We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow ! Southernmost:revisited (after 40 years)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wow ! Southernmost:revisited (after 40 years)”
Reviewed April 3, 2008

To celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary, we decided to forego our original honeymoon site (Banff, CA) for the warmer climes of FL. We decided on Key West, where 40 years ago my family used to vacation during spring break at the then Sun and Surf Motel..which is now the beautifully renovated and expanded Southernmost On the Beach Hotel. We stayed 4 nights.

Southernmost On The Beach (SOTB) is one of two hotel properties (the other is Southern Most on Duval), with a third property currently under construction. We were aware of the construction prior to booking- our room was closest to the front office so we experienced little if any inconvenience. Our room was on the first floor with a partial ocean/beach view.

Whats to love: location: (short walk to Duval), private beach and cafe, large swimming pool-and use of their other heated pool/tiki bar across the street, private sunning pier/sundeck,friendly staff, clean freshly decorated rooms, highspeed internet connection, on-site mini-store/tourist assistance.

It was a wonderful place to spend an anniversary.

  • Liked — location and the amenities
  • Disliked — having to leave !
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lv2travelVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,003
    1,108
    348
    136
    73
See reviews for
1,111
3,392
88
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,198)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warminster pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Everything was very nice. Very clean, nice front desk staff.
Concierge didn't speak much English, and when I asked
a question, he just said he didn't know.
Other problems, the construction next door. They were just
about on our roof at 7 am nailing etc. It was annoying.
I knew about it in advance, and was assured there were
no issues. Very wrong. The other negative is that there
is a bar on the beach, but you are not allowed to take your
drink to your chair. The staff at the beach bar was very indifferent.
They didn't care if you ate/drank there or not.
Rates are high considering the construction.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank evieleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2008

This place is nearly perfect....the rooms/bathrooms were roomy and immaculate (had a room with two queens with private balconey overlooking the ocean/beach bar)...close enough to walk to the "action" yet far enough to allow for a little quiet.

Beach bar was wonderful...reasonable prices and how can you beat the location.

I read the other reviewers complaints re. construction noise...they did not appear to be working the three days we were there (perhaps b/c it was a weekend?)....no noise at all from that.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price was high
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kerri53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DALLAS, TEXAS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2008

Stayed at hotel first part of Feb. for long weekend for wife's birthday in a second floor room overlooking pool and beach- great location - watched the sunset everynight, easy walk to Duval St. - rooms nice and well appointed - beach small, but ok, bar and resturant on beach had good food and service.
The previous notes I read before going indicated problems with construction noise. I didn't give them full credit - should have. They are building 80 new rooms right next door to current hotel. Every morning the noise started between 7:00am and 7:30am - Saturday, Sunday and Monday morning. Thought they might have given us a break on Sunday, but it was the worst. Not only were all the construction vehicles making lots of noise, but it sounded like something was being attached to our building or they we tearing something off of our building with all the hammereing and vibration that was going on.
I truly don't believe management gives a damn about it - told me at check out I should have called the front desk - like it was my fault and they were somehow going to stop all the construction. - and when I sent a response to their email request for feedback - I indicated the above problems and have yet to see any response.
Would not stay here again at least for a couple of years -- they told me at check out the current 80 rooms will be done in Oct. 08, but then they are going to start working on the old building and new pool and beach -- sounds like it may be 2010 or 2011 before all the construction and noise are gone -- for all the noise this hotel is very very over priced.

  • Liked — LOCATION - CLOSE TO DUVAL AND BEACH AND SUNSET
  • Disliked — LOUD CONSTRUCTION NOISE EVERY MORNING EARLY - EVEN ON WEEKENDS
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TWOBLINDMEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

Pricey for a motel, wow. The rooms are clean, but it truly is a drive-up motel, with an old pool. It's right on the beach, but not a very pretty or usable one. It is nice that it's a bit away from the noise but still very walkable.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Andalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2008

My wife and I went to Key West to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We stayed at Southernmost on the Beach and were generally pleased with our stay. The location is great -- just one block off upper Duval Street. It's an enjoyable 20 minute walk to Mallory Square. We ate breakfast everyday in the Beach Cafe and were very satisfied with the food. My favorite was the shrimp and crab omelet served with Hollandaise sauce. The weather was not very good while we were there (Windy and ~60 degrees) so we never got to enjoy the beach and pool. I went in the ocean for about 5 minutes but was freezing so I quickly exited and dried off. We really enjoyed the sunning pier. The adirondack chairs on the artifical beach were a nice place to sit in the afternoon, drink a beer and read a magazine....very relaxing. The room was very clean, complete with shower for 2 (only 1 showerhead though), and small fridge. We didn't really spend much time at the resort since it was so cold, but if it had been nice we would have.
I do have one complaint about the resort. The construction on the adjacent lot begins at 7:00am SHARP. We were woken up on Thursday and Friday mornings by the sound of hammering and power tools. Apparently construction on Saturday mornings does not begin as early so we were able to sleep until 8:00 or so. Overall I am satisfied with our stay, but I am not sure I would stay there again. I think next time we go to KW, we will probably stay at a B&B with a pool closer to Lower Duval (where most of the bars and restaurants are located)

  • Liked — Great location, clean rooms
  • Disliked — construction next door waking us up at 7:00AM every morning
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigDave1398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2008

We had an outstanding time. The room was great, we could hear the waves crashing at night. We stayed in a King, balcony ocean view room. Pool areas were great and the beach was fantastic. Walking distance to everything.
Construction behind the property is not an issue, the hotel did let us know it was going a few weeks before our stay which we appreciated.

  • Liked — Location, beach and service.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing