We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, quiet - but expect to pay up!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
299 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very nice, quiet - but expect to pay up!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We love this property. It's on the quiet end of Duval Street. So - if you are going for action and fun - stay at the Westin or Hyatt. If you are going for rest and relaxation - this is a great choice. Lovely, well appointed rooms with Old Florida elegance. Simply amazing sleep experience. Nice pool areas but keep in mind that this is the Keys. You will not find an expansive beach here. What you will find are beautiful views, tranquil waters, and amazing food. It's a lovely place but rates in the winter were in the $400's. So be prepared to pay up!

Room Tip: Ask for one facing out to one of the pools or to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,978
    1,098
    344
    135
    73
See reviews for
1,101
3,367
87
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,186)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park Hills, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in Nov 2012 for a special BD celebration. We LOVED it, so much better than staying in a hotel. We felt like guests in someone's very comfortable home. Breakfasts on the ocean-front veranda were heavenly - fresh fruits, juice, quiche, pastries, made-to-order waffles, and endless cappuccino. They serve afternoon tea too - what a treat. The staff is amazing, so helpful and pleasant. Beautiful place for a wedding (there was one the weekend we were there). The on-site restaurant was delicious. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

the Southernmost on the Beach hotel is one of the few hotels in Key West which are located direct at the sea and have their own beach.
The hotel is located really close to the Duval street. It is the quiet part of the Duval Street.
The facilities are really nice. The rooms are spacious (especially the bath room) in a very good state. Unfortunately coffee and bath gel were not refilled during our stay.
There are various area to have a sunbath, at the pool, at the sea. At the pool, you can enjoy live music each afternoon. But it can be quite loud. It is not a problem to find another quiet place. Overall the hotel is really quiet (and it was fully booked as we stayed).
Overall the service is really good. We really had a feeling of exclusivity.
We experienced once that somebody was drunk and loud. After two warnings, the police was called.
We had breakfast several time at the beach coffee. Prices are similar to other locations in the area - not really cheap. But the beach coffee has the best view.
Well-equipped gym. One of the trimming machines was out of order and therefore quite dangerous.
We had only one issue wiht our coffee maker, which was not working any longer. We waited for housekeeping in the evening. Nobody showed up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for Christmas and couldn't have had a better experience. Everything was decorated so beautifully! The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was extremely comfortable and roomy and well stocked with everything you could need from robes to a safe in the room. Partial ocean view is a must however, as some of the rooms overlooked the parking lot. The beach and cafe were great also--the staff on the beach does everything they can to make you comfortable. The resort is right next to the Casa Marina and while their hotel looked lovely on the website, I much preferred the beachside look of the Southernmost. It was located on the far end (quiet) of Duvall Street which was really nice because you did not have to deal with the cruise ship traffic or craziness of Duvall St. Fort Zachary Park and Beach is close by (though I would still recommend driving, as the drive after the entrance is quite long to the beach) and was our favorite beach. Would definitely return here!!

Room Tip: Partial ocean view is definitely worth it! Some other rooms might face parking lot. Full ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcrosiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We loved this hotel. We had a partial oceanview room - we were close to the ocean, could see it, and couldn't have been happier. We parked our car for the week and walked everywhere, which was easy to do because the location of the hotel is excellent. It is right by Duval St. and we walked from one end to the other a few times. We also found places to visit on other nearby streets. The pool is nice as is the beach, and the bars and restaurant are so convenient to the beach and pool. The staff is very attentive and friendly. We would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again! Our 21 year old daughter, who is very picky, agrees :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Dexter is your man. After two nights at Casa Marina, my husband and I (on our honeymoon) wanted to cry. We had paid a boatload and little did we know, just up the street was heaven. It was about $200+ less and we were oceanfront with a wonderful staff and beautiful view. There was daily entertainment (wine school and bands) and a view of the sunset. Rent bikes and you can get down to Mallory Square in no time. The rooms are beautifully appointed and updated. All you need here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lkdpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel has it's own beach, pool, and restaurant. Easy walk to Duvall St, but on the quiet end, which is very nice. You don't hear a bunch of drunks at your door. If you just want to hang out at the pool, the activities director is always around. We had me get invovled in a hula-hoop contest. There was also a certified dive insturctor on site who helped my friend with snorkeling in the pool. All staff are very friendly! Bartender is wonderful. Great for couples or families.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor building B, around the corner from the evalator. Sure the A/C is a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing