We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November in Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Key West in November has perfect weather. Pleasant temps and no humidity nor rain enables a very relaxing stay. The Southernmost is one of the better places to stay. The property is modern and clean. The hotel staff is first rate. The location is quiet but a fair distance from all the hotspots on Duval St. Cab fare runs about $7 plus tip. Hearty souls would enjoy the 2 mile walk. There are many eclectic stores and shops along the way.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,798)
There are newer reviews for Southernmost Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,863 - 3,869 of 5,798 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has it all: great location, beautiful views of the ocean, contemporary and clean rooms, and friendly staff. This is the second time we have stayed here and it will continue to be the only place we will stay on future trips to key west. Every staff member is friendly and they go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need. You can walk to the Southernmost Point and to Duvall Street where all of the stores, restaurants, and bars are. The Southernmost Beach Cafe has excellent breakfast and great happy hour specials with an ocean view.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacyPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We ate at the Southernmost Beach Cafe when we were visiting Key West last year and decided that this year we would treat ourselves to staying in the hotel as it looked so pretty and the staff at the cafe were great. We had a beautiful room overlooking the ocean (deluxe king) and it really was a gorgeous room. We had hoped that this would be a peaceful romantic place to stay as it is at the quiet end of Duval. Although we avoided Fantasy Fest, we coincided with a wedding which resulted in drunken groups on their balconies at 4am. Our neighbours smoked cigars (very Key West thing to do!) on their balcony and the balconies are so close together it came straight into our room. There was live music at the next resort or somewhere just along the beach from 11am - 11pm. One night the fire alarm went off at 4am, it was deafening (which it should be), we opened the door and I literally got blinded as the alarm was right beside the door, a foot away from my eyes - it took 30 mins to see properly. I wouldn't have minded but nobody else came out, there was no explanation, no apology for another disrupted night and obviously no fire! We had practically the top priced room available at New York/London prices and for that I expect a decent night's sleep. A great room doesn't make a great hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank escapeecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I would like to apologize for the noise and disruption you experienced during your peaceful and romantic getaway. Our alarm system triggering at 4a.m. was certainly unfortunate but the good news is that our system works and keeps all of our guests safe. The bad news is that it went off at 4a.m. Key West is a very popular destination with many weddings, events and festivals occurring, especially during Fantasy Fest, and can draw quite a rowdy crowd. I can understand your frustration at the noisy neighbors and I hope you called our 24 hour night watch to hush the party. As all of our rooms and balconies are non-smoking it is disappointing to read that inconsiderate guests ignored our posted policy. I would encourage any guests disturbed by another guests smoking on our balconies to contact the front desk so the issue can be addressed and corrected. At the Southernmost Hotel Collection it is our goal to provide every guest with exceptional customer service and I hope if your travels ever bring you back to Key West you will give us an opportunity to impress you with our ability to improve and excel. Kind regards and thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My friend and I decided that Key West would be a good choice for Halloween - first time that either of us had been there. Travel agent told us the Southernmost is a good place to stay. She was certainly right - the staff, from the front desk, concierge, maids, and maintenance crew were all friendly and helpful. Our trip was jam-packed with outings and adventures. The pool and pool bar were great, and we could cross the street to the Southernmost on the Beach for more excellent food, drinks and fun there. Could not have been happier with this property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were just there for a destination wedding. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The staff around the pool ( especially Greg) were very attentive, upbeat, fun-loving and truly loved their job! There was live music at the pool and on the west lawn to watch the sunset! The beachside cafe was fabulous. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was so much fun! Edwin was a great waiter. I would stay there every time I travelled to the Keys!

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had an ocean pier view top floor and was great! Beautiful sun set! Only thing that I was not impressed with was concierge and restaurant. First night we was there we ate at the beach restaurant mixed drinks were great food food was for sure a cook not a chef and way overpriced in my opinion! Second day we had concierge set us up with activitys great job only she forgot about the boat races the next morning so we got up early to get to our appointments just to be told the harbor was closed, a plus got to watch races for half a day and Fury just rebooked us! Had to return next day to complete activitys! Great messages recommend Rachel and Amy

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

WOW! I could not resist to post my first review here regarding this hotel! My husband and I spent our 1st year anniversary here and it was nothing short of AMAZING! We had an oceanview room on the west lawn and waking up every morning to the breathtaking view was priceless! Hands down we would not stay anywhere else even if it was paid for! Duval Street is wild and fun and there are a few other nice hotels at the other end of the street, but they cannot compare to the experience at the Southernmost on the Beach! Counting down the days until we return!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onislandtime1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
698 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $279 - $769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing