got back from a spectacular first visit to Key West and thoroughly enjoyed the SouthernMost on the Beach complex and in particular, La Mer. Definitely an excellent choice for accommodations on the quiet end of Duvall Street away from the craziness and yet still walkable for liveliness if you want that. Excellent breakfast assortment each day, and contrary to some other reviews, was certainly more abundant than most bed and breakfast offerings. Afternoon tea on a few days and Sunday breakfast included champagne.The pool and poolside service for food and drink were very good as was the resort's ocean front cafe. The location and view can't be beat and would cost three times as much in other locales. The front end of the La Mer building upstairs is all one room and was very spacious with all we needed included. Sink, frig and mic with utensils(even a cheese knife), glass/tableware AND dish soap, sponges and paper towels too. Aveda bath products in an immaculate spacious tiled bathroom and nightly turn down was a treat too. Not sure that there is anything I could possibly criticize about the resort. We have stayed in accommodations three times the cost and haven't been as satisfied. All staff here seem to go above and beyond to ensure this and are good ambassadors for Key West.

Room Tip: Pick a room on ocean side of buildings not street. Drunks are pro here and lose their hearing at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

It was the best hotel we ever stayed. The customer service was amazing! The hotel is beautiful and the location is great! A+++ hotel, friendly staff, beautiful views and a great beach with a cafe. We enjoyed the pool bar and the service. The hotel is very close to Duval street but the quieter side of Duval which it was great for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyGabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I wanted to surprise my wife for her 40th birthday because she had never been to Key West, FL. I stressed about what was the best hotel and location to stay at because I wanted something really nice, convenient, not too crazy (this hotel is on the quiet side of Duval), but access to the hot spots. We were greeted as we arrived with a very friendly and welcoming staff. The room I booked was perfect (West Lawn- Ocean View) because it had great views, was updated/newer and was very clean. We enjoyed the pool and thought the beach was "ok" (if you goto Key West you are not going for the beach, but atleast the hotel had a beach). The location is right at the Southernmost Point and we walked everywhere really easily and had access to good local resteraunts, shopping, the bar/party area and the marina area. We loved the ability to come back to the room, relax etc when needed; My wife had spa services and really thought the staff was friendly and did a great job. The spa itself is pretty simplistic and not alot "glitz" to what I have seen at the spas we typcially visit, but it was clean and small. The staff was friendly, and we found everyone to be welcoming, except for one bartneder at the Shores Bar that worked the day we arrived on Janaury 10th. I had compared this hotel to the Westin Sunset Key which was 2-3 times the price, but after going to dinner at the Westin, we thought the people at the Westin were a little too stuffy/pompous for us, We liked the casual atmoshpere, value and freedom this hotel provided us.

Room Tip: West Lawn Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baar, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel, friendly staff, beautiful views and a great beach with a cafe. The sunsets from the balcony was awesome! We enjoyed our stay a lot, but the hotel itself not out outstanding, but still very good. The Southermost Cafe is great!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ilona99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I have to agree that the sunsets down here are absolutely amazing. Our award winning Southernmost Beach Café offers beautiful ocean front dining and another venue to watch those beautiful sunsets with a diverse and delicious menu. Our commitment to exceptional customer service is the rule we live by and I am happy you found our staff friendly, our hotel nice and our Café great. I hope if your travels should ever bring you back to Key West you will give us another chance to impress and pamper you. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Southermost on the Beach was our most disappointing hotel experience ever. We had carefully chosen our hotel in Key West and read numerous reviews on Tripadvisor and this clearly sounded - and looked - like one of the best. One of the reasons we chose it was that it had direct beach access and rooms with Ocean view. But when we got there, we decided, within two hours, to leave the following day instead of staying for three nights, as originally planned. We were disappointed for the following reasons:

1. Clearly, the website misrepresents the hotel. Some pictures (e.g. those of the beach) have almost certainly been photoshopped. The beach is, in reality, extremely dirty, and it is, actually, a public beach, so expect to find it much fuller than what you would hope for. Since it is also very small, it feels crammed and uncomfortable. There is seaweed all along the shore and we also noticed an unpleasant smell of dead or rotten fish. See attached photos to get a better picture of the real beach.
2. The hotel claims to offer access to two beaches, but the second is actually only a totally artificial one - a part of the hotel's garden covered with sand, with some deckchairs and a "tanning pier" - all quite nice looking, but not a real beach.
3. The hotel, overall, rather feels like a high-end motel, as most buildings have a large parking on the ground floor (underneath the rooms) and guests can access their room by car. Convenient if you are on a road trip, but really not what you expect from a 400 to 500 USD a night "resort". See attached photos.
4. Room privacy is very limited as the balconies are stuck next to each other. In addition, our room (in building A) was extremely noisy, as there seemed to be some glass and waste collection point just behind it (see photo), so that we were woken up at 6am by a waste removal van, after also hearing the glass container being emptied (very noisy as well) the night before around 11pm.
5. One of the hotel requirements is that every "child under 25" should be accompanied by a "responsible adult" over 25. You would expect that this means that the resort is likely to be mostly adult only, maybe with a few families only. However, the swimming pool was buzzing with children playing and running around it.
6. The only reason why we are not giving the hotel a 1 out of 5 is that most staff were friendly and helpful (at reception and concierge desk in particular), this does not apply to the host at the "beach" restaurant though. It is quite sad, however, to see that in spite of mentioning all the points above at check-out and in the hotel survey, nobody has apologized so far nor offered us any kind of compensation.

In summary, this is definitely a totally overrated hotel, It does not seem worth paying up for a hotel in Key West as standards are low and prices are high, as those hotels seem to expect tourists to come anyway. Make sure you avoid the Southernmost and see our attached photos to get a better and more real picture of it.

Room Tip: Dont choose any room - just stay away from this hotel. If you do really need or want to stay there t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank stephantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am very sorry to read that you were unsatisfied with your stay at the Southernmost on the Beach. Living on a small island such as Key West can prove to have its challenges where space is concerned. I am sorry the waste disposal vehicles awoke you on the 3rd. Our resort is actually one of the few that offers access to a beach just steps away and while it is a public beach, our guests are offered complimentary lounge chairs and our private tanning beach allows our guests a serene and peaceful option with access to the water from our private lounging pier. The tides, currents and winds can cause sea grass to wash up on the shorelines of Key West and twice daily we attempt to combat this with removal of the debris. Between the months of January and May we experience our “busy season” and find that many different travelers choose to enjoy our extensive resort. We have many guests celebrating special occasions such as weddings, family vacations or reunions, romantic getaways, engagements, college break and many others; requiring adults to be responsible for their children under 25 is in no way meant to imply that we do not have families with children that stay with us. We stress this requirement for the safety of children and adults alike as our greatest concern is for the safety and enjoyment of each and every guest. I apologize also that you were not contacted regarding the issues you raised at check out or via our survey and I will be sure to look into this matter personally. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel really didn't live up to our expectations.
Staff - grumpy and unhelpful.
Rooms – mediocre and don’t pay extra for ocean view rooms! Particularly if you are unlucky enough to get a ground floor room.
Surroundings - nice gardens and pool
We had a week at the end of our Honeymoon staying here. We had booked and paid extra for an ocean view room which from the pictures looked amazing. It looked as though you had a balcony/veranda with open views of the ocean. However the reality was that we had a dark downstairs room and could hardly see the ocean. In addition to this there was an awful smell of what we thought was damp. We mentioned this to reception, who reluctantly offered to move us to another downstairs room (they said there were no upstairs rooms available). This room also had a similar odour although not quite as strong. Reception said that they could use a machine to ‘clear the room’. All throughout these discussions they did not come to check the smell and were very dismissive of the issue. We went back to the room, and discovered ourselves that the odour was coming in from the aircon unit (at the back of the building we saw that the ventilation was covered by plants which probably caused the problem!) and therefore the machine would have been pointless as the smell would return as soon as the aircon unit was turned back on. Basically the hotel just didn’t want to know, but we were determined not to stay in a smelly, dark, damp room! After a lot of refusing to stay in the room, and about 3 hours later, they magically found us an upstairs room. Not the best start to the final part of our honeymoon!
Although the upstairs room was not as bad, it wasn’t at all what we expected. The ocean view rooms do not have their own balcony – it’s a walkway with shared balcony’s every few rooms, so if you have your curtains open, you’re constantly seeing people walking directly in front of your window going to and from other rooms – this is worse on the downstairs, as not only do you have more people walking past, your daylight is also restricted from the walkway above. Had we have known these things we certainly wouldn’t have paid extra for such a room, we would have paid less for a room with a bit more privacy and it’s own balcony.
All in all the rooms were definitely not as good as we were led to believe from the brochures, but even more annoyingly were the staff (Richard in particular) who were surly, unhelpful and made customers feel like they were an inconvenience. Therefore we would definitely not recommend this to anyone, but if you do book, don’t bother paying extra for special rooms!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Eleanor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I would like to extend my apologies that your stay with us during your honeymoon was less than spectacular. I want to assure you that our employee’s main concern whenever an issue arises is the comfort and wellbeing our guests, they always come first. I read in the notes of your reservation that our front desk agent was able to find you a room on the second floor of the original building you were booked into and provided you with breakfast for 2 at our award winning Southernmost Beach Café as a form of apology for the inconvenience you experienced. I want to assure you that the issues brought to our attention were addressed and resolved. Again, I am very sorry your experience with us was less than absolutely wonderful for your special occasion and if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing