We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“All I can say is it was awesome!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
“All I can say is it was awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The keylime pie was out of this world !!! If you want to relax in a hammock you can,watch the sunset into the gulf or watch it rise out of the atlantic its simply a amazing place to stay. The best part is you can get on the trolly right out in front of the hotel we never drove did alot of walking though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,298
    883
    253
    100
    54
See reviews for
863
2,741
58
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel has a number of pools, great staff , wonderful rooms and is within walking distance of all sights and restaurants. My wife and I were there in August and had a lovely time. The one drawback for us was that most of the other guests in the pools were singles and were loudly socializing. Also in the street at night singles way outnumbered couples, especially people our age (in our 60's). In retrospect we much perferred some of the other Key islands that were much more laid back and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our 15th Anniversary. Nice location, close to everything. Rooms were tastefully decorated and very clean. I am very picky and was not disappointed with any part of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Askastew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed at Bed and Breakfast.Deluxe breakfast and afternoon tea on terrace overlooking Atlantic Ocean.Other resturant and bar there also.Beautiful scenery and great place to walk,shop and relax! Would go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

When we got married ten years ago we didn't get a honeymoon. We always said for our tenth anniversary we would leave the kids for a few days and get that trip we never had. I booked Southernmost on the Beach and crossed my fingers that we would get our money's worth as well as the great time we were looking for.

We got there about half an hour before check in time and were pleasantly surprised when our room was ready for us immediately, complete with the champaign and chocolate covered strawberries we ordered. With it was a lovely card wishing us a Happy 10th Anniversary. As soon as we checked in we put on our suits and headed to the pool bar, Shores, for a drink and some relaxation. We got there just in time for the Newlywed Game. It was so much fun!! Boomer was great and we were thrilled when we won. It was the perfect start to the trip.

The poolside activities were perfect the entire time. From the amazing live music, to watching my husband try to hula hoop, to Boomer and Greg being so friendly...it was all perfect. Another employee who really went above and beyond was Julie, the concierge. She was extremely helpful and sweet. Even though the hotel was mostly full for the Thanksgiving holiday weekend, it never felt crowded. There were always chairs by the pool or an open hammock.

My one piece of advice would be to consider waiting to book any excursions with Fury while you are there. We had the Sea of Love package that included the champaign, strawberries, a sunset cruise and the ultimate adventure with Fury. We found out after we were there that Fury was running a special and we could have saved about $50.

The location was also great. We walked up to Duval every night, hit the bars, saw a drag show...did the whole nightlife...and then walked right back down Duval to the quiet end to the hotel. No noise, no drunk craziness...it was PERFECT!

I seriously can't wait to go back to Southernmost on the Beach again. It was everything I dreamed of and will never feel cheated out of a honeymoon again. I just had to wait a little while to find the perfect place!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarasummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

For us, it's perfect. You get the intimacy of a B&B and the amenities of a large resort. We've stayed in 7 different rooms, each unique and well done. There is no reason to look elsewhere. On the beach, 3 pools to choose from, really good open air restaurant/bar on the beach, great hosts in Sam and Randall, great activities director in Boomer, great breakfast, afternoon tea, turn down service. In the winter, sunset celebration with live music. And then there's Duval Street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is located very close to the much quieter southern end of Duval St. With two kids, we had a "partial ocean view" room, and it was indeed that...from the balcony, we had a clear view down the gardens to the sea - very pleasant and actually quieter than the rooms right on the seafront. Room was spotlessly clean, good layout and a fine size for four of us. As the hotel says on its website, you do not pay for extras such as parking, wifi, resort activities, etc. and although that presumably gets added into the upfront price, at least you do not get a surprise when you leave. Any interaction we had with the staff was very friendly and professional.

The hotel has a good sized heated pool with a bar, live music (Gerd Rube was really good), food, etc. and a happy hour from 4-7 in perfect time for sunset. They also have lots of activities for kids and adults, although we didn't join any.

Although in a quiet spot, right on the sea front, everything such as restaurants (that is another review) is an easy walk.

Highly recommend this place and will be back ASAP.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaJambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,529 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#12 of 48 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 508 South Street, Key West, FL 33040-3118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing