We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It would've been great, but - - -”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key West Harbor Inn
Ranked #19 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Walton Beach FL
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“It would've been great, but - - -”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

There's loud, noisy, heavy construction going on that brought the ambience down froTwo stars because the staff is so helpful and friendly. First the good: the staff is so helpful and friendly. Wwe stayed in the Jamaica room for 12 days. It's a jr suite, but doesn't seem to be crowded for 2 people because the bathroom has a long counter, 4 drawers and 4 cabinets so there's plenty of storage for his and hers. There are also 2 small closets with lots of hangars, a large dresser, a small dresser for clothes. The king bed is comfortable with a wonderful down comforter. The TV is a flat screen. I had asked Tracy, the manager, in advance for a microwave and she got a small one for the room. When we booked the room last year, there was a daybed. When we checked in the daybed was gone. I told Tracy that a sofa of some kind would be nice for relaxing and by the end of the day we had a comfortable sofa. Happy hours has hot hors d'ouvres and other light snacks, as well as a full bar, all included in the room price. Breakfast is continental but included boiled eggs so I'd say a step above continental. The courtyard is gorgeous and tropical, the pool heated. Location is the best in town if you want to be away from Duval but still close to everything - about 5 minutes from the Schooner Wharf Bar (our favorite) and about as far to the Conch Republic and all the other Old Key West Harbar bars and restaurants. At any other time, this would have been 5 stars, hands down and the cost reflects 5 stars. We booked last winter when we decided to stop renting houses for a month or two and try a suite at the Harbor Inn and make 2 2-week visits instead. Harbor Inn was perfect for that, the lot behind the Inn was vacant, as it has been for the 5 years we've been wintering in Key West. So imagine our shock and dismay at finding a 95-room condo going up literally 10' from the hotel on 2 sides, with all the heavy equipment and electric nail guns from 8 AM (or earlier) to 5PM (and after), 5 1/2 days a week! And it was right by our little patio and room. We woke up to drilling in the street for water and gas lines, large equipment doing their back-up beep beep every single morning we were there except Sunday. Sitting/breakfasting/happy hour in the courtyard was so loud we had to yell to talk. We think Harbor Inn should have notified us of the situation before we came so we'd have time to find another place. To not do so was not ethical. We canceled our second stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kgeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardo-Owner, Owner at Key West Harbor Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Again we thank you sincerely for sharing the good points of KW Harbor Inn, but like the response we gave to your traveling partner with the very similar review (Noisy major construction next door) there is nothing we can do for the work others are doing. We tried our best to make your stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. Apparently we were not successful, and for that we apologize. We would have liked to try to resolve these issues with you but you chose to handle it on this site instead by putting up multiple negative reviews. We got the message, you were bothered by some noise. Just for the record, the construction here at the Bight has been going on sine June 2013. We can't imagine all the reviews prior to yours were untrue.
We hope that when this work is done you'll come back and see that having a beautiful Hotel here at the bight will be so much better than having an empty lot. Please try us then.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    61
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
26
574
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

When paying $400 per night, one doesn't expect to avoid one's hotel. But with live music with drums from the facing bar/restaurant at night, nail guns and power saws from the huge construction project next door during the day, and a full payment on arrival policy, avoidance was the only strategy. Repeat conversations with management yielded nothing. The pool and garden were nicely maintained, but we hit our heads on the room's sloped ceiling. If peace and relaxation is your goal, stay away from the Key West Harbor Inn.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Amber655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardo-Owner, Owner at Key West Harbor Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Yes there is construction going on here at the Bight, we have no control over that. This construction has been going on since June 2013 and the buildings are all up. What is going on now except for details is mostly interior work.
As for the "loud music" you refer to, these restaurants are approximately half a block away from us and by law have to stop playing music by 11.00PM. This is downtown Key West after all and not some quite little Atoll in the middle of the Caribbean.
The last thing you mention is the sloped ceilings of your room. On our web site we have pictures and descriptions of all our rooms. We encourage all of our guests to look at the room they have booked. Read the descriptions, ask us questions, there is even a video of our Inn on our web site and your room is prominently featured , we don't want to disappoint any of our guests with false impressions of what we are.
We apologize for the Bight's construction but we hope you give us and Key West a second chance, we believe you'll get to love the rhythm that is Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time! The B&B is in the perfect location for fun and relaxation. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We also had the opportunity to chat with some very interesting folks during breakfast and happy hour. The bed was super soft and comfortable. I recommend renting the bikes for $14 a day. We have already booked our trip there for next year!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarahplanningwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardo-Owner, Manager at Key West Harbor Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
WE love to hear PERFECT Having Breakfast and Happy Hour by the pool does make it a great oppertunity to get to know the other guests. I am happy to hear you had a great time and renting bikes and going around the island is definatly the way to go. We will see you next year and thank you for taking the time to eave us such a lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay. KW Harbor Inn is an adults guest house. No kids, which is nice for us. This isn't a typical B&B or hotel/motel. Rooms are lovely & private but daily breakfast & happy hours by the pool allow you to interact with other guests. The entire grounds are well cared for & an oasis away from the lively night life just outside the gate. Staff is friendly & helpful. Tracy is just the best!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyjorene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardo-Owner, Manager at Key West Harbor Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Happy to hear the 3rd and not your last stay with us. We had so much fun with you guys at Happy Hour, We love to hear about what you have all done during the day. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment and we will see you next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Good things: You are paying for a great location in Key West. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. Good continental breakfast around the pool area. Open bar happy hour around the pool area as well. We stayed in the Jamaica room which was comfortable except for the sloped ceilings. (It is above a former garage.) No light attachments in the ceiling fans so the room could use more lighting. Bad: There is a 95 room hotel being constructed directly behind the Harbor Inn. The fence is less than 25 feet from the Jamaica room and Cuban room so there's no sleeping late. Construction noise starts about 7:45 each morning except Sunday, and stops after 5:00 pm. This is mostly very loud and very annoying all day long, especially for breakfast by the pool in the morning and if you want to hang out there during the day. If you are going to stay here you should check before you make a reservation and see if they will give you a discount from the $300 per night rate. Once we were there we were stuck. We asked for a discount and never got a response from the owner. There were no other rooms available in that area in Key West. Construction is supposed to be finished in Nov 2014. But then there will be a 95 room hotel full of people right next to the Harbor Inn. Shop around.

Room Tip: Ask when you make a reservation which rooms are furthest from the construction. And some rooms are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hvyjetpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardo-Owner, Owner at Key West Harbor Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We thank you for letting others know the good points KH Harbor Inn has to offer. As for the construction here at the Bight, unfortunately we have no control over it. We're no building experts but the main structure itself has been put up now so that part appears to be over. Now they have interior work to do, obviously not noisy. As for the noise, well what can we say. It seems to have bothered you a lot a lot more than our other guests and for that we do apologize. But we must be clear about certain other things. We did give you a discount. You also asked if the room had a microwave which it doesn't. You were upset about that as well so we got you a microwave. You were also upset that we had replaced a day bed with a new desk and chair. Said you liked to work on a day bed and not at a desk so we replaced that for you too. We do go out of our way to please our guests but there is only so much we can do. We can't change the weather or stop progress.
You did have a choice to move to another Inn or hotel, we would have refunded your stay. Instead you decided to stay.
Again, we apologize for our neighbors noise, hope you come again when they finish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My wife wanted to go to Key West for our 40th anniversary and we booked the Puerto Rico room at the KWHI. We loved the inn and the location is fantastic. We usually stay at B&Bs and I think this is the best place where we have stayed. Tracy and her staff were most attentive. We let her know that we were arriving late so she left a key for us to get in the gate. She had left a bottle of champagne for us in the refrigerator - a really nice (and not expected) touch. Was it expensive? Sure, but it IS Key West. The problems I had were not with the inn, but with the weather and the daily cruise ships. It rained a lot when we were there in early January and we could not really enjoy the downtown due to the crowds from the ships. If I were to return to Key West I would stay here again - the inn lived up to its billing.

Room Tip: the Puerto Rico room was large and quiet, but it is on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardo-Owner, Manager at Key West Harbor Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you so much for the review, I do appologise for the respose time I did believe I responded to this but it did not post. My appologies. We were so happy to have you stay with us and yes we did have some heavy heavy rain . We know that Key West is a place couples choose to celebrate events and we try to help you celebrate them. We are happy to hear that you will be coming back to visit us on your next trip to Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at many B&B's in Key West, the Harbor Inn is by far our favorite. The B&B is close to all Key West attractions, yet is very quiet and feels secluded. The old harbor is literally steps away from the front gate and Duval Street is a short walk away. Tracie and staff go out of there way to make everything perfect. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The breakfasts are fresh and plentiful. The daily happy hour includes hot and cold snacks as well as premium spirits and beer...best we've had at a B&B. Tracie was helpful with dining recommendations and reservations.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardo-Owner, Manager at Key West Harbor Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
We want to thank you for choosing us to stay with when you visit Key West. We have so many return guests that we have become such good friends with all. The staff here all love our job and when we see everyone smiling and happy and not wanting to go home then we know we have done a great job in making your vacation a memorable one ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,032 reviews
0.7 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,681 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Harbor Inn

Property: Key West Harbor Inn
Address: 219 Elizabeth St, Key West, FL 33040-6612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Key West Harbor Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing