We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great weekend getaway”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We came with a group of friends for a long weekend and had a great time. The entire staff does a great job. Everything was clean and well maintained. Views are great and close to plenty of food and entertainment. Not the cheapest but still a good value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puff94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,995
    1,106
    346
    136
    73
See reviews for
1,107
3,385
88
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,196)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Point, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Enjoyed our experience at the Southernmost Hotel on the Beach...only downside is the loud banging of doors when hotel guests keep their patio doors open for breezes. Beautiful views of the ocean, beach, sunset, and sailing ships. Food is rather spendy and average as far as choices and flavor. Staff was most accommodating as far as service. Wish they had room service! Enjoyed all of the polite servers at both the beach restaurant and poolside bars with 24-hr coffee service available.

Room Tip: Building B seems to have less noise and choosing upper floors is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were there last week. Resort-like feel in excellent location. One of the only private beaches on the island. Service impeccable. We rented scooters across the street and explored the island using a map they provided at the front desk. We stayed in ocean-front and you can actually see the sunrise in the morning and sunset right from the tanning pier (very cool). Front-desk and all the staff were so nice. At breakfast 2-3 days at the beach cafe -- excellent. Dinner one night was okay (Mahi Mahi was a bit bland) - lots of better choices on the island for dinner. Entertainment twice a day was another nice touch. They will get you for drinks ($8.00 for small 12 oz ice filled drinks at the pool bar -- yikes!) -- may want to bring your own. Overall great and would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summer1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at the resort three times now in the past year and a half. We count down the days until our return. Friends associated with the resort continually encouraged us to come to Key West and stay at Southernmost. Finally, we decided to come , and boy are we glad! We have had the privilage to travel to many places...Southernmost On The Beach and Key West is by far one of our favorite destinations. The resort is wonderful. The buildings are well cared for and the grounds are immaculate. From our experience, the rooms seem newly updated and are of a good size. The rooms are comfortable and the beds are great. After a long day enjoying Key West, you won't have any trouble sleeping well. The resort's staff all are friendly and go out of their way to help. From the front desk to the grounds crew, you will always be met with a smiling face. The pools are clean and fun to enjoy. Two of the three pools are flanked by bars so food and drinks are always available. If you want some piece and quiet, then hammocks on the west lawn or a wonderful pier are great places to enjoy the sun. They also have a beach with free lounge chairs if that's your thing. The resort always has activities planned from snorkel school, water aerobics, beer school and my wife's favorite...wine school. Boomer, Allie and Kathy all put on some great activities. At the end of your day, they have a fantastic beachside cafe. Their menu ranges from light affair to formal dinners. There is also a nice bar associated with the beachside cafe If you just want some drinks and enjoy the scenery. Jake (I think that's his name), the bar tender at the cafe was there working most of the evenings we visited the cafe. Jake was great and treated us like old friends. After dinner, you must try the Key Lime Pie of theirs, it's one of our favorite deserts. The bottom line is this, you won't find any place better in Key West for the price. This is a first class resort, and that necessarily doesn't come cheep. If the resort is a little too expensive, then their Southernmost Hotel may provide some more cost friendly options, but still offer some great accommodations. Even if you stay at the "hotel", the entire resort's amenities are still available for you to enjoy. Southernmost On The Beach is a fantastic place and we can't wait for our return. We hope this review is helpful....fun travels.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtgasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

An atmosphere that felt less like a corporate owned hotel and more like a valued guest. The staff new us by name and definitely engaged with us on a day to day basis. We tried the wine school which was fun, the ukelele class- Mike was GREAT, we loved him and yoga on the beach! Another bonus, wake up and walk down to the dock to watch the sunset and then later watch the sunset from the west lawn! For me that was a big wow factor.
When (not if) we return to Key West, Southermost is where we will stay again and again.

Room Tip: If you can pay the extra money stay in a room with a water view, the west lawn upstairs faced the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suntina22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Loved this hotel, we only stayed for one night on a flying visit but loved it, the hotel staff are very friendly, the place is spotless and there are a few pools, private beach areas to choose from. Our room was spacious, the toiletries are lovely and the shower is so big you can party inside. You are 1 minute walk from the start of Duval st, the main street in Key West for bars, restaurants, tour buses etc but you are at the peacefull end. Make use of the double hammocks around the hotel. Be sure to make the sunset at mallorey sq. Duval st is good for a bit of a bar crawl, we liked Sloppy Joes and Irish Kevins.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceysangster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Overall excellent. All the people were so nice and this is the best location on the island. Very private yet can walk to all the hustle & bustle in 10-15 min walk. Why deal with the crowd when u can see the same sunset (and sunrise) right from their private tanning deck. We rented scooters ( a must for 3-4 hr self-tour on the island) reasonably priced at $45 for a double. Food was excellent, but they do get u for $6-9 for mixed drinks (ouch!) so bring/buy your own. Extra shout out to Julie and Bryan and the concierge desk. The are ssooooo awesome. Great recommendations and all the bookings. What a bonus. Would come back again because of them,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslanderNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing