We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice place to stay in Key West” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southernmost Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay in Key West”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Southernmost on the Beach for our Anniversary in late November. The location is great because it is on the quiet side of Duval street. We did not have a car during our stay and had no problem walking to everything including restaurants and other points of interest. We stayed in the C Building with a lawn view overlooking the water. Sunset was right off our deck! Rooms are not quite as large as expected, but they are up to date and well maintained. The cleaning staff was friendly and accommodating. The bar staff at The Shores were great, very friendly and helpful. The pool area is a little small, but adequate. There is a great sun deck and sandy area on the back of the property that is quiet and relaxing. The only issue we had was a lack of bar/food service while at the back of the property. However, it was rectified by management once it was brought to their attention. Not all rooms in the A and B buildings have great views of the water. So if that is important to you, be sure to ask. All rooms in the C Building are water front, but the second floor rooms have the best views. I would recommend this property as one of the best places to stay in Key West. Most other properties do not have the waterfront views or beach access.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LBTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. I am so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary with us. We love to celebrate our guests’ special occasions! Our pavilion area by the ocean is a recent addition to our resort and there are plans to have more convenient food and beverage service for our guests there very soon. Thank you for recommending us as one of the best places to stay in Key West and we look forward to pampering you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,459
    948
    272
    105
    58
See reviews for
911
2,903
62
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,087)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The keylime pie was out of this world !!! If you want to relax in a hammock you can,watch the sunset into the gulf or watch it rise out of the atlantic its simply a amazing place to stay. The best part is you can get on the trolly right out in front of the hotel we never drove did alot of walking though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel has a number of pools, great staff , wonderful rooms and is within walking distance of all sights and restaurants. My wife and I were there in August and had a lovely time. The one drawback for us was that most of the other guests in the pools were singles and were loudly socializing. Also in the street at night singles way outnumbered couples, especially people our age (in our 60's). In retrospect we much perferred some of the other Key islands that were much more laid back and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our 15th Anniversary. Nice location, close to everything. Rooms were tastefully decorated and very clean. I am very picky and was not disappointed with any part of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Askastew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed at Bed and Breakfast.Deluxe breakfast and afternoon tea on terrace overlooking Atlantic Ocean.Other resturant and bar there also.Beautiful scenery and great place to walk,shop and relax! Would go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

When we got married ten years ago we didn't get a honeymoon. We always said for our tenth anniversary we would leave the kids for a few days and get that trip we never had. I booked Southernmost on the Beach and crossed my fingers that we would get our money's worth as well as the great time we were looking for.

We got there about half an hour before check in time and were pleasantly surprised when our room was ready for us immediately, complete with the champaign and chocolate covered strawberries we ordered. With it was a lovely card wishing us a Happy 10th Anniversary. As soon as we checked in we put on our suits and headed to the pool bar, Shores, for a drink and some relaxation. We got there just in time for the Newlywed Game. It was so much fun!! Boomer was great and we were thrilled when we won. It was the perfect start to the trip.

The poolside activities were perfect the entire time. From the amazing live music, to watching my husband try to hula hoop, to Boomer and Greg being so friendly...it was all perfect. Another employee who really went above and beyond was Julie, the concierge. She was extremely helpful and sweet. Even though the hotel was mostly full for the Thanksgiving holiday weekend, it never felt crowded. There were always chairs by the pool or an open hammock.

My one piece of advice would be to consider waiting to book any excursions with Fury while you are there. We had the Sea of Love package that included the champaign, strawberries, a sunset cruise and the ultimate adventure with Fury. We found out after we were there that Fury was running a special and we could have saved about $50.

The location was also great. We walked up to Duval every night, hit the bars, saw a drag show...did the whole nightlife...and then walked right back down Duval to the quiet end to the hotel. No noise, no drunk craziness...it was PERFECT!

I seriously can't wait to go back to Southernmost on the Beach again. It was everything I dreamed of and will never feel cheated out of a honeymoon again. I just had to wait a little while to find the perfect place!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarasummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

For us, it's perfect. You get the intimacy of a B&B and the amenities of a large resort. We've stayed in 7 different rooms, each unique and well done. There is no reason to look elsewhere. On the beach, 3 pools to choose from, really good open air restaurant/bar on the beach, great hosts in Sam and Randall, great activities director in Boomer, great breakfast, afternoon tea, turn down service. In the winter, sunset celebration with live music. And then there's Duval Street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing