We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southernmost on The Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is the place to stay on the island. It was everything we expected very nice rooms. We stayed on the second floor ocean view. The staff makes you feel so welcome!! You are at the quiet end of Duval street and you can walk to the other end. it's a nice walk, Or you can rent a bike or bike taxi , scooter etc. Lots of restaurants nearby including the one on the grounds southernmost beach cafe good food ( Great Breakfest) What you see on the website is what you get.. We Will Be Back!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,799)
There are newer reviews for Southernmost Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,048 - 4,054 of 5,799 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

The hotel was very, very nice, clean room, comfortable beds and a beautiful pool. Nice balcony for enjoying the ocean views. The service was terrific and the concierge was very helpful with setting us up for deep sea fishing and parasailing. Easy walking from the hotel to most activities.
We hope to visit again!

Room Tip: Book early!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cubbiemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed here twice and LOVE the view and the rooms aren't too shabby, but you can't get the staff to do anything. Wally is the only exception so far in three years; don't waste your time trying with anyone else. We had fire alarm "drills" two days in a row this last time during rain storms. Great timing guys. Maybe they should start thinking about their guests a little. We also found out our room is where the workers normally take their smoke breaks as it is not rented out much. So we got numerous "visits" the first day we were here.
Overall, this is the place to stay if you have Key West figured out already. If you need assistance with anything, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We originally booked a room at Southernmost thinking it was the same. It was not. We had a view of the parking lot. The staff was very friendly and found us a room at Southernmost on the Beach for a $100 more a night where we stayed 2 nights. The room was very nicely furnished and the bed was very comfortable. We had a view of the ocean when we stood sideways on the balcony, and a garden view looking out our window. There was no microwave and the minifridge did not have a freezer. Instead of central air there were window air conditioners which were very loud. If you wanted to sit on your balcony you were listening to your A/C. If your A/C was turned off you still listened to your neighbors. The Beach cafe had a great view sitting right on the beach and we enjoyed the food. The pool was nice and was just a couple of steps from our room. The private beach had very nice sand and nice beach furniture. Unfortunately the water was very murky and yucky looking at their beach. Overall a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was our 4th trip to Key West and first time staying on the southern end of the island. The Southernmost on the Beach was everything we expected and more, simply flawless in every way.
We stayed in a second floor Westlawn Suite and would highly recommend these rooms. We looked out over the ocean, had a balcony right out our door, and conveniently located close to both the pool and pier with access tot he ocean. Rooms appeared to be new or recently updated and very clean.
Check in was easy with very friendly staff, made you feel like they sincerely were happy to see you and glad you came. On check out day even got a call asking if we needed any extra time past the 11:00 a.m. check out time. What hotel does that, none I've ever stayed at!
The pool and Shores Bar were both fine. Pool was never packed full and there seemed to always be chairs available each day. We ordered lunch each day thru the bar and food was delivered promptly and very good. James, bar supervisor, went out of his was to take care of the guests and their needs poolside. He is another asset tot he property and its success in pulling off perfection.
Be sure to talk with Alan Walker, hotel conciere, for any extra needs. We rented 2 person scooters for our entire stay. The freedom to come and go was great and would definitely recommend renting scooters during your stay. Mallory Square was a quick 5 min trip on the scooter and parking is more available than it is for cars.
We will probably never look elsewhere for our Key West accommodation needs in the future. To much is perfect about the Southernmost on the Beach!

Room Tip: Westlawn Suites on the second floor have best view. Rooms 615-623 are on the southern end of the bu...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theron1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, this was our second visit, can't think of anything to twist on about.
Enjoyed the beach cafe for breakfast and dinner, good food and excellent service. I even managed to watch the England v France game.
The hotel is handy for the Southernmost Point, Hemingways House and the Lighthouse; all within walking distance - even when it's 100 degrees. The bars on Duvall are just a short walk away. I can recommend the Danger sunset cruise, a sailing ship with wine and cheese going on. It's not dangerous thats the name of the company. The hotel booked the cruise for us.
I can't really say anymore about the accommodation that hasn't already been said, except it's first class, almost forgot to mention that the car parking is free.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay in a room with a full Ocean view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWDEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is the first time we have stayed at the Southermost on the beach hotel ,we stayed here,for for 2 nights in june ,wish we could have stayed here longer ,the room was one of the best we have stayed in ,the staff where very polite and helpful..Key west is a place i would love to return to in the near furture and would stay longer and would not stay anywhere else

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
698 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $276 - $763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing