We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This was our 2nd trip to Key West. This time we brought friends from home!

From the beautiful sunrises, to the activities hosted by the always active Boomer, to the potent drinks at the Shores Bar, to the beachfront location, to the short walk (stumble or crawl) back and forth to the best bars on Duval, to the friendly bartenders (Rich, Mark, James) to the bubbly servers (Heather) to the helpful front desk staff (Wish I could remember their names!)--why would you stay anywhere else?

Scarlett and Julie at the Concierge desk were helpful and nice.

Beer School, Wine School, Snorkel School, Hula hoop exercise, the Newlywed game--all hosted by the best Activities Director in Key West Boomer McFall. Live music and entertainment by the pool. A well stocked Gym, water dispensers and ice machines by the pool and along the grounds. Free towels at an awesome pool and a bar just steps from a beach--where you can lay out in a chaise lounger for free! Chocolates on your pillow and turn down service each night.

The Beachfront Cafe has $3 drinks and a few different appetizers at 4pm. Cafe had great food and timely and attentive service--for breakfast, lunch AND dinner.

The bathroom was huge and modern.There is a nice bar sized fridge that held all our drinks a sink and ample storage in the closet and dressers. A nice sized sit down desk. 2 arm chairs in our room too.

I honestly don't think I'd stay anywhere else! And this is just at the Southernmost on the Beach location. Across the street is the new Pineapple Bar, a new pool--all of which looked awesome. Top notch facility with modern amenities.

My only complaint(s): The wi-fi was crappy in our end of the location--but if you ask for an ethernet wire for your laptop/netbook you can plug right into the wall. And the cable went out the last overnight we were there. But---if you're on vacation---you can live without those things. We did!

Room Tip: Room 536 in Building B---Ocean front views with GREAT sunrises. Spend the money and go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JasonB732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,445 - 4,451 of 5,824 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

Beautiful, well maintained property with first class accomodations and friendly professional staff all working together to make your vacation the most memorable one ever!! Thank you, SMOB. We look forward to our next visit!!

Room Tip: Reserve an ocean view!!! there's nothing like waking to a view of the ocean on a beautiful morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonnmcgraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights the 2nd week of September and had a fabulous few days. Close enough to walk up to Duval Street and Hemmingway's House but not noisy and straight onto the beach. The beach cafe serves a great breakfast and evening meals. The bar staff are friendly. The pool is open to late into the evening so you can swim in the dark with the pool lights flickering different colours. Even used the gym during our stay which has top of the range equipment and well air conditioned. The hotel rooms are cool and very clean. Just wish we'd been able to stay longer. Would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of a visit to the very beautiful Keys.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Many services proposed, very good location, but resort too much "mass luxuxy tourism" to be enjoyable. Rates too high.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

stayed at Dewey House sept.24th for 3 nights in room 415. I can't fault one thing wrong during our stay. Don't look any farther for your reservations, this is it. Staff went out all out for our needs. Sam was great, always with a smile. Left here for ft lauderdale for 2 nights at Lago Mar (4 star resort hotel on the beach ) what a let down after our stay in kw at the dewey house.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Humphrey008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This time it was the second time that I stayed at the smoc. We had the same wonderful room with an oceanview at the side of our balcony (but...). Everything was wonderful, I like this place very much. But there is always a little bit sour; the first time when I booked a room with oceanview (2009), we got a room on the base floor and we could watch a staircase and garbage bins opposite our window, not really nice. And I had to go twice to the reception, to get what I paid for, no excuse, no discount (after one night sleeping in that ugly room). But all together then we were happy and had good feelings. This year everything works well. But after we had left the hotel I discovered that i forgot my belt in the hotel room. Although i called the recepetion and the lost&found office altogether i think 5 times and spoke to the mailbox, nobody even feels responsible to give me an answer whether they found it or not. Thats a small minus point, no good service at all to a returning guest.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed at Southernmost on the Beach a few weeks ago and we had the best stay ever! The hotel is the best we have ever stayed at! The staff was very friendly and willing to please. They did everything possible & more to make sure you enjoy your stay with them. It is a beautiful place and they work very hard everyday to keep it a A+ resort. They also offer a beer school, wine school, snorkiling lessons and free rentals, free beach towels and beach chairs and all kinds of activities everyday! Boomer who is the activities director is the best! He does a superior job and makes it alot of fun! We really enjoyed hanging out with him the week we were there! Definately worth every penny we spent and we will definately return again! It is truely a tropical paradise! Thanks Southernmost for the best vacation ever!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room and it was a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinagirl1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $304 - $783 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing