We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key West Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key West Harbor Inn
Ranked #8 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Norman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2007

Having spend much time prior to my KW trip researching the KWHarbor Inn, our stay there turned out to be much like I had expected.
The location is good, especially if you plan on spending much time at Schooner Warf Bar and the Harbor area. This of course places you near the North end of Duval, thus its many blocks to the southern end. Being that most of the B&B's are centrally located to Duval, none are really that much better than the others when it comes to location, it just a matter of choice. I prefer the northern end.
The Pool facilities at the KW Harbor Inn were sufficient. I selected this B&B due to its tropical pool area, and the Harbor Inn's pool rules. This is an Adult only B&B. The pool is open 24 hrs and topless sunbathing is allowed. The pool, and pool area are MUCH smaller that their website photo's and surround video imply. The Hottub shown there has also been removed, which was disappointing. The grounds of the harbor Inn were very tropical with lots of palms, plants, and everything else that comes with a tropical environment (ie. lizards, and various small rodents).
The Housing facilities were also sufficient. I could see why some may complain if expecting everything to be perfect and modern. This is afterall a very old house, but it still met our needs.
The staff is a hard working bunch, and they do a very good job of keeping the place running and the clients happy.
We were lucky enought to visit the Harbor Inn while it's owner was in town (& staying there). Due to this we were able to see that he truely cares about improving this Inn as many repairs, upgrades, and improvements were being undertaken during our stay.
Unless your just looking to complain or be miserable, I can't see why you would have a bad stay at the Key West Harbor Inn.
(more later)




  • Liked — Grounds
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Croozcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    58
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
26
559
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2007

Very cute guest house with lovely grounds. Breakfast and happy hour were good and the staff were friendly. We would definitely stay there again!

We stayed in the "Martinique" room in the pool house. The room was spacious and the bathroom was nice.

The location of the hotel is ideal if you plan to stay close to the harbor. It was quite a walk to the south side of the island where the southernmost point and Fort Zachary Taylor Park are. But the hotel can rent bikes for you if you do not want to walk.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing really!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristinaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2007

This is a great romantic getaway. The rooms are immaculate, the staff is very attentive. Continental breakfast & Happy Hour poolside is very quaint. I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Disliked — The bar 1/2 block away-they have Karioki night-UGH!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank chaalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2007

Every day really is YOUR day to spend as you choose. While this was not my first time to Key West, this was my first time visiting the Harbor Inn but it certainly will not be my last. I'm reminded of a quaint tropical resort - private and quiet. The landscaping is meticulously maintained daily.
Overall our stay was quite soothing -I had some work to accomplish while there but felt totally relaxed doing it. Mike and others are there in the early hours tending to the flowers, trees and frankly anything else that needs one. There are all very friendly and helpful.
Our room, the St. John was small, clean and quite comfortable sleeping. We spent little time there since we awoke early to a continental breakfast with fresh coffee; lounged around the pool; walked a short distance to shops, restaurants, docks and arrived back to enjoy Happy Hour with other guests and Tracey.

What can I say about Tracey that others haven't. She is a gem. Very attentive, friendly and committed to making sure that your stay here is trouble/stress free. She is there brewing coffee at 6 a.m. and bids farewell at 6 p.m.

In fact, everyone was great. I feel like I've been coming to the Harbor Inn for years. My only disappointment will be if others discover what we have and there will be "no room at the inn" when we are ready to escape from it all again. Thank you for a wonderful retreat.
Elaine, Pennsylvania

  • Liked — Qaint,comfortable and affordable
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mariePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolismd
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2007

We stayed here May 17-20. It was a great location! Close enough to walk to everything and far enough that it was quiet.

The continental breakfast was a really great spread. It was plentiful and offered a wide variety. The happy hour was a great touch as well. it offered several beer and liquor choices. They also had different chips and sauces for a nice little munch fest.

The room was decorated nicely and offered everything you need. The grounds are beautiful and the small pool offered a nice place to cool off. We met a great group at our first afternoon happy hour and ended up spending a lot of our time with them.

Tracy was a great host and was very friendly! We will be back to The Harbor Inn again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annapolisduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2007

If you can't relax here you might as well be at work.

The staff keeps the place immaculate and they could not be anymore accomodating about anything from Tours, Restaurants, Amenities or just a stupid question or more. You leave here feeling like if they bent anymore backwards for you thay would be contortionists.

The breakfast, the pool and the Happy Hour leave you feeling refreshed, among other things.

We had a big group of friends with us but the ages of everyone in the Inn ranged from the early Twenties to the Seventies. The laughter and sharing of stories was great. Comparing eveyone's accent and origin was priceless.

Tracy, Mike and Eva thank you so much for making this such a relaxing and enjoyable trip.

It only took 2 days for my shoulders to knot up.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ok1eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2007

We stayed in St. Martin's. The room was cute but small. That didn't really matter because we were seldom in it. The staff at the Inn was very friendly, and always working hard to keep the grounds well maintained. The pool is big enough to always get some sunshine or a spot in the shade, if that suits you. The continental breakfast and a Happy Hours are a nice touch -- something we never got at the Hilton, Hyatt or Wyndham. I'll try to post some pictures -- all taken at the Inn.

The location was excellent! We were within easy walking distance to the docks, Schooner Wharf Bar, Harpoon Harry's, and far enough away from Duval St.


  • Liked — no little children, easy access to everything
  • Disliked — street noise
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#15 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Harbor Inn

Property: Key West Harbor Inn
Address: 219 Elizabeth St, Key West, FL 33040-6612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Key West Harbor Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing